We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in all aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carpenters Arms Motel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic in all aspects”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple stayed at The Carpenters Arms Motel, Swindon, owned and managed by Bob and Barbara. On arrival, it was evident that this was going to be something special. Although the chef was not there on our arrival, a full lunch menu was still offered.

The selection of food and drink at The Carpenters Arms was great, with choices of ales, cider and lager to name but a few. The lunch and evening menus were well priced and extremely tasty.

The rooms provided by The Carpenters Arms were huge!!. Included in our rooms was a larger than large king sized bed, two seater sofa and a dressing table ample for three wives!! All the items you would expect in a bathroom, including a bath with overhead shower.

Bob and Barbaras friendliness was more than what you would expect and this attribute is extremely rare to come by.

The Motel is situated a short distance away from main shopping areas.

We would recommend The Carpenters Arms Motel to anyone who is looking for friendliness, good food and drink along with extremely comfortable and well maintained rooms. We would not hesitate to recommend The Carpenters Arms Motel to anyone. Truly fantastic and thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hi Stuart,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Barbara and I strive to provide a home from home for our guests. It seems to work for most. Just for the record as some get techie about such things we are tenants of the property, and owners of the business.

We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.

Bob and Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
29
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Excellent value, the rooms and food are both wonderful.
Bob has been really helpful and has bent over backwards to accomodate our workforce for the last 5 weeks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelak999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I've been booking rooms for my operatives for a number of weeks now and Bob the proprietor couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are budget priced, but well appointed and very clean. The Carpenters is well situated to reach north Swindon. I can highly recommend the Carpenters, and if ever we've got a job up that way again I'll certainly use it for our accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Carpenters Arms, one of Swindon’s gems.

Working 150 miles away from home for two weeks is a difficult time for anyone. I was very lucky to find this amazing place on line and called to make the reservation. On the initial booking contact, the chap on the end of the phone was extremely helpful and reassuring.

On arrival on my first evening I was made very welcome; the room was very good extremely clean with all comforts in side. The business is run very professionally and has a great family feel about it. The food is very good with plenty of variety to suit all tastes and pockets.

I would like to thank Bob and Barbara for their very warm welcome to their lovely motel and when in Swindon again I will of course book to stay, “if there is room”.

Even if you do not need to stay please go and have a drink in the bar and perhaps try the food you will not regret the experience.

Bob and Barbara my best wishes for this year and many more to follow

Room Tip: all of the rooms are excellent trust Bob and Barbara to select for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hi Derek,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Both Barbara and I really enjoyed our chats, as did some of the other guests. We do try and make the Carps a home from home.

Hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Bob and Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stopped over for one night, to break up the journey from Cornwall. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything that we needed, lovely to find a bath as well as a shower. The food was good and competitively priced. Very friendly owners we were made to feel very welcome. Would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewquayTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is ideal place to stop as a work overnight or for longer stays. I stayed approximately 3 months and would not hesitate to stay again. It is reasonably priced and the accommodation is a good size with nice facilities. Pub has good food at reasonable prices

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spider W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We try to maintain the relaxed atmosphere that our guests seem to appreciate. We are glad you enjoyed your extended stay with us, and good luck with your next contract.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great place to stay just outside Swindon with 9 motel style rooms all well equiped. Pub has nice local beers and refreshinbgly over 7 veggie options on the food menu. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review we do our best to ensure all guests have a nice stay. I have passed on your kind words about the food to my wife, herself a vegetarian, hence the range available.

Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.5 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 25 in Swindon
144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,494 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
5.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms Motel

Property: The Carpenters Arms Motel
Address: Old Vicarage Lane | South Marston, Swindon SN3 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carpenters Arms Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carpenters Arms Motel Swindon, is on the Wiltshire/Oxfordshire border and provides you with quality rooms at guest house prices. In the country but just minutes from Swindon, Shrivenham, Wanborough, Blunsdon RMCS, Honda as well many other towns.Our reputation for quality accommodation, food and Arkells Real Ales has grown to reach the number one for accommodation in Swindon, on the biggest review site in the world, TripAdvisor. If you wish to stay Monday to Thursday you need to book early as we have long term satisfied guests who stay weekly. Why choose the rest when you can choose the best. The Carpenters provides an ideal haven for the business traveller or tourist seeking peace and tranquility. The Carpenters Arms lies approximately 3 miles north of Swindon and is ideally placed for visits to Bath, Cheltenham, Stratford-upon-Avon and a host of Cotswold beauty spots. If you are looking for a boisterous, noisy, over the top establishment, The Carpenters is not for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Carpenters Arms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel
The Carpenters Arms Motel Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing