We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurb interesting but avoid until over”

Swindon Designer Outlet
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refurb interesting but avoid until over”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We're regular visitors to Swindon Village, but today was a fiasco with the refurb in progress.
Facilities are limited, many toilets are closed and the food court consists of KFC or a sandwich booth.

Open air elements are now wooden tunnels and the aircon isn't working.
We travelled a long way for a really dissapointing and uncomfortable shopping experience.
The whole place was overheated, customers were tetchy due to the uncomfortable atmosphere and staff were clearly uncomfortable because of the heat.

We'll give Swindon a miss until the new facilities bed in. many people travel a long way to such places, as we did, and the lack of facilities and poor air quality made today's holiday shopping trip a write off.

The website didn't mention limited facilities, construction in progress or lack of aircon. Had it done do, we wouldn't have wasted our time visiting today.

Avoid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    502
    169
    52
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“The food court is shut!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Well we wanted some nice to eat. Twenty million coffee shops, so we ended up in the National Trust - Heelis restaurant 2pm on Saturday afternoon they had 2 people serving! (I know I can hear you all say a "2 people" and raise your eyes to the sky). Well got chatting to the bloke next to us in the queue he informed me it was aways like it madness!! Well 20 mins later we got served after a nice chat with our neighbour on how we could make the placed run better... The food was ok but nothing special. Won't be rushing back...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redrose12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Swindon Designer Outlet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A bold move by the developers to embrace the railway heritage of Swindon, and one that largely pays off. All shops are undercover and cover a large variety of the top end retailers selling discount products (ie: last season items !!). As a Swindonian, it is a popular place to take visiting friends for a few hours, but it is rare that I go just for a look around these days - if you have something in mind, fine, but otherwise, no. The venue has a good choice of fast food outlets - a tadge expensive in my opinion, but hey, parking is only £1 for 5 hours - free if you spend £100+ (billy bargain). The Swindon Steam Museam is adjacent to the Outlet. They have a toddler play area for up to 6 yr olds (not under cover), but older children might, I feel, become bored quite quickly with just shops aimed at grown ups. Busy on weekends, not so much during the week.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TelBoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pleasant walk around the shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

although there is a lot of work expanding the outlet at the moment (june 14) it is still a nice place to spend an afternoon wandering around the shops

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grumpy2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable indoor shopping experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The outlet shopping village is very is to find and plenty of parking.As it is indoors it makes shopping enjoyable in all weather. Good variety of shops and food court.Good for bargain hunters .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAZ1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swindon Designer Outlet also viewed

 

Been to Swindon Designer Outlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing