We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked a room via late rooms for £35. For the money it was fine. Clean, quiet and warm. The furniture was a bit dated but that is a minor quibble. Staff friendly and helpful. Car park close to reception. It is functional. Don't expect luxury accommodation and you won't be disappointed. Don't be fooled by the photo though. The actual conference centre is a 1970's block.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    66
    71
    41
    41
See reviews for
38
96
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Sandra on reception wAs very helpful and attentive, when we requested a room change to look over at the church rather than the cafe.
Stayed for a murder mystery event which was fabulous. Great meal and the bar not over priced.

I agree the beds really are two small for two. But was well presented.

Breakfast was lovely, although I am not a fan of queuing at the toaster; would be better arranged by staff.

I must add we had a great time but breakfast was two long tables to share with everyone. Romantic? Defiantly not. And near the end of service guests were struggling to pick out the vacant seats.
Pool seemed chilly and the sauna was not turned on :(

Room Tip: If you are not scared of cemeteries ask for a room with a view of the church, much prettier that loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swind0nnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The setting is beautiful and the centre is ideal for conferences. Even though it is made clear when booking that the bed is only a small double it was a shock to see how small a 4ft bed is. Two people cannot comfortably sleep in such a small bed and it is unfair to expect them too. Put in larger beds and I would book again as the rooms are clean, in fairly good decorative order and the breakfast was excellent. The sleepless night spoilt the experience unfortunately and you will continue to get reviews like this until you sought out the bed situation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent value and highly recommended for single room occupancy only. Our double bed was too small for 2 people. Pool very inviting but didn't use. Staff very attentive. Very good breakfast and lovely grounds

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Let's start with positive, stayed one night bed and breakfast, and the breakfast was lovely fresh and hot. The bedroom was very basic small bed uncomfortable one of the worse nights sleep for a while, bathroom not fabulous, Would I stay again? No

Room Tip: All rooms are on the smaller sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyvickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I paid £41 bed & breakfast on a Tuesday night which was way below any of the nearest hotels. I read the reviews on here so wasn't expecting the world, all I needed was a warm bed, desk, Wi-Fi and free car parking. All of this I got! I'll agree with others that their website is a bit misleading, you are not staying in the country house, its a 3 story grey box around the back. But it doesn't take a genius to work out you wouldn't be in a country house for around the £50 mark.

Check in was quick, friendly and told me all I needed to know. I had room 29, top floor, halfway down the corridor. The room has everything you need, good desk space, TV with full digital channels, well appointed bathroom and a reasonable amount of space. The bathroom was well appointed, a little rough around the edges, some grouting issues but again, for the price, I wasn't complaining. The only thing I was missing in the bedroom was a bedside table, a very tiny niggle. Wi-fi connection worked fine throughout my stay, wasn't especially quick but was adequate for my needs.

Breakfast was more worth the £6, not a huge selection but it was fine for me. Cooked breakfast was made to order, again this was fine. I quite enjoyed watching other guests having issues toasting their own bread, never fails to make me smile.

All staff I encountered were friendly and approachable. Swimming pool looked nice but I didn't use it. I wouldn't pay much more than £40-£50 and its certainly not somewhere you would go as a couple. For the business traveller this hotel is perfect. I would return if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton_SussexGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I'm not going to stay here again. This was the second time I have stayed and although I'd read some bad reviews on here, I thought I'd give it a go. The first time I stayed was OK. But last night was one of the worst nights I've ever had in a hotel.

Basically, the radiator in the room wasn't working correctly. When I told the receptionist about this, all she said was, give it some time and turn it up to 5. She also asked me if there was a wire hanging down between the thermostat and the radiator! Never been so cold in my life, despite having an extra blanket on over the very thin duvet. Due to the temperature in the room, the towels hadn't dried after I had a shower last night, so after my shower this morning, I got to dry myself with wet towels - brilliant!

My advice - pay a bit more and stay somewhere where you can't see icicles on the end of your nose!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338James186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.8 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Property: Lydiard House Conference Centre
Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing