We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Buckatree Hotel which we booked via an offer on Wowcher. The hotel is in a lovely rural setting and has a small pond and lawn where you can sit and enjoy the sunny weather. The room we stayed in (203) was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a three course dinner included on our first night which was excellent, thoroughly enjoyed it . Breakfast was a buffet with a variety of cereals,fresh fruit, full English breakfast and toast and croissants. The food was very tasty and hot. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, very attentive and helpful and took time to talk to guests as well as ensuring tables were cleared quickly. Overall a very pleasant stay in a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webboWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Webo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It has been a hectic couple of weeks at the Buckatree and I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay. Our staff are at the centre of everything we do and it is so rewarding to hear them being praised.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    390
    171
    84
    51
See reviews for
129
695
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our first anniversary. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room was clean and well decorated. We also opted to eat at the in oriel restaurant which was not disappointing, the food was delicious.

We had booked to stay in the four poster room, which unfortunately must have been over the function room as we had music through out floor until after midnight. If we had been informed of this then it would have been less annoying.

Overall, an excellent stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Lindsey,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear you ‘enjoyed it’ Following an influx of new staff it is encouraging to hear that the training is paying off. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the music from the function below but please this has not detracted from a pleasurable stay.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for only one night with my boyfriend and I am glad it was only for the one night.

Check in wasn't too bad, nothing really to comment.

The room, although big could do with some TLC: the shower is temperamental, there was a travel cot already made up (not requested and a pain to try and undo), the bed as comfortable enough but not the best and the furniture/decoration is a little dated. The room and bathroom however, were clean. We had a lovely view of a white wall opposite.

The rooms however, do not keep out any noise, probably due to the fact there is a small gap between the door and the frame. So I hope you don't mind being disturbed in your sleep all night, like we were and to top it you'll love housekeeping the next morning. First they knocked and woke us at 8:30am which irritated me immediately, check out is not until 11:00 and being a weekend I wanted to sleep in. We would of put the DND sign out.. had there of been one for us to use..

They then knocked at 8:45am and 9:00am, eventually after snapping at them we were still in the room they moved from the door.. which didn't matter they had successfully woken us and were shouting to each other down the corridor and slamming doors anyway.

Safe to say when we did check out, we were not in the best of moods. Giving the opportunity I would of commented this to a member of staff. but the person who checked us out, put my card in the machine and then walked off from the desk for sometime. Eventually, fed up of waiting, I took my card form the machine myself and left.

We were bitterly disappointed and will not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a DND sign on check in, you'll need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zolososo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Unfortunately we did experience some problems with our showers which was an isolated incident (see below review also) this has now been rectified and I apologise for the inconvenience it caused. Having reviewed your booking I can see the room you were allocated was originally allocated to a family with a baby who we had moved to an alternative room, the travel cot should of course have been removed prior to your arrival. From your other reviews I see that noise is a common problem and I again apologise for the disturbance.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a Buyagift voucher for two nights from 4th July. Initial impressions were excellent, staff very polite and friendly and eager to meet any needs (including sorting out the fact that we had forgotten to bring our voucher with us) so far 5/5.
Checking into our room it received a 5/5 for comfort and cleanliness (suggest that a coat of mould resistant paint on bathroom ceiling will avoid any future problems, as some mould has started above shower)
We decided to eat in the bar on our first night and was a little disappointed with the menu but both decided to go for the sirloin steak. Compliments to the chef for the garlic bread and onion rings and our steaks were perfectly cooked but arrived on luke warm plates and we had a little wait for the chips and garlic bread to arrive. During our wait we decided to try our steak but our steak knives were not up to the job and when our chips arrived we had to request replacement knives, there was another brief wait and replacement knives arrived.
The by now almost cold steak was hit and miss. My partners was acceptable but about a third of mine was fat and gristle and was left on the plate. I had intended speaking to the staff about this, but at no time were we approached by anyone to check if we were happy with our meal and although staff frequently came in and out of the bar area to take drinks through to the restaurant there didn't appear anyone on duty in the bar area.
We finished our meal and after waiting around 10 minutes for our table to be cleared we gave up and left the bar with still no staff in sight. Reluctantly we have to give this a rating of 2/5.
Breakfast was above average and service was excellent 5/5
There was a wedding party on our second night and unfortunately the music could be heard plainly until around 1am and the sound of the guests leaving in taxi's went on well beyond this.
Sunday morning at 8.30 there was no water pressure in the shower which reduced to barely a drip half way through my shower despite waiting a while this didn't increase.
What a shame that what could have been an excellent weekend was spoiled by our poor dining experience and being unable to shower on the Sunday morning. We are more than likely going to visit again but will avoid eating at the hotel and instead eat at a pub that we found on our second day (the bridge builder - approx 2 miles away) and will ensure we are up early for a shower.
As we were not asked about our stay on checking out, I didn't raise the problems as it didn't seem appropriate.
Despite our poor dining experience it is only fair that we rate the quality of service overall and hence we must give it a good rating as it is true to say that the level of service was excellent apart from this. This hotel has so much going for it and could easily get a higher rating.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a balcony. These are further from the road and are not overlooked by the driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Simon,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your balanced review is appreciated and whilst there are negatives which clearly require attention it is encouraging to hear of your positive experiences also. Unfortunately, as you have highlighted, there was an issue with the shower which has now been rectified and was not related to the hotel being fully booked. Should you stay again I am confident we will achieve 5 stars!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel on a Wowcher deal and whilst it was a pleasant stay there where faults. Problems with booking dates we required. Requested upgrade room (at a charge) which we didnt get. Room we stayed was nice and looks like recently refurbished but snagging still needs doing and no blind on bathroom window which is over looked by path to car park. Shower wasnt working and had to report this over 2 days before fixed. Evening meal was met with "oh your on a Wowcher!" I don't expect to be treated any differently because I found an offer? Whilst the food we ended up with tasted nice the menu was so limited and outdated. The bar area outside is lovely but no staff about to clear glasses, take orders etc. Bar indoors in the evening whilst it was full felt like a morgue, not a bit of atmosphere. Hotel needs to concentrate on the basics to get people to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mel,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay and felt it warranted such a poor review. We often run promotions with daily deal sites such as Wowcher and I am concerned to hear that you feel you were treated differently because of this. We do offer different menus for various promotions and admittedly it can be confusing – even for us!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I will try to keep this brief.
Service particularly from younger staff was hit and miss. Generally speaking......cutlery dropped onto the table, different menus from one another offered to us on a couple of occasions, we overheard a younger staff member complaining about someone to another staff member at breakfast one morning. Food ordered at dinner on one occasion was not what was stated on the menu, so a free dinner was offered by way of apology, which was good but shame it happened. The roof below our balcony was littered with hundreds and I mean hundreds of cigarette butts, surely this could be kept on top of by the hotel, although it has to be said you can't legislate for the disgusting habits from previous guests. I'm no anti smoker, just find it disgusting to see the evidence of it littering the area. Going back to the service one staff member very abruptly "placed" a spoon on our table with no real acknowledgement, rather than place it professionally. I'm not trying to nit pick it's just that good service is essential in the hospitality industry.
Positives.... Location, breakfast was good, and some members of staff, we thought Siri the waiter was very good and helpful. Overall this may be a surprise given the negatives, but we actually quite enjoyed the hotel but there needs to be some attention to detail, perhaps with some re training of staff. We have read a review below this one and we must have stayed at the same time as there was a wedding on, and it didn't surprise us to see some issues with staff in that review. We stayed end of June to 2nd July.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mel & Jason,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments have been taken on board and our staff training is currently being reviewed to ensure a much higher standard - in line with our normal operating is achieved. A balanced review is always welcome and I am delighted to hear that you would return.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a deal
Very welcoming staff and nice entrance to hotel
Our food was very average and quite bland but our room was ok and the staff very helpful
It was a reasonable price due to the deal we had booked
I must say the breakfast was superb though and lots of it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telforded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to hear you found the staff to be welcoming and very helpful but disappointed you have not enjoyed your meals. Luckily it appears breakfast went some way to making up for this.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
4.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Property: Buckatree Hall Hotel
Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing