We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lydiard House Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel/conference centre gets a lot of stick and I do not know if it is deserved. Ok the bell ringing practice on Tuesday evening is probably not necessary but when I complained about it to the receptionist she was so nice and polite about it. The room is small, but just about ok for two, but ideally for one. Its clean and there is wifi. There is also enough desk space of you need it. Continental breakfast is not very intersting but usually you get cooked breakfast as standard so no complaints there. And haddock with poached eggs, salmon with eggs or full english, c'mon you are not going to get that at Premier inn and yet the room was a cheaper at £40. Book via a price comparison site and you can't go wrong. And oh there is a pool too. Not that I went in myself.

Room Tip: I bet the rooms at the front are quieter on Tuesdays evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascocomico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    62
    67
    38
    37
See reviews for
36
88
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marloth Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

As mentioned before its a business accomodation / conference hotel adjoining to the old manor house. Rooms are very small and designed for one person ( 1 stool, 1 pillow etc) The lady at the desk was very helpful and friendly, thanks again.
For the special price it was okay - as they say, you get what you pay for. I certainly would have been ripped off if paying the regular price (70 pds plus)

Can`t say much positiv about the food - hope it was just an off day for the chef. The fish and chips was greasy and underdone, the hamburgers very "mini" ant not much taste (maybe economic meat ????)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarentaal2862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stay here regularly and while the accommodation and facilities are quite basic, it is set in stunning grounds which usually means it is quiet and peaceful.

The staff really understand customer service and are always incredibly welcoming and helpful - nothing is ever too much trouble. They certainly make up for any shortcomings in the accommodation/facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

First of all don't be fooled like I was at the photo of Lydiard House, this is definately not were you will be staying. The Hotel is round the back, looks just like old hospital or even prison block. On arrival, there was meetings going on (yes it is a conference centre) but you don't expect the lounge to be used for that purpose, which ment paying guests could not use that area. Once into our room, first thing we noticed was 4ft double bed push against the wall. No head board, Very good office working area (if thats what you needed to have). Room is definately not big enough for two..... Very clean and tidy. Personally bed was very very uncomfortable. Swimming pool really nice, even better we had it to ourselves, sauna was not working. We had a celing light keep flashing on and off, reported it, exceptionally fast service by staff to fix it, shame the guy that came to fix it was the Chef and not an electrician. He did manage eventually to change bulb, but light did not work, comments were oh well its better than it flashing. 10 mins latter back to disco lights again..... Arrived back at hotel after night out, around 11pm to find nobody on desk, or anywhere else to be found. The park and lakes etc are fantastic. Breakfast was 100% first class. Such a shame could be so good, if somebody was to look at these comments. OK you get what you pay for, cheap offer, CHEAP HOTEL. I think it should be kept as conference accomodation, not a hotel.....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

The best dinner dance venue I have been to. The 50 guests enjoyed an excellent meal that included a smoked salmon starter and very tender rib-eye steak as a main. The venue had an intimate, luxury atmosphere in a fabulous country house setting. Give them a try you won,t regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I booked this hotel primarily as its' location was ideal for a business meeting in the area and the room rate was extremely competitive. Must admit to having booked the room and then read the reviews, on this and other sites! They were a mixture of good and bad with some specific references to poor customer service. Still I was only staying for one night!

Being a conference centre then one suspects that service standards may vary depending upon the number of people staying however I can only comment regarding my stay; I did not think the place was particularly busy.

Check-in was quick, informative and extremely friendly and the room was fine with all the usual facilities and free wi-fi was particularly welcome. Had a bar meal which was excellent with friendly service.

Breakfast, included in my rate, was also very good.

On the basis of my visit I would recommend this hotel; it is in a very good location being within the extensive Lydiard park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Well the saying goes you get what you pay for. Room pleasant , clean but small for a double.
Breakfast was varied and fine.
My one main gripe was being woken at 0515 hours by refuse collectors. You would think that the amount that the company would pay for refuse collection they would be able to arrange that the bins were not cleared at an unearthly time. Its not our problem said the receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
2.5 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Property: Lydiard House Conference Centre
Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing