We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming countryside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“charming countryside hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked a night using booking.com and on arrival saw it was better than the photos!
Great value for money on a late deal (3 days before arrival).
Location and hotel grounds were lovely, also the bar and restaurant made for great eating areas. That from check in to check out we stayed at the hotel, great service and great food.
Would love to vusit again!
The room was a higher standard than expected and with balcony area, had comfortable night sleep.
All decor inside bedroom and function room done to very high standard, the outside white paint could do with a refresh and the garden hedges a trim.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahitispecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear tahitispecial,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We do try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great time whilst with us and I am surprised when I see some reviews on here which suggest the complete opposite! Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Buckatree.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    420
    183
    87
    52
See reviews for
136
741
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived at the Buckatree Hall Hotel mid afternoon and got the keys to our room and got unpacked Our room was fine clean etc.. and it had a balcony but it did overlook the car park rather than the lake. Reading reviews from other people it seems some didn't get a balcony so I guess we were lucky as we were on a 2 night deal. We went down to dinner which we had previously pre-booked and were shown a table d'hote menu that had a a good choice on it. The food was very good and the waiting on staff very pleasant. The breakfast the next morning was very acceptable with a choice of cereal, fruit juices, toast, cooked breakfast and tea or coffee. We then set off for Weston Park as we had tickets as part of our two night stay. The weather was warm and sunny so we spent quite a while just walking around the grounds. Later we had a tour of the house which was very interesting. We finished off with a bottle of Shropshire Lad/Lass beer at one of the cafes. After breakfast the next morning we left the hotel to go and do some shopping before heading home. The grounds to the hotel are very nice and we did have a quick walk around on the first night but it had turned slightly chilly so we headed back in. The internet connection although free didn't seem very good from the bedroom. It was better downstairs in the bar, but wasn't a big issue. All in all I thought this two night package was very good value for money and would certainly recommend the hotel for anyone looking to stay in the Shropshire area. HJ Lancashire

Room Tip: Maybe try and get a balcony room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Travellers2103,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We do have a variety of room types and all Scenic View rooms have balconies, these overlook either the garden, the miniature lake or countryside beyond. I am please to hear that you found the food very good and would recommend the hotel for guests looking to explore the area.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

nice hotel would recommend for couples we went to the wedding crashers event it was well worth the money but will go with friends next time good food friendly staff loverly location plenty to see out and about only thing I would say is the rooms need blinds will go again soon :)

Room Tip: ask for one over looking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tersesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tersesa,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you enjoyed the Wedding Crashers event and would look to stay again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a lovely hotel! Stayed on a Buy-a-Gift voucher for two nights. We were a little worried when we arrived as past reviews had commented on noise levels when there was a wedding on. As we arrived we saw that indeed there was a wedding party booked on our first night, however can honestly say that this did not spoil our stay at all. We stayed in room 214 and unless you really strained your ears we could not here anything. The rooms were spotless, spacious and very comfortable and we had a balcony which we made use of. The view was lovely and we could see for miles. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Dudmaston Hall well worth a visit and Ironbridge close by too. The Huntsman pub in Little Wenlock serves great food.

Room Tip: Rooms 208-214 have balconies and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Chose this hotel for proximity to The Weston Park in Shifnal. The accimodation is all beautifully appointed and the the gardens are beautiful. The staff are especially helpful and friendly. Quality is not compromised for cost and at £87 per night B&B for two it's a world better than travel lodges etc

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was a day we as a family had been waiting for, for a long time the weather wasn't the best but it could have been a lot worse.
The setting is fantastic at the bottom of Wrekin next to an ornamental lake and across the road from a country park, perfect to work off the excess of an over indulgent wedding celebration.
The wedding breakfast was very nice but for me the roast beef was slightly over cooked other than that the food at the wedding and at breakfast the following morning was of a fairly high standard, I was however not impressed by the over tattooed female waiting staff with multiple facial and ear body piercings not the sort of things I have come to expect from such a nice class of hotel in my many years of traveling and working in the hospitality industry, they are slightly of putting when one is being served by them.
the accommodation was comfortable but not a hundred per-cent acceptable there were hairs in the plughole of the bath the bathroom door was hanging off from the top hinge and the toilet seat is not secure. One other problem was the fountain in the lake my room overlooked I feel it should be shut down from about 10pm to allow guests to get a restful nights sleep without the sound of running water outside the window, it is fine during the day but please give us a break at night time and install a timer on it for future guests.
apart from these few niggles we all enjoyed our very special day and would return to stay again all that is needed is a bit of attention to detail mainly by maintenance, housekeeping and waiting staff / management.

Room Tip: lake view rooms are good if only they solve the problem with the fountain overnight so you can sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickessox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a two night stay on a buy a gift present from our son in New Zealand . We stayed Thursday 31st July and Friday 1st August the latter being our 55th wedding annivarsary. We found this hotel excellent for our needs we stayed in room 201 a lovely decorated and spacious standard bedroom, very comfortable bed, and lovely bathroom , Everthing was lovely and clean with a nice tv and facilities for tea and coffee provided. Breakfast was on a buffet style and most enjoyable We were unable to book into the restuarant for evening meal but still enjoyed a meal in the lounge bar on both nights. The area around the hotel is pleasant with outside seating for those sunny evenings and a short stroll around the little pond in the garden. We
found the staff polite and helpfull There are plenty of places to visit in this area and
we enjoyed our two nights stay. We would stay here again

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor over the reception entrance. We had no noise probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
4.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
1.6 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
546 reviews
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Property: Buckatree Hall Hotel
Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing