We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting RAF Cosford and Ironbridge. We had a good sized family room which was great. Our two boys loved being able to use the pool (towels provided) and the reception team were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor at the back and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChopsandBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Many thanks for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay, it's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for one night to break up the long journey home from Scotland to Essex.

On arrival my partner placed his debit card into the machine to pay for the room as it was only reserved on line, but the receptionist told us "card has been declined". As we knew this to be an impossibility we asked her to try it again, and low and behold it went through and we were then advised that she was "new to the machine".....eh? With a queue forming behind, being told your card had been declined was not a good start.

When we got into the room it was a twin, which was not what we had booked, I called reception straight away and was told that all the double rooms had gone as they had got very busy quickly. I was not prepared to accept this as we would not have stayed in this hotel if a twin room was the only available option.

After a short while standing my ground, she said she would call me back but as there were no double rooms left she didn't know what she would be able to do. I made it clear that I had booked a double and wanted a double, not two very small beds. Suddenly, a double room was found for us.

Very clean hotel and room, although bathroom tile grout needed a clean/re-grout.

Plenty of hot water and we had a good nights sleep in a quiet room at the back. I cannot really see a 4 star here, but it was ok and we would probably stay again.

Aside of the debit card embarrassment and the confusion as to whether there was a double room free, the receptionist was friendly and helpful, and did her best to resolve the room issue. Although why we're we told they had no availability when they clearly did?!

Overall, it was a fair hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Many thanks for leaving your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the embarrassment you experienced on check in and the inconvenience of being allocated the incorrect room type. This aside, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

3 night stay over here, well-appointed hotel with leisure facilities included so use of gym, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna a welcome bonus. Modern hotel, car park off main road (sharp right turn after traffic lights into Regent Street) adjacent to AFC Telford Utd. Room clean, comfy bed, tricky shower/bath combo (turn too far as I did and get soaked) but plenty of room and towels refreshed daily as was tea/coffee with a welcome generous supply of milk.
Breakfast excellent, all freshly cooked and additional requests all catered for by helpful staff. Orange juice ran out on 1st morning but minor quibble.
Bar area comfortable and quiet, closed early at 10.30 on last night (wasn't sure why) and we were politely directed to 'The Dugout' sports bar for further orders - fine but Sky sports coverage tended to deter quiet conversation. Again only a minor issue and didn't spoil what was a nice relaxing break - certainly return next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikingDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel for the fifth time and the family are really happy to stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful, the family room is clean, comfortable, well equipped and spacious with two large beds. We took advantage of the hotels swimming pool which is a decent size and clean. The excellent breakfast is well worth including in you package. The position of the hotel just off the M54 is ideal to explore Telford and the surrounding area, plenty of parking spaces outside the hotel. Would recommend anyone visiting the area to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with our two sons (13 and 7).
Very friendly staff. Good value for money too.
Very clean and large size room.
There are no great views but I guess you need to travel to other places for that!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we do appreciate all feedback we receive. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed here to go to Blist Hill and the other experiences around the area we had a great time the hotel was welcoming comfortable and the complimentary breakfast set us up for the day the Leisure Center was clean the pool lovely after a day of walking around it was just what you needed to wind down. Staff were helpful and friendly Rooms were comfortable and spacious and very clean.

Room Tip: I don't think it really matters what room you have the only noise we had was from other guest wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie324569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the hotel in 8 weeks. On both occasions we received a very comfortable room on the second floor (overlooking the football pitch) as that is the quiet side of the hotel. The en-suite was clean and the bed was comfy and the room was a good size. Breakfast was good value and there is a leisure centre attached which residents could use free of charge. Overall I think this is good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on Pitch side are quieter. Room 215 you can open the window whereas 214 only opens a small way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kas531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Telford Whitehouse. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,219 reviews
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range: £57 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Whitehouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telford Whitehouse Hotel is located just off the M54 at junction 6, with direct access to the M5/M6 and M42; 15 minutes from the medieval town of Shrewsbury and the World Heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums. The Wrekin can be seen from the Hotel, with the local area offering extensive walks for Ramblers and with a network of dedicated cycle routes it affords those with children the opportunity to take active holidays.LEISURE.The Hotel boasts extensive leisure facilities with a 44 Station Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Jacuzzi and Steam Room.Alternatively take time out and indulge yourself with a relaxing treatment by making an appointment at Lilly’s Beauty Salon or have your hair done at Obsessions. It is advisable to pre-book your appointment.DINING AT WHITEHOUSE.The Telford Whitehouse Hotel offers both a Bar to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner or post work drink, in addition to the Sir Stephen’s Brassiere which offers a wide range of food to whet the appetite. 24 hour Room Service is also available to guests. Find out more...Children under 12, may choose a main course free of charge from the children’s menu , with each adult dining in the Hotel’s Sir Stephen’s Brassiere with them.BUSINESS TRAVELLERFor the Corporate Traveller, the Telford Whitehouse Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Telford Town Centre, International Centre and the area office for Capgemini and Fujitsu. In addition, the road network links into the Industrial Sites of Hortonwood, Halesfield and Stafford Park making it an ideal location for the business traveller. The hotel boasts extensive conference & event facilities for up to 400 delegates; the perfect venue for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telford Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford White Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing