We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the journey, just for the view over Ironbridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the journey, just for the view over Ironbridge”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We visited for a day and I played golf round the superbly manicured 18 hole course whilst the ladies went to the spa.

The golf is worth the trip on its own and the membership if you're local is very attractive. Seems as though a lot of societies visit as well so pick your time.

Girls enjoyed the spa, very relaxing and plush, lots of treatments available and really competitive for price.

Topped off with a bar snack with the most beautiful view over Ironbridge for the panoramic bar lounge.

Really hard to believe that you're still in Telford when visiting this place, form the bonkers villas on the road on the way in, to the great surroundings of the hotel.

Really enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear you and your friends enjoyed your visit to our property. we look forawrd to seeing you soon again.
kind regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    425
    242
    94
    46
See reviews for
163
480
33
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

5 of us spent the weekend at the hotel for my friends hen night. We just want to say we had a fantastic time and the atmosphere with 2 other hens and a wedding party was great. The spa and hotel were very clean, we had lovely treatments and the spa and hotel staff were really friendly. We weren't expecting much from the food because of previous reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. The prawn cocktail starter didn't have much taste but we should have mentioned it at the time. The rest of the meal was very nice (liked the mushroom lasagne). Particular credit to the young serving team in the restaurant for their politeness and prompt service, particularly at breakfast. Wine is expensive but the jug of Pimms was a great option. The only negative was slow bar service on Sunday with only one person serving - not fair on the staff. The Pink Fizz spa break is great value for the money and we will definitely be staying again but please think about installing a Jacuzzi to bring the facilities into line with other spa's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear of your positive stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Weekend golf break the course was in great shape although the bunkers needed tending far too little sand they were rock hard and contained too many stones.The greens are running really fast and are hard to play.Being a high handicapper I found this course challenging but still a great three days,The food was not worth the prices charged and I found the menue food was inconsistent also the chefs must check the cuts of meat before cooking and serving, my belly pork still had the containment string inside.However overall the experience was good and the management great and the weekend break with mates fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for a golf break with a number of people. Hotel is nice and clean, with ok rooms but starting to look dated. Pool area is again, nice although a jacuzzi would be a welcome addition. Golf course was great and in excellent condition. Very poor golf shop however. Staff very pleasant. But the food is terrible - in line with most of the previous reviews so I won't drone on. Prices high for drinks but service is slow with sandwiches regularly running out of stock. Would come back to play golf, but would not stay or eat here again. Average score at best with the golf course being the redeeming feature.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest comments, I am disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations.
once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Michael lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have stayed here on numerous occasions, the hotel is well situated with decent, clean rooms. This stay managed to make use of the pool and spa, both very enjoyable, I think next visit I will book in for a longer spa treatment (only had a spur of the moment taster session this time). The breakfast servers are friendly and food is of a good standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear about your pleasent stay with us.
I hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside England
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Always thought that Forest Pines was the best we had visited but well done Telford as our recent stay was fantastic . The staff are very friendly and Hannah and Margaret were two of the many stars there. The General Manager seems to be well liked and respected by the staff and he is frequently seen around the hotel , particularly giving help in the restaurant when it was a busy period. Leading by example is not a trait you see much of these days, more's the pity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments, I am delighted to hear you had a great exprience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon I hope..
Once again thank you for taking the time to wright.
Kind regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Well, last year we went to this hotel restaurant for a family birthday treat, it was great, we thought we would go again this year. What a shock, last year we had a 3 course Sunday Lunch for around £15, a good price and the food was great. This year there was no Sunday Lunch and most of us opted for the fish and chips for which had to wait over an hour . When it eventually came everyones`meal was either cold or just not of a good standard and the prices were not cheap! The fish seemed to be very poor and full of bones. The only good thing about the place is the view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artistwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, I am dissapointed to hear the high standard of our food did not meet your expectation. We do not offer a sunday lunch in our restaurant and as such you should have been informed. I have passed your comments regarding the fish to my Head Chef and he will be looking into this.
We pride ourselves on the quality of our service and food and I can only apologies once again for falling short of your expectaion.
Kind regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
931 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Great Hay Drive, Sutton Heights, Telford TF7 4DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telford
#1 Family Hotel in Telford
#2 Business Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel resides in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Ironbridge Gorge and overlooks the gorge. You can look out over them from our 1779 Restaurant, while you feast on seasonal dishes. Or from your contemporary suite, with LCD TV, stylish décor and fabulous bathroom. You can daydream of them while you’re massaged into a state of relaxation in our spa. And you can walk amongst them as you wander our 170 acres of idyllic grounds, or play a round of golf on our exceptional course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Telford Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford Hotel & Golf Telford
Telford Hotel And Golf Resort
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing