We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Comfort, comfort, comfort..."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory of St James
Ranked #1 of 26 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Comfort, comfort, comfort..."”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Recently spent three nights in this beautiful guest house. We all grew up (in Scotland) listening to stories of Shropshire so we took Mum back to visit some of her old haunts and see for ourselves the places whose names have always been so familiar to us. We were determined to have a wonderful weekend when we set off, but we were so glad that we booked The Old Rectory as our accommodation and our lovely hosts made it an unbeatable one. Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds, every need thought of, fresh flowers in abundance and the most delicious shortbread ( you can even take the recipe home with you!).Excellent choice and variety at breakfast time and the guest lounge...just think Jane Austen. These things could all be found in many places ( except the shortbread) but there is an atmosphere at The Old Rectory which can only be found there. If you are visiting this area I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor room for Mum with walk in shower. No stairs / steps. Very short walk to breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
163
10
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Went away for our very first weekend together since meeting last Dec and had such a wonderful time in this lovely guest house. The hosts Rosemary and Adrian made us feel so welcome and got to know us by our first names straight away. A lovely log fire which we sat by on our first eve and all the little special touches everywhere....tulips in the bedroom, proper mugs for our tea and lovely homemade shortbread in the morning with seasonal bunnies being the theme for them for Easter ! Amazing breakfast....that gorgeous rhubarb anf fruits, soft , deep yellow scrambled egs and butchers bacon and sausages. Rosemary's artistic energy evident everywhere and we enjoyed a lovely walk around the garden and met the hens...with attitude. Would recommend this place to anyone wanting to have an amazing time in Ironbridge.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you want an en suite. We didn't have one but didn't make much difference h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Would rate 4.5 but this is not available as a score on tripadvisor and I am sure this is by far the best in the area so have made it a five so you do not miss out.

In Telford for business, with my wife along for the trip so we chose soemthing relaxing and away from the busy city centre. The Rectory was an excellent choice for this.

It is located within a few steps of very long, first rate walking and cyle trails as well as being in a beautiful garden setting of tis own. Short distance to historic villages and sites as well as beautiful country drives. We were really surpised at how much there was in the area.

The property is very well renovated and maintained. The room and bathroom are very large and classic stye, excellent appointment, lots of light, nice garden view. Extremely clean. Plenty of storage. The breakfast room and shared lounge are nice, with an open fire each night for us to relax with a piece of cake and tea.

The hosts are a lovely couple. They provide the perfect balance between welcome assistance and giving you space to relax.

It was around 15 degrees outside and we thought a little cold inside the rooms. A blow heater was provided in the bedroom but did not really do the job. A little chill in the breakfast room and lounge.

The house is dog friendly, the owners dogs do move about in the house with the them.They were fine, even though I am usually a bit fussy about this. If you do not like the sound of this, then do not go to avoid disappointment and complaint.

Go here doing business in Telford or just touring anywhere in the region, there is really lots to do about.

Room Tip: We had a double room with king bed. very large. Could not have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Welcoming hosts, easy company, coffee and scones by a roaring fire on arrival. Great start for a great stay. Comfortable bed, good sized room.
Beautiful breakfast, wide choice, and delightfully presented.
What more do you want?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank martynemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was working at a show and picked the is fantastic B&B as an alternative to the onsite offerings, and am so glad I did.

Beautiful property and rooms, so nice to be greeted with coffee and cakes, what a surprise.Very quiet for me a real bonus as I live in the countryside and normaly have a problem in hotels.

Breakfast was great, real quality.

ANd a big thanks for the understanding over the mistake in arrival date!

Room Tip: Any they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjohnbickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I can only write great things.
This is the most immaculate place I have ever staid at, anywhere.
Everything is done to a high standard while preserving its wonderful country atmosphere.
Thoughtful touches in the room you would not expect at this rate. Welcoming, friendly hosts with home made cream tea in beautiful tea room.
Beautifully kept big garden.
I would expect to see this all around quality at a higher rate.
Locally sourced breakfast. What else could one possibly wish for a get away weekend?
All around perfection.

Possibly the best place we have ever staid at.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clytemnestra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great period property with lovely gardens. Large double bedrooms with brand new bathrooms. home from home charm, great breakfast! Excellent hospitality by a couple that clearly go the extra mile in running the house and sourcing local high quality food and drink. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TRM-MAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review - we hope you can return one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.8 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
917 reviews
4.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
1.0 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory of St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory of St James

Property: The Old Rectory of St James
Address: Stirchley Road | Stirchley Village, Telford TF3 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory of St James 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal choice for Business and Pleasure. Rosemary and Adrian are delighted to welcome you to this period Georgian Guest House, set in a quiet oasis, within easy reach of the bustling centre of Telford, the footpaths over the Shropshire hills and historic Ironbridge. Originally the Rectory of St James' Church from the 17th century to about 1975, it now provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation, with charm and character, and that little bit extra. We delight in providing a welcoming atmosphere where the simple things are done well; a vase of freshly cut flowers in your room: Afternoon Tea to greet you on your arrival: a well cooked breakfast of locally produced ingredients with homemade bread and jams plus eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory of St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Of St James Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing