We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely village setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Church Farm Guest House
Ranked #9 of 29 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely village setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can't fault this really lovely family run guest house, we were given a very warm welcome from Mel and her daughters Sophie and Megan and especially from Basil the dog. The house was very comfortable, clean and nothing was too much trouble. On our arrival we were given a much welcomed cup of tea and cake. Even our two dogs were given a treat. Wonderful choices for breakfast. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    12
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
49
72
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here whilst I was working in Telford and it is only a 10-15 minute drive away from the centre but you are really out in the countryside. The guest house is a lovely old building which is clean and fresh and run by a lovely couple. The breakfast is quite possibly one of the best cooked breakfasts I've had at a hotel as it is all cooked from fresh to your liking. And you get a choice of hen or duck eggs :) Mel runs the place and she is very warm, welcoming and was very accommodating. Thanks Mel! I will be back sometime with my wife and littlun! Cheers, Matt

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Seven of us stayed overnight and were looked after so well. Even 3 of us being given a lift to the local pub (Thanks Mel), and due to someone cancelling very last minute, one of our group got given the extra room.

We were at a late party & were not the quietest on our return but again we were treated fantastic.

Breakfast, which we were allowed to have late was fresh and tasty. I like a few coffees in the morning & had it on tap.

Basil the dog & the children were all so welcoming & friendly it was better than being at home.

Our room was large and had everything we required. Our private bathroom was not ensuite but was close & again clean and well kept.

The house is set in a really peacefull part of the village and a good nights sleep was guaranteed.

Overall, one of the friendliest and welcoming places I have stayed in a long time. Thank you all for a great stay and hope to see you again sometime

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year when visiting Shrewsbury show - loved it.
Very welcoming , lovely and peaceful relaxing room.
Breakfast very good - plenty of choice.
We had booked the evening meal - superb and compliments to the chef. Not had as good a meal in many a restaurant ......well done.
Basil the dog - made us very welcome .
Will return again and have been recommending to friends and family.
Exceptional value for money for the stay and meal. Do not eat anywhere else .

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luckyj515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Came across church farm purely by luck. Had a lovely stay here, clean, welcoming and amazing breakfast. there are no bad points about this place. You certainly would not find a better place to stay. 5 stars.

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dannycoates1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

usually we stay in "larger" hotels....but came across Church farm by accident....and we were all so glad we did!!!
Extremely genuinely friendly welcome from Mel & Martin but Basil the dog is the star of the show.
The rooms are clean and comfy.....but the food is simply world class....i have eaten in top class establishments all over the world and honestly this place is right up there for quality.
Breakfast is also fantastic!
Would 100% recommend this for business, couples, family & friends....but make sure you get a chance to sample dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Perfect; just perfect. Food was wonderful and the welcome was even better. I wasn't in the mood for company as I'd driven from Edinburgh and I was really fortunate that at least one of the available rooms was pet friendly and moreover didn't want to leave hunter the border terrier alone as he can have separation issues! The room was spotlessly clean and the shower was powerful and therefore great. The house was incredible. The history and character of the building is staggeringly apparent. From the 1940s (sic) scratched names in one corner of the glass window panels to the 200 year old beams in the dining room everywhere you look there is something to pique your imagination. Breakfast was great also and the bonhomie was pitched spot on.

Couldn't recommend it any higher. If you want two meals for a tenner and a fruit machine for entertainment then this isn't for you.

Food was really really good btw

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macparland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Stanage
The Stanage
#2 of 29 in Telford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.7 mi away
Furnace House
Furnace House
#17 of 29 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Guest House

Property: Church Farm Guest House
Address: Wrockwardine Village, Telford TF6 5DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse providing 4 star luxury accommodation & award winning food. Ideal for Ironbridge, Much Wenlock & Wroxeter Roman City – a true hidden Shropshire Gem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Church Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Guest House Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing