We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Single room...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Using this hotel as working locally for a month.
I was attracted by the motel parking for the car outside, and the location set in countryside and village of South Marston.

Arrival was met with friendly atmosphere by Bob.
Room was no.9 - was both clean and functional.
Heated towel rail was a nice touch - and ceiling fan was useful too in the hot weather.
Wifi signal was good in my room.

Bathroom was very clean and the power shower was very good.

Now to the single bed - I found the bed very uncomfortable - but I got used to it.
The bed was lumpy because of the springs coming through the mattress.

Quietness of hotel was fine - high speed train line with intercity trains was not an issue when you wanted to sleep as they stopped running then or at least they seemed to.

The real ales from Arkells were well kept.

Overall very good experience and for a cash deal good value.

Good location for running too either into village or the fields just next to hotel and even up to gymwhich was 2 mins drive from hotel at larger hotel in the village South Marston Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedomWiltshire, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

Whilst I am generally pleased with this guest view, I do find the comment about the bed rather odd. We have this morning checked the bed after reading the review and whilst the presence of the springs is evident, as all sprung mattresses would be, they are certainly not protruding.

The mattress also has a cushioned under sheet. The guest concerned is still resident and has never mentioned this to us. Had we known we could have attempted to rectify the problem initially by a room change, as for the mattress itself, it is commercial quality and appears in good condition.

We will certainly address the issue with the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

Stayed here for one night after visiting a freind in swindon, the room was big, as was the bathroom, no carpets so it felt cold but heated up after a while, small tv/dvd player in the room was nice, bed felt old and very well used but not unbearable, the bath was nice and big, and the shower was hot and powerful.

Nothing really spectacular, the motel is in a secluded little area which was really quiet apart from the trains going past every few minutes.

Food at the pub was good, not pricey and nice portions, the drinks are nice and cheap (I recomend the 3B ale brewed locally).

Overall, not a bad place at all, but I wouldn't stay longer than one night and not really worth it if you don't have a car, as the taxi to swindon is £8.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 03jrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedomWiltshire, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

We welcome honest assessments of our rooms. I would say however the beds are certainly not old.

The issue of the trains is rarely mentioned, I guess it's just about levels of sleep.

The floors are designed for ease of maintenance and being motel style carpets would very quickly become soiled.

We have regular users of our rooms who stay Monday through Friday for months at a time. Oddly the quiet location is the reason given by most.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Working in Swindon but living in Cambridge makes it a bit difficult to commute. This B&B offers a nice place to stay, good food and is affordable. The room is large enough, the shower ( I had the room with the walk-in shower) is a treat. Powerfull, hot and spacious. I have stayed at 4**** hotels without this. The meals, within reason, can be cooked to one's wishes and are always plentyfull. Having read a previous review about waiting time for food and ash-trays, I felt a bit confused as the rooms have no ash-trays (so they can't be full)and the kitchen has a limited opening time which guarantees less waiting and freshly cooked food. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMax1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Good lord...we came back!

Bob gently threw us out last year, once we'd paid our bill. We'd had a great time. enjoying the comfy room and brutally wonderful shower.

So, like a boomerang we returned for the International Air Tattoo at Fairford last week.

Everything was the same. A friendly welcome...not from Bob...(Joking) reasonable prices, a decent choice on the menu,nothing left on our plates. Now this is not Haute Cuisine, but hearty pub grub. enjoyed as such. and priced as such.

The rooms are large and comfy, the Wi-Fi works and there is little to wish for beyond a free mini bar........guess not.

All in all this place does what it says on the tin. A good quality restful place with a gentle atmosphere and enjoyable food. The service is not 5 star, but nor are the prices. The service is however kindly administered and swift.

I kinda like it .

David

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damnfoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Having just come across the previous reviews for the Carpenters Arms at South Marston, I can strongly endorse the views expressed in the first two but cannot believe the third can be talking about the same place! We have been regular Friday night customers of Barbara's excellent menu and recently have used the motel during the week having moved house away from the area. You will find a friendly welcome from Bob and Barbara, quality food and well equipped rooms. Well worth a try.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We spent two nights at the Carpenters Arms. Upon arrival (after parking next to the UKIP billboard !) we were advised that the owner was having a nap and just to let ourselves in and it has to be said this was a marker of what was to come- a motel that could have been great if the owners could be bothered

The room was spacious and as mentioned above the showers were great but apart from that the place has little to be said for it- it just feels like the owners don't care- cobwebs in the bathroom, grimy shower curtains and over flowing ashtrays and a bar that closed at 8.30. We didn't eat there but others in our party who did spend over 2 1/2 hours waiting for a very ordinary two course meal for 6. Breakfast was ok but the coffee terrible and only served until 8.30 and thats before we were hassled whilst eating to settle our bill so the owners could go out.

We stayed once. We wont again. The owners don't care.You have been warned.....

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GWANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

If you need to stay in or near Swindon for a short visit, you could do worse than stay at the Carpenter's Arms in South Marston. This appeared to be a country pub that has extended its' repetoire to include motel style rooms for the business traveller. I stayed in a single room, which was clean and felt new. The floors were wooden blocked, no carpets, cleanly swept. The room was warm, with a radiator in the main room and a heated towel rail in the bathroom. The furniture was in pine, plenty of drawers, a dressing table with stool. There was a hanging space with hangers, sponge covered wire hangers, but nevertheless, real hangers, not the ones which imply that one is going to steal them! The linen was clean and fresh. The bathroom was a good size with a decent mirror and vanity area. The shower (over the bath) in the morning was fantastic! Hot almost immediately and quite fierce - just as I like them. The TV was also a DVD player, which I suppose would have been useful if I carried DVDs around with me. The Coffee and Tea facilities were generous. No phone in the room which was a bit odd. There is a railway line nearby, which disturbed me through the night, from time to time. I got there in time to have an evening meal in the pub (they stop serving at 8.30pm). The food was acceptable, the cheeseboard being particularly generous. Everyone I spoke to was pleasant, friendly and helpful. This was a reasonably priced, perfectly acceptable place to stay.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank smilerviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.6 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 25 in Swindon
154 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#19 of 25 in Swindon
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
803 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,608 reviews
5.6 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Address: Old Vicarage Lane | South Marston, Swindon SN3 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £63 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carpenters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carpenters Arms Motel Swindon, is on the Wiltshire/Oxfordshire border and provides you with quality rooms at guest house prices. In the country but just minutes from Swindon, Shrivenham, Wanborough, Blunsdon RMCS, Honda as well many other towns.Our reputation for quality accommodation, food and Arkells Real Ales has grown to reach the number one for accommodation in Swindon, on the biggest review site in the world, TripAdvisor. If you wish to stay Monday to Thursday you need to book early as we have long term satisfied guests who stay weekly. Why choose the rest when you can choose the best. The Carpenters provides an ideal haven for the business traveller or tourist seeking peace and tranquility. The Carpenters Arms lies approximately 3 miles north of Swindon and is ideally placed for visits to Bath, Cheltenham, Stratford-upon-Avon and a host of Cotswold beauty spots. If you are looking for a boisterous, noisy, over the top establishment, The Carpenters is not for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel
The Carpenters Arms Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing