We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A premier Premier Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A premier Premier Inn!”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel for one night on the way from Portsmouth to Cheltenham and we were pleasantly surprised at our first ever stay at a Premier Inn. Arriving at midnight, we were pleased to see the reception desk manned and we recived a friendly welcome. We were staying in a family room as we were 2 adults and 2 children and the room size was impressive for a budget hotel. The rooms came with all the usuals (tea making facilities, freeview tv, bible) and were all spotlessly clean. We had a very good night's sleep but we found the mattress on the floor slightly uncomfortable.
Breakfast, served in the nearby Beefeater was excellent with a good choice of food and drink. One slight criticism was it took us a while to be served but it was certainly worth it.
The staff were always helpful but the reception staff seemed to be often too busy to man the desk. Overall though, we had a great stay at Premier Inn Swindon West and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingteabiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    202
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
161
235
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Originally looked like we were staying in an industrial estate we were pleasantly surprised by the final location. Brilliantly located for the motorway; 5 minutes from junction 16. great staff who because they have lived here know everything about the location. Nothing to do with the hotel but when needed a hospital (junction 15 and well sign posted) they ran around to find someone to give me directions. 5 star for this alone

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor as can hear walking from floors above. Top floor wins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

we had a lovely night there..very quiet area...excellent beefeater next door...outlet centre 10 mins by car...wotton bassett 5 mins by car...only down side there is no air conditioning but all rooms have fans . would definately use again...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly61033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I booked this hotel based on these positive reviews and was very sorry I did. This is a generic, chain hotel. They charged extra for everything including breakfast and the internet. The room was small, the bed was hard as a rock and we had to ask for every little thing, including a second towel. It's attached to another chain - the Beefeater restaurant which served tasteless, generic food. The full "English breakfast" cost 8 GBP. It was cold and served with canned beans. We reserved on booking.com, which gave the lowest rate of 81 GBP for a Saturday night - certainly not a deal. To my fellow Americans - do not stay here! This doesn't even make the grade as a Motel 6. It's right off the M4 but not near anything except Swindon, which is not a very pretty or interesting place. Stay closer to Bath or one of the other quaint Cotswolds towns if you are touring the area. Right now, I'm sitting in a gorgeous stone hotel in Stow on the Wold in a comfortable kingsize bed, in a large room with a view. Stow with its many restaurants featuring local food is 5 minutes away. The rate is 85 GBP and that includes breakfast and free wifi. We were ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katephd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I stayed at the hotel in May 2011. Check in was quick and efficient. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was clean. I did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast which had a good selection especially as they had ‘an eat as much as you like’ arrangement. Location wise it is ideal for stopping off if you are travelling along the M4 as it is just off the motorway but far enough away not to hear the motorway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed in the Premier Inn Swindon West for one night while passing through on the M4.
We got the £29 deal as we booked in advance and the place was prefect, quiet, clean and easy to get in and out of.
The room was basic but had all we needed a comfy bed, TV and kettle.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zulubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We chose to stay here as it was convenient when traveling from the West Coast towards London, it was a nice clean hotel, friendly staff, the children loved the breakfasts - thats teenagers for you. Everything we needed was there after a busy day sightseeing and travelling in the car a lovely respite from that. We would recommend this hotel to others, it is handy to the M4 and very easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athenry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Address: Great Western Way | Lydiard Fields, Swindon SN5 8UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
#1 Best Value Hotel in Swindon
#2 Family Hotel in Swindon
#3 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Swindon town centre is just 3 miles away. Local attractions include a cinema, bowling alley, Lydiard Park and McArthur Glen Outlet Village for great shopping. Our Swindon West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. We also have the Whitbread Academy onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon West Hotel Swindon
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing