We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice room nice breakfast nice dinner, staff very good. The course a very good test, and I liked the spa. What more can I say room, two meals, two games of golf 20% off drinks and reasonable weather for £89 bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and commenting. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our Hotel and Golf course.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

had a weeknd golf booked 12th April. Sadly greens had been tined, and the greens werent good at the time. but it promised to be great when they settle. Enjoyed the golf course. Marshall was very polite and entertaining. Hotel staff on rception were great, even left some easter eggs with them to look after while we played golf on the Sunday, as we had to check out before playing golf. AND theydidnt eat them - had a good rapport with them, very friendly and approachable.
Rooms weres soooo confortable, very clean. The spa area was lovely, quiet, and a great steam and sauna, with ice on tap!! Restaurant food was very good, breakfast very good, dinner very good. Only downside was no food in the golfers bar on both days, so had to go to main restaurant area to order bar food, which tooks ages, and staff were not aroiund and i had to look for them to pay the bar bill on the Sunday after golf. At least we got to see Liverpool win!! Th egolfers bar was busy and had a very nice vibe about it. We will certainkly return, Excellent value for money. Service was excellent apart from the the Sunday trying to get food.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old party of the hotel are quiter and have a nice view of the golf course altough a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments, I am delighted to hear you had a great time with us. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Once again thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and stayed again for the long Easter weekend. The room was great however the TV program a little dated as didnt even have all freeview channels. Was thankful for Wi-Fi as watched Lovefilm on my iPad instead. Shower wasnt very powerful but seems to have potential just not the power behind it! The bed was huge and very comfortable - slept fantastic for the whole stay.

The staff were pleasant enough but nothing spectacular. I enjoyed using the facilites - the pool and steam room very relaxing but slightly annoying with about 8 children in the pool at the same time as they dont restrict children's time at the weekend.

Breakfast was OK - we ate pretty late both days but everything was still fully stocked. Took a little while for veggie sausages to be cooked.

Room Tip: A better view with the super king but didnt feel any difference in size to the standard one - just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear youy had a comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Once again thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very comfortable and well decorated room. Staff were very helpful with directions and tickets to local attractions - sold at a discount so well worth buying here. Spa was excellent and almost empty when we turned up at 7pm on a Saturday evening. Lovely swim and sauna followed by ice showers. Quiet location so slept well and breakfast (included) was good. £106 for one night for two felt like a good deal and there is a QHotels club with lifetime membership for £20 which gives future discounts that I may investigate. Good location for visiting Ironbridge area.

Room Tip: We were in 206 to back of building and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewdneyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Once again thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Rooms excellent.
Staff very helpful and pleasant.
Other than breakfast, food atrocious and expensive. Three tiny bits of fish and 10 French fries with no veg and stone cold £17.50
Didn`t send food back as we had already waited so long and were due at a function.
I found the maître d very off hand and manner less.
Lack of lifts, had to lug suitcases up stairs!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, I have take note of your thoughts about the evening meal and have take some action to improve this area.
Once again thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here on buisness for three nights in March 2014. Ample parking in a quiet location. Reception is welcoming, staff are pleasant and helpful. Check in was reasonable. This is a large hotel with just one lift which is more for wheelchairs than general use. Stairs are much quicker, even the four flights to the top floor.

Room was very good, well decorated, warm and well equipped. Plenty of storage with good size wardrobe, plenty of drawers and two bedside units. Well lit with over bed reading lamps. Flat screen tv with freeview and pay tv. Tea and coffee facility, iron and ironing board. A poorly located room safe, on the floor of the wardrobe, was difficult to use. Bath/shower room was very clean and well decorated with heated towel rail.

Food was, as usual for hotels like this, overpriced. As I was there on buisness, I was working to a limited budget. Two pints of Guinness and one main course was already breaking the bank. Menu was very limited. Breakfast was excellent with a varied choice of foods and drinks freely available.

The spa/health facilites were a little odd. The pool was quite dark but used (on both occasions I was there) by a childrens swimming club which had a cordoned off section. A good sauna but the steam room smelled of stale water. There was no jaccuzi pool. A colleague made use of the golfing facilities which appeared quite good but the shop was continually closed.

Good stay overall.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties ask for a ground floor room, the lift is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Currymonster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear you had a pleasent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Once again thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kinfd Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Fabulous hotel for a peaceful break - apart from the restaurant! Great staff, great venue, excellent spa and leisure club, accommodation great too! Don't bother with the bar & restaurant - which is poorly run, staff were lovely but had no direction, they didn't have a clue how to serve food or drink, tables left uncleared around us for over 25 minutes, food is Brewers Fayre standard and absolutely not what you would expect from a Q Hotel. (I wouldn't expect to be served profiteroles which have clearly been frozen with the chocolate breaking off and standard "Walls Vanilla" ice cream as a dessert and pay £6 for it). I have been waiting 4 days for a call from the Food & Beverage Manager to discuss.....still waiting!!


It's a real shame because I would return to this hotel but I wouldn't wish to eat there again.

The spa is spotless, the staff were welcoming and everything apart from the restaurant ticked all the boxes on my reason for staying.

Reception staff were absolutely lovely too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRoscommons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I have taken your points on board about our bar and restaurant and have asked my Operations Manager to look in to this.
Once again thabnk you for bringing this matter to my attention.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
975 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Great Hay Drive, Sutton Heights, Telford TF7 4DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telford
#2 Business Hotel in Telford
Price Range: £74 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel resides in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Ironbridge Gorge and overlooks the gorge. You can look out over them from our 1779 Restaurant, while you feast on seasonal dishes. Or from your contemporary suite, with LCD TV, stylish décor and fabulous bathroom. You can daydream of them while you’re massaged into a state of relaxation in our spa. And you can walk amongst them as you wander our 170 acres of idyllic grounds, or play a round of golf on our exceptional course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Telford Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford Hotel & Golf Telford
Telford Hotel And Golf Resort
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing