We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Murder Mystery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Murder Mystery”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked a Murder Mystery short break via Groupon. Overall, it was very good.

The event is held in the Conference Centre, not Lydiard House (which is adjacent to the House). That is only relevant if you mistakenly think you will be staying in a Country House.

The Conference Centre would benefit from a paint but you get what you pay for - the rooms are £35/night B&B (per room, not per person) so it is excellent value. And it is rare that a B&B at that price has a swimming pool.

The House's grounds are beautiful.

The company performing the murder mystery - Big Monty Productions - was professional and superb. The actors are very much larger than life. There were no problems hearing what they were saying (very relevant in a murder mystery with a room full of guests).

Many guests dressed to match the theme of the Murder Mystery which adds to the atmosphere.

The three course meal was fine: starter (soup or pate) - good. Main course (chicken or salmon) - fine (not haute cuisine - more like a pub or inexpensive restaurant main course, but absolutely fine). Dessert (cheesecake or fresh fruit salad) - good.

The murder mystery started at 7.30 p.m. There was a significant gap between the starter and main course due to the acting, so bear in mind that you will not receive your main course for a while. I was grateful that I had eaten some fruit before the event.

It finished at shortly after 11 p.m. There was a disco until 1 a.m.

The atmosphere was superb. Overall - well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysinthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    68
    73
    45
    42
See reviews for
40
101
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight as part of a groupon for a murder mystery party. It was brilliant. Food was very good, particularly breakfast . Staff very friendly and helpful. We were luck and were given the bridal suite which had loads of room but be warned that the normal double bed size is only 4ft wide. We had a great weekend and will definitely return. Make sure to walk the beautiful park and visit the church.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We bought the murder mystery weekend package off groupon and have no complaints what so ever. After checking in we went for a swim in the lovely warm pool then a nice walk around the grounds.
We were told to meet at 7pm for the dinner and from start to end was amazing! The 3 course meal was lovely, staff were great and the actors were brilliant.
The room is basic but perfect for what we paid for and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely go back again for another event stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We paid £35 for bed and breakfast at this hotel. It was a last minute decision to stay at the hotel as we had originally planned to go home after the murder mystery dinner that we had booked on Groupon.

Our room was clean and comfortable. We had already been advised that all of the beds here are only 4' (small) doubles, but what we didn't expect was that they are against the wall, which does mean that if you need to get up during the night you will have to climb over your partner. We also expected two pillows each, although as we hadn't noticed this until very late we didn't ask for more and so can't comment on whether more would have been available.

The window only had a Roman style blind, which we found adequate at this time of year, but I am not sure how effective it would be at keeping out the light in the summer months.

The food served during the dinner was nice, but nothing to rave about, apart from the roast potatoes which were excellent.

Breakfast was excellent, especially for a hotel in this price range. Tea, coffee, fresh juices, fruit, pastries, bacon, sausages, beans, (tinned) mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, toast, fried eggs. The breakfast room is small and some guests were asked to wait in the reception area until a table became available, but this did mean that the food was constantly topped with fresh items and tables were cleared frequently. In all honesty I could not fault the breakfast and have rarely had better, even in some much more expensive, 'quality' hotels.

Staff were friendly and polite. But, the bar staff charged us different prices for the same drinks each time we went to the bar!

Others in our party used the pool and sauna and said that it was clean and functional.

All in all the hotel is a pleasant, cheap place to stay, within easy reach of Swindon and serves an excellent breakfast. I would stay here again for a function but only if I got the same room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from reception as possible to reduce disturbance from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke_family_x_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having only used it as somewhere to sleep I can't comment on the food or other facilities, the rooms are functional and on the small size but clean. It's on the outskirts of town so location can be good or bad depending on your needs, but if only paying £35 per night it's a relatively good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2639_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My surprise party was organised for me by my wife and she was given immense help and guidance by Liz to get every thing just right.And it was just that!! A tremendously enjoyable Day.The service was good.The food was excellent,the tables were beautifully presented and even the chairs were dressed.Everything had been thought of down to every last little detail.I would and already have recommended this as an excellent venue for occasions such as mine. No one stayed the night so we can not comment on the rooms but I am sure some of the 'dissatisfied' comments by other conference customers were not entirely accurate!! Beds are perhaps usually only too small if the occupants are too big!! Value for money? I am not able to comment as this was another thing that was kept secret from me. My only criticism is that the buffet was removed rather too soon so that late comers had to request a plate of food to be be brought back or missed the buffet altogether.Otherwise an excellent day.I would certainly use Lydiard House for another occasion.Thanks to all the helpful,courteous and attentive staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked a room via late rooms for £35. For the money it was fine. Clean, quiet and warm. The furniture was a bit dated but that is a minor quibble. Staff friendly and helpful. Car park close to reception. It is functional. Don't expect luxury accommodation and you won't be disappointed. Don't be fooled by the photo though. The actual conference centre is a 1970's block.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#17 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
670 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.3 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 25 in Swindon
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Property: Lydiard House Conference Centre
Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing