We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made a business trip a real pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory of St James
Ranked #1 of 26 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oxford uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Made a business trip a real pleasure”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was working at a show and picked the is fantastic B&B as an alternative to the onsite offerings, and am so glad I did.

Beautiful property and rooms, so nice to be greeted with coffee and cakes, what a surprise.Very quiet for me a real bonus as I live in the countryside and normaly have a problem in hotels.

Breakfast was great, real quality.

ANd a big thanks for the understanding over the mistake in arrival date!

Room Tip: Any they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjohnbickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
158
9
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I can only write great things.
This is the most immaculate place I have ever staid at, anywhere.
Everything is done to a high standard while preserving its wonderful country atmosphere.
Thoughtful touches in the room you would not expect at this rate. Welcoming, friendly hosts with home made cream tea in beautiful tea room.
Beautifully kept big garden.
I would expect to see this all around quality at a higher rate.
Locally sourced breakfast. What else could one possibly wish for a get away weekend?
All around perfection.

Possibly the best place we have ever staid at.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clytemnestra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great period property with lovely gardens. Large double bedrooms with brand new bathrooms. home from home charm, great breakfast! Excellent hospitality by a couple that clearly go the extra mile in running the house and sourcing local high quality food and drink. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TRM-MAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review - we hope you can return one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A really lovely place, adrian and rosemary the owners were very welcoming and the room was spotless and very comfortable. Truly excellent breakfast , lovely setting, and all in all a great place to stay, many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jojenks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay - thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A lovely place , great rooms and the whole house was full of charm and character . Made to feel very welcome and the cooked breakfast was first class. I stayed here as we were using the Telford international exhibition centre . Glad I stayed here and not at some popular hotel chain.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Many thanks for your review - much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

beautiful house and pretty rooms, friendly welcome, very clean and extremely comfortable beds - its only fault is being a tiny bit isolated (but there again, easily solved with a car). Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pucci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for the review but I have reported this as a review for another business; we do not think you stayed with us in March as we had no one from the USA and also Telford town centre is only a mile away so not "remote" at all. Perhaps you can stay with us on your next visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is the best Band B that we have ever stayed in.Nobody could make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable than the owners Adrian and Rosemary.The quality of everything from the rooms, the afternoon tea, the breakfasts are truly exceptional.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay.Will definitely be back. We are spreading the word.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bessolow suite, gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BARBARA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Very glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope you will return, and thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
4.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory of St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory of St James

Property: The Old Rectory of St James
Address: Stirchley Road | Stirchley Village, Telford TF3 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory of St James 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal choice for Business and Pleasure. Rosemary and Adrian are delighted to welcome you to this period Georgian Guest House, set in a quiet oasis, within easy reach of the bustling centre of Telford, the footpaths over the Shropshire hills and historic Ironbridge. Originally the Rectory of St James' Church from the 17th century to about 1975, it now provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation, with charm and character, and that little bit extra. We delight in providing a welcoming atmosphere where the simple things are done well; a vase of freshly cut flowers in your room: Afternoon Tea to greet you on your arrival: a well cooked breakfast of locally produced ingredients with homemade bread and jams plus eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory of St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Of St James Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing