We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant go wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cant go wrong!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Booked through last minute type of web site - and i can only say it was great value for money - we paid £39 for a double room for the night - room was a bit smal but fine for a nights sleep! Staff were exceptionally friendly - grabbed an evening meal - again reasonable & nice - and paid the extra £10 for breakfast - which again was very good. - lasting thoughts - a bargain, and i would definately go back.

Room Tip: had room 23 - a bit small - but like i said for £39 for 2 of us?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    66
    71
    41
    41
See reviews for
38
96
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here on a trip to a friends wedding locally. The grounds are extensive and stunning, the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, we had booked via late rooms so had got a good deal, and it had stated on their website that the bed was 4'. This proved plenty of space for my large husband and myself (not quite so large!) Breakfast was plentiful and what you'd expect. Dinner was lovely, freshly cooked and more options for us as vegetarian than many hotels/restaurants. Across from the entrance of the hotel is a tea rooms, very tastefully converted from the stables, my only regret is that we were not there at a time to enjoy their cream tea, however the baked potatoes we had for lunch were yummy. This is not plush hotel, a little basic in decor, but for those wanting a comfortable bargain this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyLawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeastlad
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Booked last minute as late chance to go to Cheltenham Festival and nowhere in Cheltenham available inless you were willing to pay silly money. Got room at 35 per night. Not sure on full price. Ideal base if wanting conference facilities. Decent pool and sauna. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms are basic but clean. No pictures etc on walls so a little sanitised. Bar and food prices okay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We came to Lydiard House for a 1920's Murder Mystery night as a group of 4. The grounds of the hotel were picturesque to say the least, with ample parking facilities. We didn't use the spa, but noticed the pool as you walked in - it was hard to miss with full length windows, which meant it wasn't exactly private and luxurious.

Unfortunately, despite booking the rooms at the same time, we were put on separate floors. We were surprised when getting to our room as the 'double bed' was barely larger than a single bed. But, tea and coffee were provided, the TV worked and it was clean.

The evening food was great - to say there must have been over 100 people, all the food was hot, well cooked and exceeded expectations. The bar was open until late - I vaguely recall going to bed at some point..!

Unfortunately, the next morning all hell broke loose. The breakfast staff had only catered for 45 people, meaning one waitress and one chef (working completely on their own) were running to and from the kitchen, with hot food, pushing guests out of the way. There were not enough tables, seats, cups, cutlery, drinks or even food, which was served as a hot buffet.

We would go back if a similar event is held, but might try to arrive before everyone else for breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L, Events Co-Ordinator at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
If requested when booking, if you require rooms together we make every effort to do this, or if indeed you need a ground floor room or anything extra in your room we are always happy to help.

Breakfast for our Murder Mystery events can sometimes seem hectic as generally this is a late event and can go on till the early hours of the morning, It is very unusual for everyone to decide to have breakfast at the same time and as we like to serve our food fresh only a limited amount is cooked at any one time to avoid spoiling. It is unfortunate on this occassion everyone came down to breakfast late and therefore had to wait for freshly cooked food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed here for my sons wedding - booked a double room for two nights. When we arrived we were gobsmacked at the size of the room - we could have coped but the bed was ridiculous for two people it was only 4ft. I did inquire whether another room was available but was told that they were either full or all the beds were the same size!!! many of our party ended up sleeping on the floor was in this day and age is totally unacceptable.

The reception staff try very hard to meet any of your requests but they must be fed up with people complaining about the beds.

This venue is firstly a conference centre who at some point decided to be a wedding venue as well - well i am sorry but you need to decide what you are because it is clearing not working as both.

The wedding itself was a great day (wedding room is tatty and stained carpet with holes in) but we were only looking at the happy couple. The food was a bit of a shambles - even though they had our pre order and a table plan the waitresses still wandered round various tables asking who had ordered what.

Come on Lydiard spend some money and upgrade your accommodation, wedding room etc - needless to say we wont be staying here again :-(

Helpful?
1 Thank jacquinewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L, Events Co-ordinator at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
When taking a booking for a wedding, both prospective bride and groom view the venue and are told about the size of beds in the bedrooms and to advise their guests about the size when booking. Generally this does not cause a problem as they are only 6" narrower that a normal bed. It does state on all our sites that beds are small double 4 feet wide.

The function room is constantly monitored for wear and tear, I'm sure you can understand that the room takes quite a lot rough treatment, and we endeavour to replace or repair when necessary.

We spend a lot of time planning with the bride and groom to ensure that we know exactly where dietry requirments, children etc are seated to ensure a smooth efficient service. We are surprised that wasn't your experience I must stress again we spend a lot of time planning with the bride and groom, and we feel disappointed that you feel this was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel/conference centre gets a lot of stick and I do not know if it is deserved. Ok the bell ringing practice on Tuesday evening is probably not necessary but when I complained about it to the receptionist she was so nice and polite about it. The room is small, but just about ok for two, but ideally for one. Its clean and there is wifi. There is also enough desk space of you need it. Continental breakfast is not very intersting but usually you get cooked breakfast as standard so no complaints there. And haddock with poached eggs, salmon with eggs or full english, c'mon you are not going to get that at Premier inn and yet the room was a cheaper at £40. Book via a price comparison site and you can't go wrong. And oh there is a pool too. Not that I went in myself.

Room Tip: I bet the rooms at the front are quieter on Tuesdays evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascocomico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marloth Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

As mentioned before its a business accomodation / conference hotel adjoining to the old manor house. Rooms are very small and designed for one person ( 1 stool, 1 pillow etc) The lady at the desk was very helpful and friendly, thanks again.
For the special price it was okay - as they say, you get what you pay for. I certainly would have been ripped off if paying the regular price (70 pds plus)

Can`t say much positiv about the food - hope it was just an off day for the chef. The fish and chips was greasy and underdone, the hamburgers very "mini" ant not much taste (maybe economic meat ????)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarentaal2862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.8 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Property: Lydiard House Conference Centre
Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing