We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot and small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

this hotel is set in a beautiful setting of lydiard park. we were staying for 2 nights in a heatwave! the rooms are very small and very very warm! there were no fans available, and there was little effort to find any for us either. the beds were 4ft although advertised as a double room, all rooms were exactly the same they said and therefore there wasn't an option for a twin room. we opted for one sleeping on the floor 1) becauase of the tiny bed and 2) the heat. on the second night we managed to get a campbed and we took the matress off that to sleep on.
the venue was clean and the pool looked lovely but we didn't have time to use it. breakfst on day one was lovely and plenty to choose from the buffet they had. on day 2 we had to order from the staff (i assume because they weren't so busy). this wasn't as good as the day before, cold toast, toast not cooked, small breakfast and generally we felt we were being a nuisance.
the place is clearly more of a conference centre with rooms suitable for single occupants. bear this in mind if you book it. it was cheap and we booked through booking.com. perfect location for the christening we had in swindon that weekend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L, Sales & Events Co-Ordinator at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We advertise on all sites that the rooms have small double beds. The weather over the past few weeks has been execptionally warm, we would always try to provide fans when requested.
Our guests comfort is extremely important to us and we are continually trying to improve our service.
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Small rooms with small beds, but the setting was fantastic as it is set in a great park - but beware of booking over weekends as the park gets extremely busy as it is all open to the public.

Rooms are tired, but free Wi-Fi helps a little.

No lifts either so if you have heavy luggage or don't like stairs request a ground floor room.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room as there is no lift and staircase is narrow if you have luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrs_G-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very poor considering they lead on to the beautiful lydiard house! Beds we're very uncomfortable and rooms are cold. Wouldn't stay again! Shame as lydiard is lovely and worth a visit. The rooms are very poor considering they lead on to the beautiful lydiard house! Beds we're very uncomfortable and rooms are cold. Wouldn't stay again! Shame as lydiard is lovely and worth a visit

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have stayed at Lydiard conference centre on two occasions now. Once a few years back when my Sister had her wedding there - amazing wedding! And most recently for just a night whilst visiting family.
The staff are friendly and welcoming at check in. The bar is average and reasonable cost wise for drinks. The selling point for this is location. Beautiful countryside and Lydiard House is stunning to look at. The parks are just beautiful. Husband and I enjoyed a late evening stroll and an after breakfast stroll too.
The rooms are basic and really need upgrading to be honest. The bed was smaller than the average sized double and the mattress was really hard and uncomfortable.
Bathroom is average and would be best with a walk in shower than the tiny Bath.
The breakfast was nice and once again the staff serving it were really nice chatty and friendly. The price of the overnight stay was reasonable too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Swindon is not the nicest place in the world, but having to stay nearby I found this hotel, on it's own grounds on the very fringe of the city. While the hotel building itself is ugly, the surrounding land is tranquil and pleasant.
Rooms and bathrooms are quite compact, but satisfactory for a single night. The TV is on the tiny side!
The restaurant/bar area is basically the lobby, and not enticing. I dined elsewhere. Breakfast was adequate if slightly chaotic.

I wouldn't return, but that said, if you get the best room rate it does represent decent value for a short stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 which is on the ground floor overlooking the outside drinking/smoking area which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The rooms are small and so is the double bed that is up against the wall. It's not so much that the room is unclean it's that it's not maintained very well. There are stains on the carpet, and the chair at the desk was gross. The hall had a mouldy smell. When we went to make a cup of tea the tea pot hadn't been cleaned out. The fan in the bathroom had toilet paper squeezed in along the bottom edge. I didn't want to find out why. If you must stay here make sure you have an even numbered room, as it faces the back as it's much quieter.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MaxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I found this an excellent place to stop for business - room had everything necessary - really appreciated the large desk, bright desk light and free wifi. Breakfast as good as anything I've had in hotels twice this price - great selection of fruit, together with haddock, kippers, porridge etc to go alongside the eggs and bacon staples.
Pool is a very welcome bonus
Yes, the bed is a standard double and against a wall - but there was only one of me. The extractor fan in the bathroom is noisy but stops as soon as the light is switched off.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room with a view of the old church (even number) - which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weary_Willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
3 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#17 of 25 in Swindon
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 25 in Swindon
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,072 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £40 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lydiard House Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfortunately, car parking charges do apply. The local council operates the car park for Lydiard, there is a small charge of £2 for 2 hours or £4 all day. Originally the former ancestral home of the Viscount Bolingbroke, Lydiard House is set in 260 acres of parkland with an ornamental lake, just minutes from the M4. Easily accessible from junction 16 off the M4 motorway, this outstanding rural location provides such a peaceful setting, yet the motorway, town centre and Swindon train station are only ten minutes by car. All 37 bedrooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer, as well as free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Whether you are looking for a room for the night, a relaxing setting for your meeting, conference or training course, or a unique location for a wedding, you can be assured of a warm welcome and friendly service at the Lydiard House Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon
Lydiard House Conference Centre Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing