We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Church Farm Guest House
Ranked #9 of 26 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem of a place highly recommend”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year when visiting Shrewsbury show - loved it.
Very welcoming , lovely and peaceful relaxing room.
Breakfast very good - plenty of choice.
We had booked the evening meal - superb and compliments to the chef. Not had as good a meal in many a restaurant ......well done.
Basil the dog - made us very welcome .
Will return again and have been recommending to friends and family.
Exceptional value for money for the stay and meal. Do not eat anywhere else .

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luckyj515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    13
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
49
73
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Came across church farm purely by luck. Had a lovely stay here, clean, welcoming and amazing breakfast. there are no bad points about this place. You certainly would not find a better place to stay. 5 stars.

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dannycoates1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

usually we stay in "larger" hotels....but came across Church farm by accident....and we were all so glad we did!!!
Extremely genuinely friendly welcome from Mel & Martin but Basil the dog is the star of the show.
The rooms are clean and comfy.....but the food is simply world class....i have eaten in top class establishments all over the world and honestly this place is right up there for quality.
Breakfast is also fantastic!
Would 100% recommend this for business, couples, family & friends....but make sure you get a chance to sample dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Perfect; just perfect. Food was wonderful and the welcome was even better. I wasn't in the mood for company as I'd driven from Edinburgh and I was really fortunate that at least one of the available rooms was pet friendly and moreover didn't want to leave hunter the border terrier alone as he can have separation issues! The room was spotlessly clean and the shower was powerful and therefore great. The house was incredible. The history and character of the building is staggeringly apparent. From the 1940s (sic) scratched names in one corner of the glass window panels to the 200 year old beams in the dining room everywhere you look there is something to pique your imagination. Breakfast was great also and the bonhomie was pitched spot on.

Couldn't recommend it any higher. If you want two meals for a tenner and a fruit machine for entertainment then this isn't for you.

Food was really really good btw

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macparland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The reviews we read on Tripadvisor had lead us to Church Farm we had high expectations and we were not disappointed!
We were warmly welcomed by all including Basil and daughter of the house.We were shown to our lovely comfortable bedroom on a cold wet and windy night after a long journey.
We had requested supper and the food was exceptionally good.This man knows his stuff.The dining room was welcoming with a log fire in the grate.
We slept well.the room was immaculately clean.
Breakfast was again in the dining room, the fire had been lit and there was a huge choice, I opted for eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and husband, the full English.
.Mel suggested some walks nearby however we decided to walk The Wrekin and this proved to be a good decision as it was well drained It has been raining for 6 weeks!The views from the top are awesome.
Thequality of food was outstanding and attention to detail second to none.
We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johngreenlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just 15 minutes drive from Thetford, even in dreary rain-beaten February, Church Farm proved warm, friendly, welcoming and a haven to the harsh exterior elements. The dining room boasted seasoned logs burning in an inglenook fireplace the size of Alaska and the food did not disappoint either - in fact, what a surprise! I could only compare the delights served both in the morning and evening as delicious, creative and very filling. Had I not known that it was all down to Mel and Martin - yes they both can cook - really cook, I would have guessed they were employing Raymond Blanc.
The house is spacious and my room had a quirky low window and ceiling beam that made me feel as if I was Alice in Wonderland. As I stepped out onto the landing I would often encounter Basil. Basil the family dog fitted in perfectly as he roamed around the home in complete confidence and placed his head wherever he desired, his favourite spot being in the dining room during meals of course!
My bathroom was spotlessly clean with plenty of snow white towels and steaming hot water for baths and showers. I was even provided with a dressing gown to match which came in very handy.
If you want to experience a wonderful family home, with 2 young girls, a dog and hosts who know what excellent service is all about, then you will not go far wrong in visiting this village Guest House located just far enough to be country and yet near enough to be town, ideal for any business trip at an affordable price.
I will be recommending Church Farm to all my friends....come to think of it, even my enemies (if I had any!)
Irena Stubbings

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Irushka777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelBoard, Owner at Church Farm Guest House, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much Irena for your great review... We are still nowhere near Thetford though!
Hope to see you again soon... Lol Mel x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Recommended to try the church farm B&B and basil restaurant by a local business owner- sag at spiceland and this experience was fantastic.
Personal Thankyou to Mel and Martin who certainly know a warm welcome and are fantastic hosts. An absolute must if you're wanting tranquility and pure countryside relaxation.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Stanage
The Stanage
#2 of 26 in Telford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.7 mi away
Furnace House
Furnace House
#17 of 26 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Guest House

Property: Church Farm Guest House
Address: Wrockwardine Village, Telford TF6 5DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse providing 4 star luxury accommodation & award winning food. Ideal for Ironbridge, Much Wenlock & Wroxeter Roman City – a true hidden Shropshire Gem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Church Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Guest House Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing