We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Telford Shawbirch(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
300
317
143
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
317
143
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolinternational centretwo double bedsair connice poolexhibition centreleisure facilitiestown parkleisure clubgood sizereception staffice rinkreal alestayed here for one nightplenty of choiceweekend breakrestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
618 - 623 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Due to work I have stayed here many times. The staff are the most friendly people you could meet. I do not like the 'sir stuff' but the staff are very attentive and treat you like family. I have friendly banter with them all. The chef cooks a great choice of meals and whether you are visiting for the 1st time or the 50th time you are treat the same. The rooms are being updated at the moment and are only improving what is a great standard already.

Room Tip: There is no real need to worry about the room but just be aware that if you have a lot of luggage there is no trolley to assist you.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireTeddybear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Yorkshire Teddybear

Thank you for your kind review ~ its lovely to get reviews from guests who have stayed with us many times, as well as those who are new to our hospitality!

Our staff love to make guests feel at home, but also like to retain a level of professionalism and we know this can be a delicate balance! Nevertheless, its good to read that you appreciate their efforts and this will be fed back to them.

I do apologise that you have had difficulty finding a luggage trolley, to you and any readers of your review, I would say that if ever you need help with your luggage, please never hesitate to ask, we are more than happy to help you out.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Telford is a town more known for a couple of reasons. For one, its a town that houses some of Britain's tax administration technology offices, and the other - is that it is almost at the birthplace of the industrial revolution where a landmark called Iron Bridge still stands as a testament to the earliest showcases of industrial excellence and innovation. That said, its more of a residential town, with little need of the hotel's we're used to. There are a handful to choose from when it comes to business and the Holiday Inn fares quite well. It has the right balance of hospitality and functionality. The construction is horizontal and the rooms are well spaced, clean and basic. The restaurants churn out good food, and service is timely. Most rooms do not have a minibar, and except for towels and the soap dispenser, the toilets are fairly bare of other niceties that could be thrown in. However, there is a small note that says that there are items that will be made available on request (ex.shaving and other personal care kits). Air conditioning units are fairly low tech and could be slightly noisy, but still - they're alright. The breakfast buffet offers a good spread of food that just about makes the value for money rating. There is a heated pool with a well maintained gym to keep you in shape should you want the exercise. The hotel is walking distance (20 mins) to the nearest mall and 2.5 miles to the central station.

Room Tip: Take the check-in coupons for breakfast. Internet access is extra on normal bookings. Room service/in-room dinning attracts an additional GBP3.50 per transaction.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomtraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Random Traveller

Many thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay in the area.

We are indeed just a few minutes’ drive from Ironbridge, the Birthplace of the Industrial Revolution and the 10 museums of Ironbridge Gorge offer a great opportunity to step back in time and see what it was like. We are also a great base for exploring Telford, Ironbridge and the wider Shropshire area. There are a number of other leisure attractions nearby such as RAF Cosford, Weston Park Stately Home, Wonderland and Telford Town Park.

Thank you for your positive comments about the pool - we are a popular base for business travellers and families – with the heated indoor pool being a firm favourite amongst our guests.

Thank you too for your comments on the restaurant food. We do change our menus in the restaurant, especially our daily specials menu, and our team take great pride in putting together choices to suit everyone.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

went to holiday inn telford after reading reviews was abit wondering if we had made the right choice the guy who said he would never go again,i dont know why they are updating rooms and the new rooms are fab the food was excellent,and the staff brilliant,the girls on the reception could not do enough for us,the lady at the pool was so lovely made sure everyone was ok,if you wanted something extra from the resturant they would try and accomadate you all in all excellent stay,this hotel will be even better when all refurbishment has been completed,the only thing i would coment on girls keep coming round with tea and coffee at breakfast thats what people want first thing on a morning a drink not you keep cleaning tables but we will go back again loads to do iron bridge has lots to do a big indoor shopping complex in telford

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Wydellsouthyorkshire

Many thanks for your review and it was good to read about your excellent weekend! All your comments have been passed on to the team. You're quite right that there is a lot to see and do around and about. Ironbridge is an amazing place to visit, or if you like a spot of retail therapy, the indoor shopping centre is only 10 minutes walk away from the hotel.

Hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Overall the Holiday Inn Telford is a pleasant hotel, and following the renovation (which I believe is limited to the hallways now) is more modern than most in the chain.

The real gem however is the restaurant, which is a very pleasant place to eat. The chef's specials change most nights and are infinitely better than the standard menu. While a little more expensive the dishes have a lot more care put into them and tend to be less greasy.

I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic weekend away (unless you're a gamer or model railway enthusiast, in which case you'll be hanging about the International Centre anyway) as it's quite isolated but perfect for business.

Room Tip: The ground floor will suffer more noise from the hotel bar and car parks but not by much - a very quiet hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewybiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear Chewy Biscuits

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Our chef and his brigade were particularly pleased to read what you had written. We do indeed have two menus in our restaurant, the one is a la carte with items at individual prices, and then we have our daily changing table d'hote menu where you can enjoy one course for £12.50, two courses for £16.95 or three courses for £19.50.

Our refurbishment programme aims to inconvenience guests as little as possible, we are currently upgrading some bedrooms and redecorating some corridors, but work only happens during the daytime and noise is minimal. It will look fabulous when its finished!

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

As a platinum priority points member, the Holiday Inn is my preferred hotel group. I spend considerable sums on rooms and conference venues.

We were shown to an Executive Room, which is part of the priority points promise to upgrade to platinum members.

The room was every worse nightmare. Wallpaper peeling from the walls, the wood veneer of furniture missing through wear and tear. A coffee stain in the bedside draw. The bathroom had discoloured grouting and there were gaps between the bath and its panel. The room smelt of stale smoke. The room was tired, outdated and should never have been described as an Executive Room.

I complained and was told that there were no other Executive Rooms available - I did not believe that as the hotel was far from full. We were then shown an ordinary room, which quite frankly was infinitely better than the so called Executive Suite. the room had been upgraded. I have stayed here before and recall that the upgrading was going on a good year ago. The room on that occasion was fine.

While I did not pay for an Executive Room, I still feel that the hotel let me down.

Anyone staying here should insist on a refurbished room. Otherwise book elsewhere. Earlier that week the hotel was full. I stayed at the Buck Tree Hall Hotel nearby, for just £42 - their rooms, although small, were furnished to a very high standard. I wish I had gone back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is in the 21st century!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

We were very sorry to read that this guest had felt let down by our service and have responded directly to apologise for this.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment of its 152 rooms and is a rolling process which we are continuing with as quickly as possible without inconveniencing guests.

We do value the loyalty of our Priority Club guests, and wherever possible we try to upgrade our Platinum members, but this is on a "subject to availability" basis and therefore sometimes Executive rooms will have already been fully occupied.

We do hope that this guest will give us the opportunity to restore their faith in us.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews