We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colin t Nottingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge Guest House
Ranked #12 of 45 Swindon B&B and Inns
1 review
“Colin t Nottingham”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed here for the last 2 months , contracting in Swindon ,excellent host ( phil ) ,great food ( sue ) ,clean and tidy rooms and off street parking .would defiantly stay here again ..................................

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
11
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

In early January 2013 we reserved a double and a single room for one night at the Lodge, about a fortnight in advance. Alarm bells should have rung at that stage, as when the manager rang to confirm the booking, he told us that an extra charge would be payable if we chose to settle the bill by credit card - something that had not been stated upfront on the booking company's website.
As the date approached, severe weather conditions hit, and much of the country succumbed to snow, widely disrupting travel plans. Reluctantly, on the morning we were due to travel, we decided we could not ignore the numerous warnings against taking to the roads, particularly as we would be setting off from South Wales, and our party of three included an eighty-two-year-old. That same morning therefore, we rang to cancel our booking for the evening.
Whilst acknowledging that their policy stated payment in full if cancelling within 48 hours; in light of the extreme circumstances affecting much of the country, together with the fact that the Lodge was still advertising other rooms available for rent, we hoped for some concession or compromise. This was flatly denied, and the intransigence blamed on the website booking company - though later enquiries with that company confirmed that the cancellation policy belonged to the guesthouse itself.
That would have been an end to it, but the Lodge rang back to say there was a problem with the card number, and could we supply it again? We flatly refused, stating that we had no intention of handing them in excess of a hundred pounds in return for them providing us with no service whatsoever. Evidently they overcame the problem with the card number the following day, when they withdrew £110 from our account, even though they hadn't had to so much as change a bedsheet to earn it.
The whole experience left us with the strong impression that the Lodge viewed its' potential clients as cash cows to be milked in the short term, rather than as customers to be valued and cultivated with a view to seeing them return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
It can be a problem if a guest makes a reservation via a third party agent and neglects to check the terms of the booking. We always stipulate the terms clearly when taking a booking over the telephone or by email, as well as making a guest aware of any special offers or discounts that we may be offering. Our terms and conditions are shown on our website and that our our agents.

There is no charge for payments by cash, cheque, bank transfer or debit cards. Unfortunately, due to the large charges levied by the credit card companies, we ask for a 3% contribution towards these costs.

Even after 25 years in the hospitality trade, it is never easy to please all guests all the time. This guest had reserved a quarter of our rooms and the weather and roads were clear on the anticipated arrival date. It is worth mentioning that if the guest had contacted us directly with any concerns regarding the weather in advance, we could have dealt with the situation in a much more satisfactory way for both parties. However, we received communication from the guests, via the agent they had booked with, only on the expected arrival date and the agent quoted from the usual terms and conditions published on their website. Our availability was 'opened up' on all our agents websites once the cancellation had been confirmed to us, but unfortunately we were unable to relet the rooms at short notice.

Our duty manager would not have been able to make any charge on the day of cancellation, as we do not charge (even on the day) if we have been able to resell the room/s. Therefore, we always wait until the day following before making any charge. In addition, we only ever make a charge for the first night of a cancelled booking .... and not the full amount for the duration of the stay.

Two of our long term residents requested an extention to their stay, but we had to refuse them because the rooms were reserved and we found them alternative accommodation. One elderly lady staying with us didn't want to travel to the East of England that day, due to the weather in that part of the country, and wanted to continue her stay with us. However, as she was occupying our ground floor, disabled access room, we had to find her an alternative hotel. Her room had been reserved for the guest that cancelled at short notice. This was not only an inconvenience for her, but the alternative accommodation cost more.

A cancellation policy is put in place expressly to avoid misunderstandings. On occassion, in case of an accident or illness we try to waive the charge, but a guest should always have a travel insurance in place to cover any eventuality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We had a great stay for a long weekend. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great value for money and a decent breakfast. The staff were really helpful with lots of local knowledge. Definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesyeandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for your glowing report. We try to give a special personal service, especially to our overseas visitors who may need a little extra assistance. We look forward to your revisit later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My return to Swindon this time was because I had to attend a funeral, so not the happiest occasion. But the welcome, cosiness and overall attention to detail was most welcome. A true oasis, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captionphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
I'm so pleased we were able to provide a comfortable stay at such a difficult time. Thank you for your heartwarming comments in our visitors book. We look forward to your return visit to see your family soon, under happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed for a few weeks with my two daughters we were very well looked after and found the staff helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee and a good breakfast . We would stay again good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
We were very pleased to accommodate you and your delightful daughters and hope you have settled into your new home.

It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback and constructive comments from our guests. We have extended our DVD library now to accommodate our younger guests as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Good:
Host was very pleasant
It was cheap compared to a hotel (less than £50 for night)

Not good:
Tiny room that was clean but very tired.
Shower was rubbish - a tiny dibble of water.
The usual cheapo tea/coffee packets in room.
Unpleasant noises at night with lots of creaking stuff
Car park was tiny and full

It just wasn't special in any way.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
After reading your review we have replaced the shower, which is now a good pressure, and redecorated the room. All our rooms have had the beds replaced and new furniture. As part of our ongoing improvement plan we have upgraded both the beverage trays and toiletries. In addition to our car park which has spaces for up to five cars, we also have ample on street parking and visitors parking bays, to satisfy our eight letting rooms.

I hope you will revisit us, if you return to Swindon, to take advantage of our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were attending a show, and decided to stay over at the last minute, found The Lodge and booked online. We chose this venue as it was close to the theatre we were going to, and parking and breakfast was included. The room was spacious and clean, let down slightly by some peeling wallpaper though. We only had 2 small pots of milk, which wasn't enough, even for a cup of coffee each! Breakfast was adequate, staff friendly-ish. Would probably use again if we were in the area again. Shame we couldn't give it a full 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It was good to hear you were happy with the size of your room, car parking, etc. It was a shame we 'let ourselves down' by forgetting to put milk cartons in your room ..... you should also have been offered fresh milk upon arrival? Over the winter we have redecorated most of our rooms, and so any wallpaper issues have now been resolved!

Looking forward to your revisit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,701 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Guest House

Property: The Lodge Guest House
Address: 1 Hunt Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have eight en-suite rooms, a four star rating from VisitBritain, a central location, with free on-site parking and complimentary Wi-fi. A great location for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Guest House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing