We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”
Review of Furnace House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Furnace House
Ranked #17 of 26 Telford B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here just for one night whilst away for the weekend to Ironbridge. The b&b is situated in a housing estate which we wasnt expecting, but the road was quiet, there was off road parking and the house was lovely.
We were greeted by Jason who made us feel right at home, the room was ground floor with an en suite, unfortunatly the only downside for me personally was the bed was too soft (I suffer with a bad back which had been very bad begore we got the house).
The breakfast was lovely and cooked by Jasons sister who was extremley helpful and a very good cook, we left very full!!
This place is a little gem, excellent value for money and nothing is too much trouble, had the bed been a little harder then we would most definatly have stayed the full weekend as intended.
The b&b is well situated and it takes at most 15mins to get to many of the attractions in Ironbridge, I can also highly recommend The Fox restaurant which is about a 10min drive and serves amazing food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
13
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laxfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I was travelling to Telford on business and booked Furnace House as I didn't want to travel up and down from Kent in the same day. I checked the place out on the web and although it is in the heart of a housing estate it had good reviews and google earth showed it to have a parking area at the rear. I use a motorcycle and I like to park off the road.
I arrived at around 6pm and parked at the rear of the building and then walked around to the reception to find it locked and deserted. However after a few minutes wait a young lady who was staying at Furnace House and let me in. She showed me where my key had been left and where my room was. She gave me a phone number for Jason the owner so I could text him that I had arrived and arrange a time for breakfast.
Initially I was a little put out by this but Jason did phone me and explained as he did not know my arrival time he had left the key out for me. With hindsight had I phoned him earlier he would have left the key for me in key safe he keeps outside the main reception door.
The room was a single with a 3' bed, flat screen TV and reasonably new bedroom furniture. I wouldn't want to spend more than a night or two in it due to its size but it was fine for a night. It was equipped with a sink and although no on suite it did have its own private bath room a few doors away.
The bed was extremely comfortable and road noise as this room was at the front of the building was minimal. The room had not long been decorated but unfortunately it looked as if it had suffered a leak through the ceiling that had not been repainted. Also the kettle leaked. This was changed when I mentioned it in the morning.
The private bathroom had a corner bath with a shower and was sizeable. It was let down by having no other means of heating other than the radiator which was off. Normally in mid may it would have been enough but it was a rather cold evening.
After an excellent nights sleep I joined other guests for breakfast at 8.30am. I only had cornflakes and tea but the breakfast on offer was a substantial cooked breakfast if required with toast etc. I met Jason who was very pleasant and good company to talk with.
When you bear in mind that this room only cost £40 for the night it is great value. Had the small problems I have mentioned not been present for the value that this represented I would have awarded it 5 stars.

Room Tip: The double rooms are obviously bigger and would be better if staying for more that a night or two. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable, the manager was very helpful, breakfast well worth the extra. We only stayed one night as just passing through but would be happy to stay again if in the area. It is close enough to all attractions if you have a car. The manager will explain where to eat locally. The wifi is free and of a good speed. There is a large flat screen TV in the room. This hotel is not the Ritz but it is clean and very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc16-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed with Jay in November last year for our son's wedding. Although small the rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Jay couldn't be more helpful and the breakfasts were lovely. Our daughter, son in law and 2 small grandchildren had the family room, but they were not charged for the children. We were able to eat a take away in the dining room one evening. Although situated in a housing estate, do not let this put you off. Furnace House was perfect for a 2 night stop over and ideally situated for hair/nails/make-up early Saturday morning in nearby Telford in prearation for the wedding at Weston Park. Thanks Jay.

Room Tip: Take your pick - this is not a plush luxury hotel, it's a clean, serviceable, value for money, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I found everything that I look for in a B&B
Great Staff and Service
Clean Room and had a Great Nights Sleep
Well cooked and Tasty Breakfast.

If you are in Telford then book Furnace House

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBradley575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Very warm welcome from the owner and efficient and friendly service throughout. The ground floor room was fine(very comfortable bed) but the en-suite was cramped. Also, noise was transmitted from the entrance and adjacent dining area because it had laminate flooring. Parking facilities were very good, quite important as the area had a little bit of a iffy feel about it. Breakfast was truly fantastic with both quality and quantity. Overall this B&B was functional and fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Quite, helpful and we where well looked after.

Breakfast was perfect.

Recommended

Adrian

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.1 mi away
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wellington
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
3.0 mi away
International Hotel Telford
2.7 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#13 of 21 in Telford
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace House

Property: Furnace House
Address: 64 Furnace Lane, Telford TF2 7JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Furnace House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Furnace House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace House Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing