We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our break at the hotel. It is quietly situated at the end of a cul-de-sac overlooking the golf course on one side and distant views to the Severn Gorge on the other.
The rooms are of a very good standard, and decoration and cleanliness excellent.

As one of our nights was a Saturday and we know that there can be rowdy wedding parties banging doors in the early hours, we requested a quiet room away from the stairs etc. We were allocated a really quiet room.

The only negative of the hotel is that although we were on the top floor, there is no lift, other than a disabled persons lift, which we couldn't get to operate. As my wife has a bad knee we would have appreciated a proper lift.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if you find it difficult climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travmanDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    408
    231
    88
    45
See reviews for
156
459
31
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I had a spa day here with my friend. Didnt stay in the rooms but can definately recommend the spa area - Seperate entrance, clean, spacious, not too crowded despite it being a weekend and being on a Living Social Deal.
Had an exfoliation treatment which was very nice (would recommend that is the last thing you do as you should leave the moisturiser on for at least an hour afterwards!).
Staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you so much for spending the time in posting your comments regarding your recent visit to our Spa.

As a Centre of excellence with Q Hotels for our spa, we are proud to receive such positive feedback, and for this I pass on the thanks of all my Spa Team here at the Hotel.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltburn by the sea
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for one night, booked a superior king for us, and twin for 2 boys, were given our room it was tiny, boys room was gorgeous and huge they had got superior twin we got oridinary room, girl on reception didn't know what she was doing they were miles away from us. Wanted to go for a swim as pool looked gorgeous, rang spa and asked where I got bath robes from she said she didn't know and ask reception, reception said I don't know ask spa maybe they could borrow or rent you one. Duh!!!I didn't bother!!
Booked a table in hotel restaurant we waited half an hour finally got our table and waited 20 mins for waiter to give us our menus we asked for a wine list. 15 mins later he came back and took our order still no wine list so we asked gain. Starters came and we asked again for win list which he brought ate our starters but he never came back for our wine order....
Our main course came which was nothing flash it came out of a microwave, we ate that at which point I shouted of a girl and asked if we could order drinks as noone had bothered since we sat down. Service was rubbish there were about 8 young staff but no-one doing anything the restaurant was half empty, we were not the only ones to complain, we paid and left
They have spent a lot on refurbishing this hotel, but the staff need training it cannot run itself...
Breakfast was nice
Bottles of water in the rooms would have been nice like the queens in leeds also a q hotel this has lots of receptionist whereas telford had one and who didn't seem to know what she was doing..

More training needed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vampira22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you so much for posting your comments.

I am personally disappointed that your stay was not up to the normal Q Standard, i have however taken your comments and shared them with my team, and they wish to be associated with this response.

Could I ask that you contact me at the hotel to discuss your comments in a little more detail.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

very nice food a little slow between courses. rooms clean good value for money
Gym could do with an instructor to hand as not all equipment working properly
staff in spar very good as was treatments.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review.

I have noted your comments, and should i or any member of my team be of any further help please feel free to contact me.

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night on business. Check in was ok, although I was struggling to carry all of my luggage (lap top bag, suit carrier etc) and there was no offer of assistance. My room was up a series of stairs which made it an effort just to get to your room. The bedroom was adequate, although very warm. There were cobwebs in the corner of the room which suggested it hadn't be stayed in for some time (or cleaned properly). The main bar was closed which I found hard to believe as it was really busy with a Trade Show close by. The only option was the golf club bar which wasn't maintained to a very high standard and service slow.
Breakfast was ok- again service slow with only one waitress who was struggling to keep up with tea and coffee orders.

Room Tip: ask for one near the lift if you have lots of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time in posting a review.

I have noted your comments and passed them on to the relevant Team Members.

Once again thanks for your comments and i look forward to welcoming you back to Telford in the future.

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the hotel. Our party included a set of grandparents, a 5 months old baby, and 8 Viking re-enactors. Our wolf dog came along too. Everybody enjoyed the accommodation, the food and the views. The hotel team were excellent, from front of house to cleaning staff, everyone was courteous, appropriate and friendly. Most of our group enjoyed amazing views of the Severn Gorge from our bedroom windows, and all our rooms were well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good and nobody kept waiting. The Hotel is a good base for exploring Ironbridge Museums and town nearby. We visited the Allnations Pub and Microbrewery near the Victorian Town museum. Pub was a small house with a 'locals' feel, with an excellent in situ brewery. (bar snacks only) and a real taste of 'old' Shropshire life. We would recommend the Hotel and the area to all, look out for great online deals but also prepare to chase up direct, definitively worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citornero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
May I personally thank you for leaving such great feedback, I am truly pleased that you enjoyed not only the hotel, but also the surrounding area.
Should I or any member of my team be able to assist you again in the future please feel free to contact us.

All the best,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My daughter and I love a spa treat! We wanted something a little bit cheaper and nearer home as it wasn't a special occasion. This was perfect - very professional service, great treatments and lovely lunch!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelfordHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
1.3 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
5.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Great Hay Drive, Sutton Heights, Telford TF7 4DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telford
#1 Family Hotel in Telford
#2 Business Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel resides in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Ironbridge Gorge and overlooks the gorge. You can look out over them from our 1779 Restaurant, while you feast on seasonal dishes. Or from your contemporary suite, with LCD TV, stylish décor and fabulous bathroom. You can daydream of them while you’re massaged into a state of relaxation in our spa. And you can walk amongst them as you wander our 170 acres of idyllic grounds, or play a round of golf on our exceptional course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Telford Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford Hotel & Golf Telford
Telford Hotel And Golf Resort
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing