We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

great location next to the M4 at Swindon West . Ideally located also for a stroll in Lydiard Park/House and not too far from the retail outlet or Swindon Caravans :-). The tavern is very modern and has a nice restaurant and food. Would recommend for business or leisure . Much better value for money and all like new, very modern !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

Whilst travelling down to Devon we were looking for a suitable mid-point break, this hotel seemed ideal.
We found all staff very friendly and always keen to please. Our room was clean and spacious.
The adjoining Chef & Brewer restaurant offered both a warm welcome and good value for money.
This was one of the best Premier Inns we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cuckie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This is the first in a trilogy of three Premier Inns which we have recently visited (see also Cardiff and Fareham, Hants). If this company has an edge on all other hotels in its price range it's the wonderful staff it employs. During a visit to all three Premier Inns I could not fault the service provided by the reception staff who at all times were friendly and helpful. The Swindon West Premier is just off the motorway. The hotel provided directions and after a little negotiation with roundabouts it was relatively easy to find. We spent only a night here with our daughter and had two separate rooms. The rooms were quite large (we had a family room which included a sofa bed). The one bonus was the heated towel rail in the bathroom which managed to try all our lingerie overnight. There are 2 or 3 other hotels on the same property as the Premier as well as a couple of large chain eating places (usual suspects). When we ventured out at about 7pm both places were full and we were told we would have a long wait. Back to reception where they obliged with directions to a couple of local pubs. One of them is called 'Sara' served good food and beer and we were quite happy that we'd missed out at eating at the chain store. Suggest if you arrive at this Inn on a busy night you ask for the local pub and you won't be disappointed.
Just one little problem with this Premier: its pillows. I woke up with shocking neck pain the following morning and was quite thankful that we were moving on..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrabbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Stayed at the hotel because we were visiting somebody nearby,
Arrived a couple of hours before check in time and thought we'd just see if the room was ready.
Receptionist couldn't have been more helpfull and checked us in straight away.
Room was spotless,staff very attentive and a great resteraunt next door.
Will definately use again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krubbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our Team here ensured you were well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Having stayed in each of the Premier Inns around Swindon, this is certainly the best all-round. Restaurant is good, service is very good. Would definitely recommend over Swindon Central.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjdainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

Thanks for your review, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and it is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Your review is very much appreciated as your feedback is so important to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed for one night on our way to Weston. It is difficult to find - the sign says Travel Lodge not Premier Inn, so we drove past it. We arrived about 7.30pm and had a little wait whilst the receptionist booked in a large family, which took quite a long time. We were tired and hungry and by the time we checked in and got to the restaurnt next door it was 8.15. They could not offer us a table until 10pm, which was far too late for us, so we went to bed with no food. Very disappointing. The breakfast was served in the restaurant. We were greeted by a very friendly lady, but again it was very busy. The tea and coffee is available with hot water from a flask type dispenser on a table. The water was lukewarm so didn't make the tea palatable so no hot drink. Staff were too busy to stop and ask. The food as OK but the cooked breakfast wasn't very tasty.

On the upside the room was clean and not as noisy as we feared it would be, when the large family were put on the same floor as us. I like the signs on the doors asking people to consider that other guests may be sleeping.

This is a busy Inn so be prepared for a wait.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed last weekend as a base for the IAT Fairford. Rooms clean, staff couldn't do enough for you-very helpful. Family meal time a bit expensive although kids meals were very good value. Swindon town a bit of a let down though and taxis were expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easylife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,090 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel

Address: Great Western Way | Lydiard Fields, Swindon SN5 8UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
#1 Best Value Hotel in Swindon
#2 Family Hotel in Swindon
#3 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Swindon town centre is just 3 miles away. Local attractions include a cinema, bowling alley, Lydiard Park and McArthur Glen Outlet Village for great shopping. Our Swindon West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. We also have the Whitbread Academy onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon West Hotel Swindon
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing