We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break in lovely home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Farm Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Church Farm Guest House
Ranked #9 of 29 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing break in lovely home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just returned from a two night break at this great guest house. Mel was extreamly welcoming and very helpful in providing tips and advice concerning the local area. Our ten year old daughter was also very taken with Basil the staffy and Alan the rabbit . Breakfast was delicious as was the food at Basils resteraunt. Would not hesitate in recommending booking here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMMorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
49
72
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Lovely old farmhouse setting. Superb breakfast. Check in is quite late (4 PM) and I hadn't read the booking carefully enough so showed up early but it all got sorted out in the end. Had a nice big family room with some beautiful furniture and en suite bathroom.

Room Tip: Nice family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrived about 3.40pm and although check in isn't until 4pm the warm and friendly welcome we expected was amiss. Clearly they weren't ready for us as they still had to hoover.. yes the bed had been made but our firs tmpressions were so disappointing as the website didn't portray the true picture. The house is set in beautiful surroundings but the entrance was so untidy, as was the lounge and the hall. The carpets were very worn and grubby and the smell wasn't great. I felt really let down and disapoointed. After being shown to our room, we pondered as to whether we really felt we could stay... sadly not ! We moved on and found a full service hotel not to far away and much cheaper. I question could they really have been prepared if we'd arrived 20 minutes later ?? Not really confident on that one.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
199 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My mother turned 80 this week so she booked 4 rooms for our family at Church Farm. Mel and her family made us feel so welcome, it felt a bit like staying with them as friends. We were offered a coffee on arrival which was very much appreciated. The rooms are cosy but comfortable in an eighteenth century building. The bathrooms are not massive but more than adequate. Breakfasts were tasty and fresh and the grounds were pleasant. We ate at the Houghmond which is owned by the same people who run the B&B. We would recommend that too. Mel went beyond the call of duty when she gave some of us a lift back when our taxi didn't turn up. My nephews loved the bunnies and guinea pigs in the garden and checking to see what eggs the chickens had laid in the morning. We all enjoyed playing with Basil, the wonderful family dog who has quite a personality. If you want a homely place to stay that is good value, then this would be a good place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a very nice overnight stay here. The room was comfortable and well furnished. Bathroom was a little cramped and dated, but perfectly functional, and complimentary shampoos etc provided. Tea, coffee and nice biscuits provided in room, and fresh pot of tea provided by Mel soon after we arrived. Very comfortable sitting room available for guests and grounds were very nice. My wife especially liked her cuddle with Basil.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_eyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Thank you Mel for your warm welcome and to Basil for showing us the way in!!
My friend and I had a very comfortable stop over for 1 night on our way to The Lake District.
Mel took us to and back to their new restaurant. Clare and I had a tasty evening meal and Mel and her husband have renovated this pub beautifully.
Lovely breakfast was served in a nice dining room.
I wish you both well with your new restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeancollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can't fault this really lovely family run guest house, we were given a very warm welcome from Mel and her daughters Sophie and Megan and especially from Basil the dog. The house was very comfortable, clean and nothing was too much trouble. On our arrival we were given a much welcomed cup of tea and cake. Even our two dogs were given a treat. Wonderful choices for breakfast. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
2.7 mi away
The Stanage
The Stanage
#2 of 29 in Telford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Guest House

Property: Church Farm Guest House
Address: Wrockwardine Village, Telford TF6 5DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse providing 4 star luxury accommodation & award winning food. Ideal for Ironbridge, Much Wenlock & Wroxeter Roman City – a true hidden Shropshire Gem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Church Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Guest House Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing