We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notihng was too much trouble”

Landmark Hotel Swindon
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swindon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Landmark Hotel Swindon
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Navenby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Notihng was too much trouble”
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We have stayed here a couple of times and the service is outstanding; nothing is too much trouble for Trevor and Paul. The hotel is close to the M4 but out of town a little, but if you value personal attention over the more usual off hand service from the bigger names then Paul and Trevor will be happy to tend to your every need; I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.
It is relatively small and lacks some of the facilities of the usual business hotels, but the attentive service is ample recompense. The food is good and reasonably priced. It certainly ticks all the boxes unless you are after something a little bit special.

  • Liked — Attentive service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London.England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

I agree with the generally positive views expressed by others. This is a well run hotel with a very friendly and helpful approach to guest comfort. Service is attentive but not intrusive. It is good value and the individually cooked meals and breakfast would not be out of place at an establishment charging a lot more. The rooms are larger than a normal hotel and the location is very quiet.

  • Liked — good sized rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musician101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2008

Choose this hotel for a friends reunion and weren't disappointed (have stayed here twice previously.) Rooms are spacious, well appointed and housekeeping is excellent.

Breakfast is ordered from a menu and individually served. Evening meals have a good selection, are well prepared and presented and quality is excellent. There is a reasonably priced wine list.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

There are many good things to say about the Landmark.
The hotel used to be a nursing home. As a result, the rooms are spacious and well sound-proofed, and wide corridors dispel any feeling of claustrophobia. Some of the rooms open out on to a central courtyard, allowing dog owners to exercise their pets without having to walk through the hotel. There appear to be at least three lounges for guests. Starting from this promising base, the owners have added splendid furnishings in fine taste in the rooms and the restaurant, and there are some nice touches such as chilled water dispensers in the corridors.
The owners and the staff were all very friendly and efficient, and we left feeling that we would be happy to return.
Easy access to the M4 and Swindon is a bonus, and for those staying in the Swindon area and not keen on megahotels with 100+ rooms, the Landmark has to be on the short list.

  • Liked — Spacious well-appointed and comfortable rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phineas_Nigellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

A very pleasant and unusual hotel, beautiful spacious room with balcony and at a very good rate. No room numbers - each room having it's own name. One side of the hotel looks over pretty terraced village cottages. The staff are helpful and efficient. The food is good. This hotel is not the usual impersonal concrete business. The only thing I didn't like was that the lighting in the main part of the room was too low. It's soft and subtle but it's not very practical. My car was completely covered in bird mess the next morning so it would be nice if the trees in the car park were cut back a bit!

  • Liked — Lovely room
  • Disliked — Low lighting in bedroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

If I had to sum this place up, I'd say it's a cross between a homely B&B and a functional Travelodge.

The hotel is in a fairly modern nondescript building. It appears to be purpose-built as a hotel, which makes it's location slap in the centre of a small village just outside Swindon a bit unusual. It did remind me of a Travelodge, but dressed up with bright hanging baskets.

The place appears to be owned and run entirely by two people, who did everything from welcome us at reception to cook our dinner, and were always friendly and helpful. Their adorable dog was also ambling round...very "B&B".

As with a Travelodge, there isn't much to the communal areas. Rooms are pleasant, neat and clean - mixing the Travelodge (plain, functional) and B&B (more homely style curtains and cushions).

We ate dinner in the hotel in the combined restaurant/breakfast room. As the place was empty, we'd probably have eaten out had we not been on an inclusive rate, as we felt a bit sheepish making them use the kitchen entirely for our benefit. The dinner menu had a few fancy-sounding flourishes but the food that emerged was the kind of food I'd get at my Mum's - unpretentious and filling, but none the worse for that - we felt we'd eaten well.

The location just a mile or so from the M4 and a very short journey into Swindon makes it an ideal location for business, but it's also a good place for a weekend away, with Marlborough, Avebury and the Ridgeway all within a short drive.

Don't expect luxury, but if you want a good value and efficient little hotel with some friendly, homely touches, you probably can't do much better than the Landmark.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2008

An excellent hotel ideally situated whatever the reason for your stay.
What stood out during my short stay was the level of customer care/friendliness/attention to detail provided by the staff.

The propriertors Paul and Trevor certainly go the extra mile.

A quiet or certainly during my stay location excellent service and high quality food. Comfortable fixtures and fittings etc.

I personally can thoroughly recommend the Landmark and will be revisiting in the near future.

Many thanks to all concerned.

Regards Stuart.

  • Liked — Genuine personal service.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all,
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SubaruLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.7 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#1 of 1 in Wanborough
119 reviews
4.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#17 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#19 of 25 in Swindon
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#14 of 25 in Swindon
205 reviews
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Hotel Swindon

Property: Landmark Hotel Swindon
Address: Station Road | Chiseldon, Swindon SN4 0PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing