We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another dull stay in Purple Land” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another dull stay in Purple Land”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

It's amazing just how dull a company can make it's product. On paper all of the basic ingredients look just right; clean, well maintained, reasonably priced, pleasant well trained staff, generous room sizes, comfortable beds, good quality bed linen, a choice of pillows, free wi-fi, and convenient locations with good on-site parking - what could go wrong with providing all of that? If you have ever stayed at a Premier Inn that's exactly what you can expect and will by and large receive, and if you don't the company will refund the cost of your stay - even better you might say, and on paper I would agree with you. It's just that the actual experience never seems to feel as good as it should.

It seems to me that in their efforts to create a reliable, repeatable and efficient experience Premier Inn have missed perhaps the most important rule of product development - distinctiveness! While decorating everything in purple may be the company accountants idea of interior design it does nothing to add charm and character to the their offer. Every time I have stayed in a Premier Inn, departing in the morning always feel like being released from a Local Authority Care institution where the colour scheme was chosen to help moderate the residents behaviour.

It's hard to understand how and why someone at Head Office ever thought that removing the telephones from each room was a smart idea? Having to use my own mobile phone and pay to call the Reception while staying in the hotel is a 'drive for efficiency' gone mad' and a bloo_y cheek!

This Premier Inn was no better or worse than any other Premier Inn - very purple and very dull, and anything but Premier!



  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    184
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
134
218
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst in the area on business. Great location very comfortable. Despite being close to the motorway didnt have any noise at all. Check in was very smooth, quick and by a very polite friendly and helpful receptionist. Room very clean and comfortable, love the two types of pillows to choose from. Only thing was the bath towel was very worn and had a hole in it.
There is a beefeater next to the hotel for breakfast and evening meals. A costa coffee and subway at the far end of the parking area.
Get a parking permit from reception as the car park next to the beefeater is a pay n display, the ticket allows you to park free for the duration of your stay.
Hilton hotel next door which you can use for business meeting.....beware pricy parking!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank woodieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We originally booked a Holiday Inn Express room but when we saw the room and felt the icy blast of Holiday Inn corporate service standards, we beat a hasty retreat and headed for Premier Inn. The difference was palpable. The reception staff were so much warmer and more friendly, it was a no brainer to make the switch. The hotel is attached to a Beefeater which made for very convenient and pleasant dinner and breakfast arrangements. I totally get why the hotel gets such good trip advisor ratings, it completely deserves them. Well done Premier Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathbychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were absolutely delighted with this hotel! The room (no. 79) was spacious and well equipped with a sofa day-bed and a king size bed which was very comfortable, firm & supportive, with cotton bed linen and a choice of pillows from soft to firm. There was also a floor-standing fan, which was an unexpected bonus! The bathroom was spotless and had adequate towels , with soap dispensers at the whb and shower (over the bath). The whole room was immaculately clean in every respect and the decor of a very high standard. The location is brilliant, so near to the M4 but we heard only the faintest "hum" of traffic, as though away in the distance - absolutely not an issue :). We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there next time we're in Swindon. Having previously tried 2 other "budget " hotels in the town and found them to be just that, in every sense, we will certainly not look elsewhere now we know how good the Premier Inn West Swindon is.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, looking out the back, are nice & quiet ( e.g. No. 79)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perrnicketymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived 1 hour early for check-in, but Alistair on the front desk did his best to get us to our rooms early, What a nice start to our two night stay. We stayed here and commuted into London Paddington. We also had breakfast next door at The Beefeater which was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MixedGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights while visiting the area and was very pleased. Rooms were spotless and spacious. Staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. On site beefeater was excellent, there was a costa coffee, greggs bakery and off licence on the same site which was handy. Really easy to find in a good location and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for one night and I must say it was a pretty poor stopover. Was met at reception by a very friendly staff member who checked us in with no bother and explained that we might encounter some staff who were running a little late due to some late departures, and so when we met the girls who were still preparing our room for us we asked if we could drop off our bags and leave them to it, and this was no problem at all ,later in the evening when we returned we found the room to be the usual high standard. For some reason both myself and my wife found the bed to be one of the most uncomfortable beds that we have ever had and we both had a really rough night which is a first for us as usually we are sound within minutes of hitting the pillows. Just unlucky on this occasion . Stayed in room no 74.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
2.0 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Address: Great Western Way | Lydiard Fields, Swindon SN5 8UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
#1 Best Value Hotel in Swindon
#2 Family Hotel in Swindon
#3 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Swindon town centre is just 3 miles away. Local attractions include a cinema, bowling alley, Lydiard Park and McArthur Glen Outlet Village for great shopping. Our Swindon West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. We also have the Whitbread Academy onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon West Hotel Swindon
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing