We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Enjoyed a lovely Sunday-Tuesday break here. Very friendly, helpful staff and well appointed room. Fantastic surrounding countryside to explore both on foot and by car. We were just going to do bed and breakfast, but after a full day in the great outdoors, we happily collapsed into the bar and enjoyed a tasty bar meal - breakfast was good too, waiter service on the Monday and self service on the Tuesday. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent three days exploring the local area: Wrekin, Stiperstones, Long Mynd etc. and thoroughly enjoyed the variety of walks on the doorstop and a short drive away. After a tiring days walking it was a joy to return to the hotel and enjoy a cup of coffee in the room followed by a refreshing shower a change of clothes, later topping up the used calories with a substantial meal in the restaurant. The hotel has a relaxed and efficient atmosphere about it. The room was clean and modern and the staff are polite and helpful. The only moan is that the bar didn't have a decent local beer on tap so we had to make do with the usual national brands, but that is no hardship. Breakfast was first class with the service ensuring that as soon as you plate/cups had been finished with they were whisked away. Lovely views all round and very pretty grounds to wander in.

Room Tip: Great views from all the rooms. This is a quietly located hotel, so you should have a great nights s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

me and my wife had a lovely weekend,apart from finding a sanitry towel in our bathroom bin which was ignored when i told to the receptionist,the room was cleaned and overlooked on our arrival and then overlooked on our next clean on the next morning,also the balconies could do with a little cleaning as there was cigarette ends on there. and the front entrance should be cleaned and mopped every day as it was very untidy many thanks.

Room Tip: try a room close to front exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Neil,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sadly apon investigating further all I can now do is apologise. I have raised this with housekeeping and instructed reception that direct action should have taken place. If you would be so kind to contact myself at the hotel I would be most greatful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Attended a friends wedding at the Buckatree on Easter Sunday. It was a lovely affair, the room for the wedding was laid out beautifully and once the wedding was compete the room was expanded and laid out for the meal. Once again it all looked fantastic. The food and wine was great and I thought that the MC from the hotel did a marvellous job if keeping everything moving along gently. I stayed the night and had a problem with my key card, it would not work and I needed to get someone from reception to take me to my room. Not such a major issue but I have read a review saying the same, so perhaps time for the hotel to sort things out. My room was great and the breakfast was pretty good too. I would recommend this hotel for a wedding venue and also as a nice place to stay when visiting this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated all the effort that goes into each and every wedding here at the Buckatree.

We have experienced a few problems of late with key cards and are waiting a new batch to be delivered which we hope will eradicate this frustrating problem – we never used to have this much trouble in the good old days of an old fashioned key!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for Easter weekend with a friend and my daughter and had a really nice time. Staff were courteous and welcoming, room was clean and nicely laid out. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal was very good.

There was a wedding party on the Saturday night, but this did not disturb us and appeared well organised. Parking was a slight problem due to presence of a lot of cars during the wedding party, but we still found somewhere in the car park.

Atmosphere is relaxed and chilled. Our request for a balcony and lake view was honoured.

I would recommend this hotel and would book again if we go back to Telford.

Room Tip: Our request for a quiet room with lake view was granted, so it is worth ringing the hotel with a req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Sylvia,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. The team always work hard to ensure our guests’ expectations are met and wherever possible exceeded, it’s when we receive such wonderful feedback that we know it is all worthwhile. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great location just of M54. Feels like were right in the country side.
Great walks around with good views of Telford and surrounding areas.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Food was lovely.
Only problem ive seen is all PAT tests are miles out of date, but this can easily be rectified.
Would stay again and recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicolas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Nicolas,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were able to take full benefit of our beautiful surroundings.

Our electrical safety is taken very seriously and the items you refer to fall under the PAT (portable appliance testing) regulations, however, our TV’s are actually fixed items and therefore fully compliant. Your observation is much appreciated and we will look at how best to address this in order to be clearer to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here with five friends while attending a conference. We had booked three twin rooms but only two were available but when we explained that a double with a child bed was not suitable we were offered another double room at no extra charge.

The rooms were fine, although I found the bed a little hard, and were very clean. The food at breakfast, in the bar and dinner in the restaurant were all fine.

What makes this hotel stand out is the staff. Every member of staff I encountered was helpful, friendly, efficient and professional. The breakfast service was very busy as most guests seemed to be attending the conference and, consequently, wanted breakfast at the same time but what could have been a chaotic experience was handled extremely efficiently.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Telford area. It is a little far out from the Conference Centre especially as the traffic in Telford is so bad but is well situated for walks on The Wrekin and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Happyism,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. The team always work hard to ensure our guests’ expectations are met and wherever possible exceeded, it’s when we receive such wonderful feedback that we know it is all worthwhile. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
3.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range: £57 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing