We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not like Swindon Central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not like Swindon Central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed here for one night only because Swindon central was full. I had been offered the 'disabled' room on the 2nd floor at Swindon Central for £76 as all other rooms were full, but did not take it so I shall comment on that experience here as it is also a Premier Inn.
Firstly the room was exceedingly spartan. The bed was extremely low (is this really necessary?) and the many grab handles in the bathroom were clearly for someone who needed assistance. However, I felt that the general look of the room was quite miserable and uninviting. I remarked to the staff member who showed me the room, that it was bad enough if you were disabled, but to be presented with a room like this was to be hit twice. Surely a nicer room is deserved? Premier Inn people take note!

The room I eventually accepted was in Blunsden a short drive from Swindon Central. It was satisfactory, and I slept quite well, but it did not meet the standards of its sister hotel where I'd stayed 11 days previously. I also paid £20 more for my room so that might have some bearing on my assessment. ie, the value for money factor just wasn't there this time..

I have to say that the reception staff member at Swindon Central was very helpful and polite. He printed out a map and couldn't have been more helpful. The lady at reception at Blunsden was also noticeably friendly and pleasant when I checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniking K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    122
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
128
106
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Friendly staff, clean and comfortable bedrooms with a charming place to eat, all in all a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSwindonNorth, Manager at Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us and you found our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Full of expectation based on previous reviews but we were very disappointed. Can't really fault the sleeping area. Furniture a bit battered but this is a budget hotel.

We didn't inspect the bathroom when we arrived. A big mistake! It was filthy and more in line with some Travelodge bathrooms! All the tile grouting around the bath was black with mould. Also, the shower, bath handles, floor edging, ceiling, bath taps, plughole, edges of ceiling light were all covered in black mould. The white tiles were very dirty. The smoke alarm was also covered in black mould. It looked as if there had been a water leak from the above room and our room (28) was let out too soon before it had dried out.

Janet, at reception, was extremely apologetic and immdeiately refunded our money. She offered another room but we did not have the energy to pack everything up and start again.

A real let-down and not indicative of typical Premier Inn rooms in other hotels. Our room should not have been used until it had been thoroughly dried out and cleaned

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service and cleanliness in all our establishments, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay after attending a family event locally.

Hotel was very good.All staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful.Room was clean,nice comfy bed etc.

We had room 100 situated above reception,looking out over beer garden of adjoining Cold Harbour pub,where breakfast is taken.The room was next to the staircase but we were never troubled by any noise.

If I had to make a critiscm,it would be that the hotel is in a very isolated location.Yes it's ideal for motorways etc,but we like to walk around,did find another pub in the village of blunsdon about 10 mins walk away.

We got a taxi from the hotel into Swindon town centre,which was around £10 each way.

We had breakfast both days at the pub,which was fine.Also had an evening meal one night which was ok,although my sweet never turned up.I was given a refund when I brought it to the servers attention.Given the previous glowing reviews of the pub we were a little disappointed with it,mainly that there didn't seem to be enough staff,so quite a lengthy wait for service and for food to be served.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and the hotel is an ideal stopover if you want decent priced accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSwindonNorth, Manager at Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. At Premier Inn we ensure we offer the best value quality stay and for our guests to have a high level of service from our team. I am sorry that your experience in the pub was not 100% and I will feedback your comments to their management. But we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in Park Plaza County Hall while in London and were not sure of what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised from the moment we checked in. The room was clean, comfortable and has a very cosy ambience. Bed was comfortable and the beds for our kids were all prepared and made for them in advance. We had a very good night's rest. My girls enjoyed their dinner at the pub adjacent to the hotel and breakfast was very good and the service was excellent. My 8 yr old commented "mummy, this hotel is better than Park Plaza!" Guess I need not say more except that if we are ever in UK (we are from Malaysia) again, we will not hesitate to stay in premier Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSwindonNorth, Manager at Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for your review and your daughters very kind comment, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable and well looked after in both the hotel and the pub. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and for our guests to receive a high level of service from our team. We look forward to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Spent a night on a stopover from London. Was pleasantly surprised by how good the room was compared to a 4 star hotel in the city. Food in the accompanying restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seecwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSwindonNorth, Manager at Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. I appreciate your complimentary comparison to a 4 star hotel and will pass on your favourable comments regarding the Cold Harbour pub. We appreciate all feedback very much as it helps us to continue to meet the expectations of guests and give them all the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed for one night and the hotel, which is close to good road networks, was comfortable, clean and efficient. The pub adjacent to the hotel serves good, fair priced meals and the staff at both the hotel and pub were very polite and efficient in their jobs. We would recommend both hotel and pub and certainly would return for future trips. A most enjoyable experience all round.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSwindonNorth, Manager at Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was a clean, comfortable one. I am pleased that my team looked after you and I will pass on your compliments to the Cold Harbour GM with regards to her staff. At Swindon North Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and for our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
Address: Broad Bush | Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 8DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Swindon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 500 hotels across the UK, Premier Inn is the UK's biggest hotel chain. We have more hotels in more places making it easier for you to stay away from home... Our guests have been enjoying staying with Premier Inn for over 20 years. They tell us they love the value we offer, our clean and comfortable rooms and the warm welcome they receive from our team members. If you've not stayed with us before give us a try - you'll soon see why we're the country's number one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel Swindon
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing