We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - not more, not less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Premier Inn Swindon West is a direct neighbour to a Holiday Inn and the Hilton. I've been to all three of them. The Premier Inn is often described to offer the best deal for the price...

My opinion: Rooms are at a good standard, clean and size is ok as well. I do not like the carpet and the bathroom gives a feeling of being in an airport bathroom. The building itself has seen better years. You hear every single step and doors slamming. I also notice a certain smell. And, typical for this hotel chain and the UK, there are signs wityh instructions really everywhere. Such as "keep bathroom door shut because of our super sensitive smoke detectors" or "pssssst ... close dpor carefully - other guests are sleeping".

Breakfast is served at the Beefeater restaurant right next door. I consider it to be medium-average British food quality, and not worth the money. You better go to Costa Coffee or the sandwich shop next door. The same is with dinner - price too high, plenty but poor quality food and always a shabby feeling.

80 GBP for a single room per night at a corporate rate is still not cheap, reakfast not included and wifi only free for 30 minutes. That's why I consider the Premier Inn Swindon West not to be the best deal around.

If you do stay there anyway: skip the breakfast, try not to get a room on the ground floor and log-in to the Beefeater wifi - that's for free.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank EzPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for one nigh for a family gathering.
Very impressed with the quality of the room and the bargain price.
The Beefeater next door was of a very high standard.
Usually the eating establishment used by the Prem Inn hotels can be a mixed bag as obviously the quality of food and service is not within their control, this time however it proved to be a very pleasant experience.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pershoreandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have stayed in a lot of Premier Inns, but this one was very good, It was recently refurbished but it had definitely been thought about. A very pleasant stay. Although next to the M4 we could not hear any traffice and had a lovely nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 1 night. We had 2 rooms. The Staff we're friendly. The Room was warm and spacious and the Bed very comfy. Lots better than travelodges. Breakfast was plentiful and the service quick and efficient.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank RICHARDANDMAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Nice clean modern hotel, very easy to find just off the junction for the main road. The standard of Premier Inns is very high. I have stayed in worse 3/4 star rooms. Also some local stops and coffee place. Located in an office type area. The only thing I didn't like was the pylon overhead.....

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jon R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Conveniently located hotel , just off motorway junction but far enough away to not hear any traffic. Easy to find, plenty of car parking, clean, warm generous room, comfy beds, nice big flat screen tv. Premier inn have got their act together here. Booked meal deal for £22 in Beefeater next door - three course meal, pint and full breakfast which I think is good value. Meal isn't Michelin star quality, but nice enough and the staff were very friendly & helpful. I've stayed here a few times now and would recommend to anyone for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

hotel very good,clean,comfortable.would use this hotel again.however,the beefeater restaurant was a mitigated disaster,had meal on arrival,steak was cold,but i was to tired to complain,next night ordered hot baguette and steak strips,guess what,both cold,told waitress and got a fresh meal(with a free drink) 2nd was also nearly cold,,complained again.manager offered free brekkie for morning.ordered it and came out minus sausages i asked for,couldn't help but laugh and thought what is point of complaing again!! 1st time i have ever complained about a meal and i am no spring chicken.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickqrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,634 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 25 in Swindon
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel

Address: Great Western Way | Lydiard Fields, Swindon SN5 8UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
#2 Family Hotel in Swindon
#3 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Swindon town centre is just 3 miles away. Local attractions include a cinema, bowling alley, Lydiard Park and McArthur Glen Outlet Village for great shopping. Our Swindon West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. We also have the Whitbread Academy onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon West Hotel Swindon
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing