We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and good facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
oldham UK
Level Contributor
225 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great staff and good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Visited this hotel whilst working at a show nearby at Weston park
The staff are all so attentive to customer needs mostly young but obviously well trained
The food was just above average the breakfast was excellent
On the Friday night the hotel was over run by young girls attending a local cheerleaders competition when we complained the next morning the staff had already got a plan for the next night a private supervised room for the kids so no further problems - brilliant idea from whoever
Special mention to Terry in the restaraunt quite simply a brilliant worker always smiling and so friendly

Room Tip: Avoid any cheerleaders competitions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    195
    125
    39
    28
See reviews for
140
152
17
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just got back after enjoyable day, my aunt and I used a Groupon offer. Special thanks to the girls in Lilly's who made us feel so relaxed. Pedicure, facial and massage were excellent, I was still very chilled when arrived home after driving through horrendous weather. Pool area was a bit soulless but I did sit in there and found it quite relaxing. Gym looked very good, lots of equipment. Lunch excellent, 2 courses with glass of wine each. Portions very generous, my aunt's salmon was the biggest restaurant portion I had ever seen!

Only one complaint. No water dispensers. I did ask for a plastic cup to have a drink from the water fountain in the gym, but the guy on reception couldn't find any. I turned down his offer to go and find some as these should be standard supply anyway for a place with a gym and other leisure facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poshgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE SHIRE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is the second visit to this hotel as it was easily located for where I needed to be, the leisure facilities are excellent opening early morning until 10 p.m. the pool is a good size with a jacuzzi and sauna. The gym is also a good size with plenty of machines. The hotel is a good size with ample parking and rooms are spacious, The hotel over looks Telford footy ground which is nice and quiet. There was early hours noise/disturbance of other returning to their rooms after a night out.
The staff could be friendlier as they did not seem too eager to help of even speak, I saw one customer waiting at reception for a good 5 mins and then had to knock on a door to get someone to come and see him.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShireCaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here one night, with two children in tow. The exterior looks a little "conference centre" ish, but inside, the reception was fine and smart. When we got to our enormous room, we realised that the childrens beds werent there, but it was quickly fixed. The swimming pool was a nice bonus and adequate for the size of the hotel, the fitness centre is open to non guests, so there was a swimming lesson going on, which did use up some of the pool.

Breakfast the next morning was a pleasant surprise as Id seen negative reviews about the food, but it was great, nice selection and lovely view over the football pitch, much to the delight of my two footie mad children !!!

There seemed to be a few problems for other guests due to noise from other rooms, but I was reassured by how well the receptionist handled the whole situation.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for one night in June. The hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable but very basic. I don't think the hotel was very busy when we stayed so on a night time it was very quiet. Reception is a little unwelcoming and the staff don't really appear to know what they are doing. I would return for one night again but would not consider staying here over several nights

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourreview_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thanks for this review and i am delighted that you had a good night's sleep. please accept my apologies that you found reception unwelcoming, this is most uncharacteristic. We have just recruited a couple of new receptionists and are in the process of going through an extensive training programme, which hopefully alleviate any other client experiencing this.

I hope i may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Overlooking the football ground, a modern hotel with little character, but in a convenient location. Reception staff were very welcoming, and our bedroom was large and extremely quiet overnight. We were at a function, so were unable to use the Dining Room in the evening or the Spa area during our stay. Breakfast was plentious and tasty.

We are likely to return to the area, and we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Many thanks for this review and i am delighted you had an enjoyable stay, especially your comments about the Receptionist. It is always a pleasure receiving positive feedback your comments have been forwarded to all the relevant staff.

I hope i may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Myself and a friend went on a Groupon spa day to the Telford Whitehouse Hotel. All in all we enjoyed it. We did a spot of shopping in Telford on the way as I dont think we could have spent the whole day at the hotel, as others have said the pool isnt huge and swimming lessons were on. Sauna was lovely, as was the jacuzzi but the steam room smelt very mouldy and we didnt dare risk that!, showers werent great either, only one around the pool works and the ones in changing rooms could do with an update, and quite a few lockers were broken.

Lilys beauty salon for our treatments were great, lovely girls, very relaxing, we had a back massage, manicure and facial all lovely!, would definately return just for that.

We had lunch at the hotel, which was very nice, salmon with new potatoes and sugar snap peas with a tarragon sauce and a glass of wine. A choice of starter or desserts were offered and we chose the cheese board which was quite adaquate. Service was very slow and there was only us in there!, We feel we had a bargain from Groupon and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Many thanks for this review and i am delighted that you enjoyed your Spa Day, your comments have been passed onto the relevant people. Once again many thanks and i hope i may welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Whitehouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telford Whitehouse Hotel is located just off the M54 at junction 6, with direct access to the M5/M6 and M42; 15 minutes from the medieval town of Shrewsbury and the World Heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums. The Wrekin can be seen from the Hotel, with the local area offering extensive walks for Ramblers and with a network of dedicated cycle routes it affords those with children the opportunity to take active holidays.LEISURE.The Hotel boasts extensive leisure facilities with a 44 Station Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Jacuzzi and Steam Room.Alternatively take time out and indulge yourself with a relaxing treatment by making an appointment at Lilly’s Beauty Salon or have your hair done at Obsessions. It is advisable to pre-book your appointment.DINING AT WHITEHOUSE.The Telford Whitehouse Hotel offers both a Bar to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner or post work drink, in addition to the Sir Stephen’s Brassiere which offers a wide range of food to whet the appetite. 24 hour Room Service is also available to guests. Find out more...Children under 12, may choose a main course free of charge from the children’s menu , with each adult dining in the Hotel’s Sir Stephen’s Brassiere with them.BUSINESS TRAVELLERFor the Corporate Traveller, the Telford Whitehouse Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Telford Town Centre, International Centre and the area office for Capgemini and Fujitsu. In addition, the road network links into the Industrial Sites of Hortonwood, Halesfield and Stafford Park making it an ideal location for the business traveller. The hotel boasts extensive conference & event facilities for up to 400 delegates; the perfect venue for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Telford Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford White Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing