We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very helpful and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel as a couple but had to take a Toddler with us. The hotel was fine with it, as long we could provide the own travel bed for the Toddler. They gave us firstly room number 22 on the first floor. But my thoughts were that's easier for us staying on ground floor. We asked for a change and they were brilliant. Got no 9. The rooms are ok, but it was just cold, because the heating was not working and the window didn't shuts completely. A night in a jumper.........
Breakfast was good, the scrambled eggs for the Toddler a bit salty but after telling the waitress we got really nice tasty scrambled eggs.
This hotel was hard to find with the postcode they provide. That takes you exactly on the opposite gate entrance of the hotel. You have to go all round to reach the hotel.
It is very peaceful and quiet and very pleasantry.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenbri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    63
    67
    39
    38
See reviews for
37
90
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked the weekend through Groupon at a ridiculously cheap price and seeing the reviews didn't think it would be up to much but a good break away - but what a fantastic weekend we had!! We got there early on the Saturday to enjoy afternoon tea and a look around the 17th century house and walled gardens (and had a very interesting conversation with the gardener). The Park is lovely and we went for a nice walk around the lake and church.
We had the Honeymoon suite so were perhaps in the best room which was still a little dated and tired but clean and roomy and we've stayed in much worse....
The evening was great fun and lots of people dressed in character for the nights entertainment. The Company presenting the Murder Mystery - Big Monty Productions- were professional and managed the guests well - we all had so much fun!!!
The set menu provided three choices of main course and the usual starter/ dessert selection - simple but cooked well and presented nicely. All the staff were lovely and we had a brilliant selection of help yourself buffet for breakfast. Whilst this was very much a bargain, and they really couldn't have been making much money on the deal, we received excellent service and were made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend this weekend break to anyone wanting a good fun weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Applemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Following some confusion with my booking (regarding the breakfast, which was sorted promptly by the venue) I had seen some mixed reviews of this accommodation on various booking sites and wasn't sure what to expect. On arrival the first thing you notice is the beautiful grounds and woodland surrounding the conference centre (simply stunning!). Check in staff were welcoming and polite, a sign on the door also informed me a wedding was on that day. I stayed in Room 1 right next to the reception which was basic but clean and acceptable for the price I paid, £35 a night. Disco went on till 1am, which was very loud right next to my room. TV was a little small in the room, and the blinds were broken which let light in during the night, but overall for the price a decent room. I think this accommodation needs improvement but for the price you will get a nice room, ok breakfast and use of a pool and sauna!! In this day and age that is rare, so feel the poor reviews are really not justified if you intend on booking a cheap stay anyway!

Room Tip: Beds are small so be prepared for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. We were lucky enough to be in the bridal suite, so had an enormous and very comfortable bed, in a large and nicely decorated bedroom. The bathroom was very clean and spacious, although it could do with some redecoration. Some noise from the disco in the function room downstairs, but it didn't stop us from going to sleep! The pool was beautiful, clean, warm, and the gardens and parkland absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfrenc8106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Don't be fooled by the stately home image on the website. The grounds and main house are lovely but the rooms in this hotel are tired, tatty and simply dirty. My bed had a "decorative" cushion with what looked like vomit on it, and the duvet cover was stained with (i hope!) tea. My bathroom was mouldy, with cracked tiles and mirrors and tatty paper notices blu-tacked to the wall advising guests to use the shower curtain, which was also mouldy. Breakfast tables were also dirty and the staff generally disinterested. As a minor point, the bar menu is pretty limited. My colleague was so disgusted by his room he refused to stay in it and checked out the same evening. It might be cheap but it was really nasty. Never staying here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KXW701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were welcomed by Lynda at reception who was very friendly and very helpful in meeting our needs and consistently so throughout our stay . My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights with breakfast, whilst I was on a buisness course. The centre met our requirements perfectly. The grounds... are something else!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James26H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our Wedding:
Perfectly organised, excellent staff, meals for guests and a large buffet prepared just perfectly and guest rooms all nice. The family stayed the entire weekend, and us, the bridge & groom stayed in the honeymoon suite Saturday. The function rooms, bedrooms, facilities top notch.
For a weekend get away, a party, business conference, I say this hotel / property covers your needs!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is an excellent suite, if not, please do note, the double bed rooms (bed) is 4ft wid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibrown1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.8 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Property: Lydiard House Conference Centre
Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing