We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I'm not going to stay here again. This was the second time I have stayed and although I'd read some bad reviews on here, I thought I'd give it a go. The first time I stayed was OK. But last night was one of the worst nights I've ever had in a hotel.

Basically, the radiator in the room wasn't working correctly. When I told the receptionist about this, all she said was, give it some time and turn it up to 5. She also asked me if there was a wire hanging down between the thermostat and the radiator! Never been so cold in my life, despite having an extra blanket on over the very thin duvet. Due to the temperature in the room, the towels hadn't dried after I had a shower last night, so after my shower this morning, I got to dry myself with wet towels - brilliant!

My advice - pay a bit more and stay somewhere where you can't see icicles on the end of your nose!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186338James186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Beds tiny and very very uncomfy and the shower didn't seam to have a warm setting just ice cold or boiling hot.
Breakfast - no where clean to sit and had to move to let other guests to the buffet

My recommendation - don't pay full price and go early to breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very moving gathering Friday 6th December and although raining decided to do the Gardens House a bite of lunch, etc. Lydiard House is fabulous and full of History, also kids friendly and worth a visit, nice to have such helpful cheerful staff well done great day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here with my 13 year old daughter as we fancied a bit of shopping at the outlet centre. The conference centre itself is pretty ugly. The house is beautiful and you can walk freely in the the grounds which are beautiful this time of year. The church is pretty special too.
The receptionist-Sheila, was fabulous. She advised me that the beds were small -4ft-and immediately upgraded us to a full sized double. The bed was great but the room was tiny. The bed was pushed against the wall so when my daughter got up in the night she ended up trampling on me!
I agree with a lot of the reviews on here, the place is ageing and could do with some tlc. However, it is spotlessly clean. The pool is great, we had it to ourselves for the afternoon and the food is very good although the menu is quite limited. The barman was very attentive and couldn't do enough for us.
The woman in the café opposite was a bit surly and the café only has a 3 rating for food but we ordered a couple of toasties and they were good enough.
All in all it really is a beautiful setting, perfect for the various shopping centres in the area and we would definitely book again. We would take extra pillows though!!!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a proper double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business just for one night only paid £49 not including breakfast, yes the bed was 3/4 double but we knew this when we booked. Reception we're very helpful and the bar man was very polite and helpful too. We did pay for breakfast in the morning and was standard full English. Overall cheap and clean would stay here again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank mickey035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked the hotel as a couple but had to take a Toddler with us. The hotel was fine with it, as long we could provide the own travel bed for the Toddler. They gave us firstly room number 22 on the first floor. But my thoughts were that's easier for us staying on ground floor. We asked for a change and they were brilliant. Got no 9. The rooms are ok, but it was just cold, because the heating was not working and the window didn't shuts completely. A night in a jumper.........
Breakfast was good, the scrambled eggs for the Toddler a bit salty but after telling the waitress we got really nice tasty scrambled eggs.
This hotel was hard to find with the postcode they provide. That takes you exactly on the opposite gate entrance of the hotel. You have to go all round to reach the hotel.
It is very peaceful and quiet and very pleasantry.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jenbri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked the weekend through Groupon at a ridiculously cheap price and seeing the reviews didn't think it would be up to much but a good break away - but what a fantastic weekend we had!! We got there early on the Saturday to enjoy afternoon tea and a look around the 17th century house and walled gardens (and had a very interesting conversation with the gardener). The Park is lovely and we went for a nice walk around the lake and church.
We had the Honeymoon suite so were perhaps in the best room which was still a little dated and tired but clean and roomy and we've stayed in much worse....
The evening was great fun and lots of people dressed in character for the nights entertainment. The Company presenting the Murder Mystery - Big Monty Productions- were professional and managed the guests well - we all had so much fun!!!
The set menu provided three choices of main course and the usual starter/ dessert selection - simple but cooked well and presented nicely. All the staff were lovely and we had a brilliant selection of help yourself buffet for breakfast. Whilst this was very much a bargain, and they really couldn't have been making much money on the deal, we received excellent service and were made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend this weekend break to anyone wanting a good fun weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Applemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#18 of 25 in Swindon
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,166 reviews
3.0 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#19 of 25 in Swindon
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.5 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
4.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £39 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfortunately, car parking charges do apply. The local council operates the car park for Lydiard, there is a small charge of £2 for 2 hours or £4 all day. Originally the former ancestral home of the Viscount Bolingbroke, Lydiard House is set in 260 acres of parkland with an ornamental lake, just minutes from the M4. Easily accessible from junction 16 off the M4 motorway, this outstanding rural location provides such a peaceful setting, yet the motorway, town centre and Swindon train station are only ten minutes by car. All 37 bedrooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer, as well as free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Whether you are looking for a room for the night, a relaxing setting for your meeting, conference or training course, or a unique location for a wedding, you can be assured of a warm welcome and friendly service at the Lydiard House Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing