We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Stay disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Previous stays have always enjoyed, but have to say things are on the decline here. Either a lack of investment or a complete lack of attention to training and service. Bedroom was dirty from sick stains to lack of hovering. Bathroom needs re grouting. Housekeeping is poor to say the least.
The positive was breakfast was cooked well but had to ask the (5 service staff standing around) on duty for everything. Can we have a coffee, can we have toast? Nothing offered, tables left while we all have a conversation etc get the picture.
Also need to review your uniform or lack of policy. Random leg ins and sports ware are not the way forward, camel toe grey pants are not a good look for any professional establishment

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Revenue Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent stay, the issues you experienced have been raised with the relevant heads of departments. I can assure you this isn't consistent with our usual high standards. With regards to the uniform policy, each member of the team is issued with a uniform. However last Friday, Saturday and Sunday the hotel took part in Sports Relief by encouraging the staff to dress in sportswear and donate to the cause, by doing so the hotel raised over £300. There was signage displayed around the hotel informing guests of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I am not pleased with the service or standards of this hotel. As for the swimming pool area; the dirt around the jacuzzi needs bleaching and a good brush and elbow grease. The gym is okay considering it is a hotel facility. The breakfast is good but the rooms are shabby with dirty towels and dodgy broken toilets.

You can get cheaper hotels in the area and better value at Iron bridge

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamonds183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Telford White House as part of a Lions Clubs International Convention and it was a really great experience. The staff could not be faulted on friendliness and efficiently and they catered for our 2 evening parties and 1 business session extremely well.

Food was very good; a relaxed evening on Friday with buffet style food served at individual tables and a formal dinner on Saturday where 150+ guests were served with piping hot meals - something a number of more expensive hotels seem to find difficult to achieve. Breakfast also excellent - self service style but when the heated cabinets failed on Sunday morning, additional staff were drafted in immediately to serve tables until the problem was put right.

Rooms are of a good size, beds very comfortable and all in all a really good place to stay in Telford.

Room Tip: There is some noise from rooms on the road side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The service from the staff at The Telford Whitehouse was brilliant. I couldn't fault them. The room was stunning, unfortunately the bed is far too soft (possibly in need of replacement?). I wish the website said that they accepted dogs as having a partner who is both allergic to and dislikes them to have one in the room by us yapping for hours was a shame. The leisure facilities were also excellent and we spent may an hour there. Overall had a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyshelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Check in was no problem, room was very large & on the main road & could hear a bit noise. This could b a problem in the summer as there appeared 2 b no air con. Hotel staff were great, colleague arrived late but we still managed 2 get something 2 eat & the food was great. All in all good & comfortable stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Suemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were transferred here after the travelodge at shawbirch had over booked. Arrived at 9.30pm, tired and fed up after a 6 hour journey and were greeted with warm friendliness by Richard on reception. The rooms were large, clean and welcoming. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was really good. All the staff we came into contact with we're excellent .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Overall the hotel was okay.
I stayed last night with a friend.
The receptionist was friendly on check in and directed us to our room quickly.

Comments on the room:
It was a ground floor room and personally I hate being on the ground floor but I actually didn't mind it as I couldn't hear any outside noise from the room and the ceiling was high so I didn't feel closed in.
Having said that, the walls are thin... from the time we check in to the time we checked out this morning the next door room did nothing but laugh talk and run around loudly. Not really the hotels fault and there's not much they could of done about it so I didn't mention anything.
The bathroom could use a little tlc, the grouting and shower curtain are a little sorrowful but no real complaints. The shower worked and the bathroom is big.
The bed is comfy and personally I found the pillows to be heavenly, they were nice and soft.
The room was clean and very spacious, took me a while to find the kettle though!

We had room service and the food was lovely, nice big portions and very tasty. I couldn't finish mine and my fried has not stopped commenting on how nice the lamb was! The goat cheese ravioli was a real treat for me personally. We did not have breakfast but if the evening meal is anything to go by I bet it is worth the money.

Check out was smooth, the lady who checked us out was very friendly and full of life. It's always nice to see a smiling face when you wake up!

Overall, I have enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zolososo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,243 reviews
3.0 mi away
International Hotel Telford
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range: £53 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Whitehouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telford Whitehouse Hotel is located just off the M54 at junction 6, with direct access to the M5/M6 and M42; 15 minutes from the medieval town of Shrewsbury and the World Heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums. The Wrekin can be seen from the Hotel, with the local area offering extensive walks for Ramblers and with a network of dedicated cycle routes it affords those with children the opportunity to take active holidays.LEISURE.The Hotel boasts extensive leisure facilities with a 44 Station Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Jacuzzi and Steam Room.Alternatively take time out and indulge yourself with a relaxing treatment by making an appointment at Lilly’s Beauty Salon or have your hair done at Obsessions. It is advisable to pre-book your appointment.DINING AT WHITEHOUSE.The Telford Whitehouse Hotel offers both a Bar to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner or post work drink, in addition to the Sir Stephen’s Brassiere which offers a wide range of food to whet the appetite. 24 hour Room Service is also available to guests. Find out more...Children under 12, may choose a main course free of charge from the children’s menu , with each adult dining in the Hotel’s Sir Stephen’s Brassiere with them.BUSINESS TRAVELLERFor the Corporate Traveller, the Telford Whitehouse Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Telford Town Centre, International Centre and the area office for Capgemini and Fujitsu. In addition, the road network links into the Industrial Sites of Hortonwood, Halesfield and Stafford Park making it an ideal location for the business traveller. The hotel boasts extensive conference & event facilities for up to 400 delegates; the perfect venue for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Telford Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford White Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing