We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on a weekend wowcher deal. I had never heard of this hotel and was pleasantly surprise at just how lovely it was. The location is close to the Wrekin, a local landmark and was very peaceful and relaxing. We stayed Friday to Sunday on a DBB deal.

Upon arrival their was a wedding reception on going and the hotel was very busy. However the staff were helpful and attentive throughout our stay and nothing was to much trouble. The food in the restaurant was first class and the wine waiter was helpful and knowledgeable and selected just the right wine for our food and not the most expensive either.

We had a great weekend and, according to my partner had a very relaxing stay the staff were first class, food and wine lovely and would recommend this hotel to one and all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pound as very nice to sit on your balcony and listen to the birds an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip9528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    401
    176
    84
    51
See reviews for
132
713
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Buckatree in May 2014 for a weekend break to the Ironbridge area. The Buckatree is just a couple of hundred yards from the Wrekin Hill (felt more like a mountain while we were walking up it!). The hotel looks dated from the outside, but inside it is comfortable and welcoming with lots of chairs and sofas dotted around to relax and drink in. Outside the gardens are beautifully maintained with a pond to walk around. On the patio are several sets of garden furniture to sit, relax and enjoy a drink. We chose to eat a meal in the bar area on the Friday night that we arrived. We were so pleased with it and the ambiance in the bar area that we actually ate there again the following evening. There is a more formal restaurant for guests if you choose. Breakfast was a self service buffet, with hot and cold food available. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel as a good central place to stay. We visited the beautiful town of Ironbridge and the Victorian Museum there (well worth an afternoon visit).

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony, but perhaps the first or second floors are preferable for the view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happynanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Happy nanna,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay and all that the Buckatree has to offer. Our bar meals are always popular and a nice alternative to the formal ambiance of the restaurant.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel is in such a lovely relaxing environment! It's just a shame about the staff! Was on a tour trip and when eating our evening meal I overheard a young lady she was attractive and looked so polite until she mentioned to another member of staff and I quote "I hate old people and I hate tours" I was disgusted! It's such a shame because the hotel Is lovely I just hope something is done about this member of staff and not just left to upset the future hotel residents! If it's any help to the manager she had strawberry blonde hair and was tallish compared to other staff on that night, I may be wrong but her name sounded like a Laurie or Lauren Pardon me If I am mistaken on the name. She was lovely young girl just needs to be taught some manners, overall Thankyou to every other member of staff for making us welcome

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear J G,

I would like to apologise for the personal remarks made by a staff member, these comments are in no way endorsed or shared by the hotel. Appropriate action has been taken and I would kindly ask that you contact me at the hotel so that I can apologise in person.

I did try calling you after you had departed as I was aware via the guest comment card that you had left at reception that there was an issue. Unfortunately the number you left was incorrect.

On a positive note it is pleasing that you were able to recognise this an isolated incident in your praise of the rest of the team.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was in a lovely setting, although our room didn't perhaps have the best view. Rooms were very nicely decorated, roomy and comfortable. Nice patio and bar area in which to enjoy a few drinks in the evening. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms had small balconies overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Tina,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am delighted you have an enjoyed your stay. We have a variety of room types including rooms with balconies which overlook the gardens and lake as well as four poster, sleigh beds and a penthouse suite. It is great to hear that you would stay again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for a few days. while visiting coalbrook dale and iron bridge. this place is more like an old peoples home the staff were ok we had a meal on our first night i ordered coated mushrooms and dip when they arrived they were still cold in the middle. One morning we were woken by the fire alarm going off so we jumped out of bed and then it stopped 10 mins later the same thing again this went on for around half an hour I had got to the stage saying I was going to wait for the blue lights outside next time, anyway we went for breakfast and asked one of the staff what had gone on she said it was probably her as it normally goes off when she stays overnight . My wife found a table on the floor and we left it to see if it got remover when the room was cleaned it was still there when we left.Breakfast is good but we went else where for evening meal for next 2 nights. On the next morning we were woken again this time not by the fire alarm but the window cleaner 7:15am. When we checked out they asked if everything was ok I said about the fire alarm and window cleaner and they didn't comment about the alarm going off and the window cleaner they said they had no control when he cleaned the windows I also said about the tablet they said that it wasn't moved because it could have been ours !!!!! We won't be going back

Room Tip: somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek70051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Derek,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am concerned that so much of your stay has been disappointing. We work hard to create a friendly, welcoming environment and clearly on this occasion we have not impressed you.

When the fire alarm is activated it can be extremely frustrating, my team are fully trained in the procedures they must carry out in the event of an alarm activation and their confidence has clearly come across as arrogance which has been addressed. Our window cleaner starts work at 8.00am and always begins downstairs in the public areas so as not to disturb sleeping guests, I apologise if he has not followed his normal routine.

I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, Anne-Marie on Reception was particularly helpful with booking, which we had to change. Room was delightful with balcony overlooking the small pool, quiet and private. Well decorated, good bathroom, pleasant domestic lady. Ate in the restaurant with a voucher first night, good value for what we paid. Breakfasts nicely cooked, hot, plenty of choice. Juice, yogurt, cheese etc (no fresh fruit). Ate in the bar second night, we felt food and drinks were reasonably priced for small hotel. Had a bottle of pleasant house wine to take to our room, bar staff happily provided cooler with ice. Plenty of parking, small grounds with well maintained areas, wonderful view from our room of pool and Shropshire hills. Outside sitting area very pleasant. Location excellent for Blists Hill, Ironbridge, lots of museums, Telford and Shrewsbury. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded balcony with view over the pool. Highly recommended for a small extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRileysCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear MaznDave,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay and all that the area has to offer. Anne-Marie is delighted to receive your recognition as are the rest of the team.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as we had booked the Cosford Air Show package, which was a bargain. Bed, breakfast, 3 course evening meal and tickets to the airshow all included . We stayed in the family room which was of a good standard and plenty big enough for 2 adults and 2 children, tea and coffee facilities available,tv and wifi. The room and the en suite were very clean, no noise from other rooms. Lovely gardens in a nice quiet location ,very conveniant for local attractions such as Ironbridge, 2 mins from Wellington train station, which connects to Telford and then Cosford. The food was very good. Very friendly , helpful staff especially the receptionist Ann Marie.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room with a balcony with views over the garden and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Marg,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay and all that the area has to offer. Anne-Marie is delighted to receive your recognition as are the rest of the team.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
905 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
520 reviews
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Property: Buckatree Hall Hotel
Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing