We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. We were lucky enough to be in the bridal suite, so had an enormous and very comfortable bed, in a large and nicely decorated bedroom. The bathroom was very clean and spacious, although it could do with some redecoration. Some noise from the disco in the function room downstairs, but it didn't stop us from going to sleep! The pool was beautiful, clean, warm, and the gardens and parkland absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfrenc8106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Don't be fooled by the stately home image on the website. The grounds and main house are lovely but the rooms in this hotel are tired, tatty and simply dirty. My bed had a "decorative" cushion with what looked like vomit on it, and the duvet cover was stained with (i hope!) tea. My bathroom was mouldy, with cracked tiles and mirrors and tatty paper notices blu-tacked to the wall advising guests to use the shower curtain, which was also mouldy. Breakfast tables were also dirty and the staff generally disinterested. As a minor point, the bar menu is pretty limited. My colleague was so disgusted by his room he refused to stay in it and checked out the same evening. It might be cheap but it was really nasty. Never staying here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KXW701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were welcomed by Lynda at reception who was very friendly and very helpful in meeting our needs and consistently so throughout our stay . My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights with breakfast, whilst I was on a buisness course. The centre met our requirements perfectly. The grounds... are something else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James26H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our Wedding:
Perfectly organised, excellent staff, meals for guests and a large buffet prepared just perfectly and guest rooms all nice. The family stayed the entire weekend, and us, the bridge & groom stayed in the honeymoon suite Saturday. The function rooms, bedrooms, facilities top notch.
For a weekend get away, a party, business conference, I say this hotel / property covers your needs!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is an excellent suite, if not, please do note, the double bed rooms (bed) is 4ft wid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibrown1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at lydiard house for two night for a family wedding. What a beautiful place! Grounds are stunning and there's beautiful walks to enjoy.
The hotel was clean and everyone was really helpful but there are a couple of issues which need addressing. I manage holiday let's and think comfort is one of the most important things. The beds are far too small for couples!!! My father had to resort to sleeping on the floor as did many others as its such a tight squeeze. Ur only provided with one pillow each and there's no air conditioning. It's very hot and muggy in the rooms.
It's also very under staffed...the poor girl behind the bar was left to serve all quests on her own while the receptionist sat behind a desk trying to look pretty! Not once did anyone come to help her...they had to be told!
The second day was better...more staff and all were polite and helpful!
The food is amazing....can not fault it at all! It's not as bad as what some have said but the beds do need upgrading.
We enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Ask for a big bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckxy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Beware!

I booked a double room via booking.com. Only after booking did it mention the bed was smaller than normal and that the booking was non-refundable. We arrived to find the bed was only 4ft wide. I told the receptionist the bed was too small as my wife has recently had a hip replacement and it would not be safe for us to be so squeezed up. She told me they called it a 3/4 double and it was all they had.

I spent a most uncomfortable night trying to sleep on a quilt on the floor. Not a good experience. A pity because the room was large enough to take a proper double bed (I had plenty of room on the floor) which would have made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidL34350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Keep your expectations low and you will not be disappointed. The illusion of approaching a grand hotel is soon shattered by the shabby, tired and dirty exterior of the accommodation block when you reach it from the very impressive private driveway. A sign on the main door of the hotel saying "undergoing refurbishment" followed immediately by a cluster of buckets before you reach reception catching water from a leaking air con unit, is never a welcoming sight. However, once we managed to get someone's attention the staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 28 which was a reasonable size that you would expect from a budget motel type offering rather than a conference centre hotel. It was, though, clean and comfortable but very very tired and well overdue for refurbishment. One pleasantly surprising accessory in the room was a Bang & Olufsen desk phone. We have stayed in some high end premium hotels but can honestly say we have never had a B&O piece of equipment in a room, was tempted to put it in our holdall! The room was stiflingly hot, but it was one of the hottest nights of the year. No air con, which is ironic considering the air con units for the kitchens/conference facilities were below our window and kept one of us awake all night (earplugs are the future!). Even with the window, there was no air circulation and with one side of the bed against the wall, it was stuffy to say the least. Despite all of this, the room was perfectly adequate for us as we arrived at 10pm and left at 6am the next morning to head off to the Royal International Air Tattoo at Fairford. The hotel was reasonably well located for this, about 16 miles from Fairford, 20 minutes or so. At £75 room only this was poor value for money, although we did book 4 days before our stay which was a night before a huge event within the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Lisa_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#17 of 25 in Swindon
529 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#19 of 25 in Swindon
19 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £40 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfortunately, car parking charges do apply. The local council operates the car park for Lydiard, there is a small charge of £2 for 2 hours or £4 all day. Originally the former ancestral home of the Viscount Bolingbroke, Lydiard House is set in 260 acres of parkland with an ornamental lake, just minutes from the M4. Easily accessible from junction 16 off the M4 motorway, this outstanding rural location provides such a peaceful setting, yet the motorway, town centre and Swindon train station are only ten minutes by car. All 37 bedrooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer, as well as free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Whether you are looking for a room for the night, a relaxing setting for your meeting, conference or training course, or a unique location for a wedding, you can be assured of a warm welcome and friendly service at the Lydiard House Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing