We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stopover”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We regularly use this one to break our journeys . Position is good just off the M4 junction 16 on an office-type commercial area. Not a spot for walking etc and the only "attraction" on the site is the exhibition at the National self build and house renovation Foundation which is directly behind the hotel. Haven't seen this as do not need to do either! Easy travel by car to the Outlet Centre etc.

As usual with Premier Inns the rooms are a reasonable size ,with well appointed bathrooms,tv,desk etc. Spotlessly clean in all areas. Staff very friendly,helpful and efficient.
Beafeater Restaurant adjacent is good for usual evening fare and serves an excellent breakfast . We particularly like the fact that the main items are freshly cooked to order.

Room Tip: All rooms have similar views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    195
    55
    12
    8
See reviews for
148
231
27
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
278 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before travelling to Southampton. We were lucky to get this hotel at a rate of £29.00 for the room, this also included breakfast as part of a meal deal that was for a three course meal with a glass of house wine that could be taken at the local beefeater restaurant (reviewed earlier).

On checking in both the receptionists were polite and courteous and were ver well presented in their smart clothes.

Having gone through the formalities we were asked if we wanted a table booked for the beefeater to which we agreed. We were also told to ask for anything that we required for instance any extra tea, coffee or sugar etc for our room. One of the young ladies kindly went on to the internet and printed off a route guide to Southampton for me as I had not been there before.

Our rooms were clean and tidy and a large comfy bed to sleep in. No real views from the rooms as the hotel is in the middle of a huge industrial estate on the outskirts of Swindon, although I think this hotel would be an ideal base to visit Oxford or Wiltshire or Somerset.

When we left in the morning the staff thanked us and also wished us a Merry Christmas, nice touch.

We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at either end of a corridor are usually best as they are generally quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

The Premier Inn Swindon West is a direct neighbour to a Holiday Inn and the Hilton. I've been to all three of them. The Premier Inn is often described to offer the best deal for the price...

My opinion: Rooms are at a good standard, clean and size is ok as well. I do not like the carpet and the bathroom gives a feeling of being in an airport bathroom. The building itself has seen better years. You hear every single step and doors slamming. I also notice a certain smell. And, typical for this hotel chain and the UK, there are signs wityh instructions really everywhere. Such as "keep bathroom door shut because of our super sensitive smoke detectors" or "pssssst ... close dpor carefully - other guests are sleeping".

Breakfast is served at the Beefeater restaurant right next door. I consider it to be medium-average British food quality, and not worth the money. You better go to Costa Coffee or the sandwich shop next door. The same is with dinner - price too high, plenty but poor quality food and always a shabby feeling.

80 GBP for a single room per night at a corporate rate is still not cheap, reakfast not included and wifi only free for 30 minutes. That's why I consider the Premier Inn Swindon West not to be the best deal around.

If you do stay there anyway: skip the breakfast, try not to get a room on the ground floor and log-in to the Beefeater wifi - that's for free.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EzPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for one nigh for a family gathering.
Very impressed with the quality of the room and the bargain price.
The Beefeater next door was of a very high standard.
Usually the eating establishment used by the Prem Inn hotels can be a mixed bag as obviously the quality of food and service is not within their control, this time however it proved to be a very pleasant experience.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pershoreandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have stayed in a lot of Premier Inns, but this one was very good, It was recently refurbished but it had definitely been thought about. A very pleasant stay. Although next to the M4 we could not hear any traffice and had a lovely nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 1 night. We had 2 rooms. The Staff we're friendly. The Room was warm and spacious and the Bed very comfy. Lots better than travelodges. Breakfast was plentiful and the service quick and efficient.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RICHARDANDMAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Nice clean modern hotel, very easy to find just off the junction for the main road. The standard of Premier Inns is very high. I have stayed in worse 3/4 star rooms. Also some local stops and coffee place. Located in an office type area. The only thing I didn't like was the pylon overhead.....

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jon R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,437 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,835 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Address: Great Western Way | Lydiard Fields, Swindon SN5 8UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
#2 Family Hotel in Swindon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Swindon
#3 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Swindon town centre is just 3 miles away. Local attractions include a cinema, bowling alley, Lydiard Park and McArthur Glen Outlet Village for great shopping. Our Swindon West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. We also have the Whitbread Academy onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon West Hotel Swindon
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing