We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, great staff and great service -”

The Grove At Walcot
Ranked #3 of 245 Restaurants in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We specialise in the black rock grill, steaks cook at the table on a lava rock,serving only the best extra mature Aberdeen Angus and wild steaks and have a huge selection of home made desserts and serve afternoon tea from 3pm on a Sundays. For afternoon teas bookings only.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great staff and great service -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Having driven past the grove for many years, we went in to try their famous "black rock grill" one day - little did we know it would be the start of what has been many fabulous meals prepared by chef/proprietor Leslie accompanied by great wines and beers served by husband John ....
Their Sunday platters are a must, but book early to avoid disappointment as they also have a varied menu as well as the "black rock grill" and the menu changes regularly. One more thing - if you can manage a sweet - they are delicious and all home made. All the food is cooked to order fresh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank debgarbett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keever0, Owner at The Grove At Walcot, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
thankyou so much for your super review, we look forward to seeing you again soon ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    68
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SUPERB!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Had the most amazing meal at The Grove, this is now most definately my restaurant of choice. Cant wait to go again.

This was our choice of venue for our "first date" have to laugh saying that! We were warmly welcomed at the bar and shown to our table. The waitress was brilliant and such a laugh (it was her birthday and she had to wear a huge badge declaring the fact)

For starters, I ordered lightly battered Dublin Bay Prawns (Im sure thats what they were called) they were delicious and if this had been my last meal on earth I would have been over the moon. My "date" had a Manchester Egg (again Im sure thats its name) he was of the same opinion as me, superb. Date going well so far and he even bought me another drink!

Onto main courses, we both chose the black rock fillet steak, one word ... wow! It was explained how the steak would be cooked, seared on the black rock, which is incredibly hot, for a few seconds then served. You cut pieces of steak off and it cooks to your liking. The rock stayed red hot right until the last mouthfull had gone. This was served with onions and mushrooms and handcut chips and a side salad. Every single mouthfull was a joy, I dont usually get all romantic about food but this meal was beyond words.

Now for the desserts, on display is the most wonderful array of cakes and such that you simply cannot ignore. We decided to share one ... ahhh how romantic! Well it was till it arrived then Im afraid to say it was every man for himself! Naturally I bagged the bigger half! We had strawberry merangue roulade, with cream, again to die for!

I cannot praise The Grove highly enough. The staff, the food, the atmosphere all absolutely faultless. Im sure it was because of the success of this meal that I managed to get a second date with my gentleman friend, guess where we will be going!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank browncow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keever0, Owner at The Grove At Walcot, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
thank you for such a super review,, we are soooo pleased you enjoyed your first visit, and that you are going on another date,, we have added to our menu and the desserts, so hopefully see you soon,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

WOW just got back from our first visit to this gorgeous country pub/restaurant, could not fault a single thing our starters and fillet steaks were beautiful, I was that full I couldn't fit in a dessert!! However i have taken one home with me and........... Beautiful. We will defo be visiting here again :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keever0, Owner at The Grove At Walcot, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
thankyou !! for your super review , we have our new year menu out and new puds,happy new year to you and hope to see you soon,, lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

We're can I start this place was amazing, lovely walm welcome on arrival clean and homely!
Food was to die for black rock is a must! Iv never tasted steak like it!
Can't wait to go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amy1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keever0, Owner at The Grove At Walcot, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
thank you for your fantastic review,, we ahve our new menu and new puds are on,, happy new year to you and see you soon ,lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, staff and VFM. You will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We’ve just got back from visiting family in the area and visited The Grove based on reviews on this site. We were not disappointed
From the moment we walked in the staff were very friendly and were informative about the food and the wines available
We had the Sunday roast platter, a mountain of three meats, veg, Yorkshires and roast potatoes and were told if we wanted any more just shout. There was no need! As well as plentiful, the food was superb
Having seen the desserts we had to give them a try. Without doubt, the best desserts we have tasted in a pub/restaurant, and all made on the premises!
It gave great value for money, and will definitely be visiting here again. Next time we may give the steaks a try, those that were having steaks were complimenting staff on them

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keever0, Owner at The Grove At Walcot, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
many thanks for your excellent review, it means a lot to us to see how we are providing a good evening all round,, happy new year to you ,hope to see you soon, lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove At Walcot also viewed

 
Telford, Shropshire
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Grove At Walcot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing