We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need but not luxury.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need but not luxury.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Advertised as a four star hotel, I wouldn't say it lives up to the standards of most of the four star places I have stayed at but it is ok. The rooms are spacious and clean with all the basics. It is more premier inn than four star luxury. The bed was not comfortable as advertised. The breakfast was disappointing. There was a lack of staff and food! Service was slow. I could have set the table for eight quicker myself. We had to ask for the bacon and eggs to be replenished on both days. There was never a complete set of hot food to choose from and no black pudding at all. There was fried bread one day but not the next. There was always something missing from the selection, and this was when the restaurant was fairly empty. There were no fresh pastries left. They had all gone and not replaced. We had to ask for extra toast. All a bit slack and basic. You would be better saving your money and driving down the road to the Toby Inn for breakfast. There would be more choice and better service. The only good thing about the restaurant was the view over the stadium. Be warned, the excited crowd noise does enter the hotel but I liked that. The attached leisure complex was ok. The pool was a comfortable temperature. Four people can use the spa and there is a steam room and sauna. I felt the changing rooms were looking a bit tired and hardly any of the lockers worked. It felt a bit unclean. The gym was excellent. Well equipped. I also visited Lilly's beauty. This was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel. All in all, an ok stay, great location for IronBridge but some improvements could be made to get that four star feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. It gets very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    208
    126
    40
    28
See reviews for
144
156
18
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

After reading the mixed reviews I was a little wary but relaxed when we entered our bedroom. It was clean and spacious. Leisure centre changing rooms were out of action so we had to go to our room with our towels on. That wasn't great as we picked the hotel because it had a pool. Kids swimming lessons were on so it was noisy and all the parents sat around the pool. Sauna and steam was good. We did have a room on the roadside but level 2 so noise was not an issue but you wouldn't be able to sleep with the window open. Dinner in the brasserie- nice big restaurant with a view of the football club, the kids liked that. Kids meals fine but adult meals "specials" were pretty poor. Watery fish and dry lamb shank. I wish we had gone it and also they ran out of olive oil for the oil and vinegar!!! Restaurant was quite empty and its not a surprise. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JC-the-organiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Really happy with the hotel. Free car park, friendly staff, great breakfast. Children enjoyed swimming pool, but as one was 15 needed an adult to accompany them. Probably needed making clearer? Quite quiet as nighttime which is always a bonus. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On a busy main road with police sirens passing all night. Large clean rooms with comfy beds.
No restaurants with in walking distance. No toilet facilites in reception , you have to go to the rugby club bar attached.

Room Tip: Do not go on main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

we went to the whitehouse hotel in wellington shrops for mothers day lunch. this was following a superb christmas day lunch last year. as before the food service and staff are outstsanding. nothing is too much trouble. we had forgotten to preorder a different meal for one little fussy eater but when i asked a meal was prepered freshly for him. would recommend this resteraunt to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a room only deal , and were staying only one night.The room was very spacious , a large flatscreen TV and large bathroom with a decent sized bath.We faced onto the main road but the double glazing was excellent . The room was clean and we didn't hear any noise from our neigbours. Only worry was it did get very warm during the night and if you had to open the windows ( surprisingly there is no Air Con for a modern building) then that could be noisy. We ate at the restaurant but the food was average , and overpriced , we did not have breakfast included. I tried the leisure facilities , all were excellent , and the staff very helpful.Would definetly use again but probably eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is more than adequate for a short break with many attractions local to it. It definitely gives you value for money with a spacious car park, large rooms with comfortable beds and clean facilities that don't seem to be available at many similar priced establishments. I would gladly return for business or pleasure.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
1.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Whitehouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telford Whitehouse Hotel is located just off the M54 at junction 6, with direct access to the M5/M6 and M42; 15 minutes from the medieval town of Shrewsbury and the World Heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums. The Wrekin can be seen from the Hotel, with the local area offering extensive walks for Ramblers and with a network of dedicated cycle routes it affords those with children the opportunity to take active holidays.LEISURE.The Hotel boasts extensive leisure facilities with a 44 Station Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Jacuzzi and Steam Room.Alternatively take time out and indulge yourself with a relaxing treatment by making an appointment at Lilly’s Beauty Salon or have your hair done at Obsessions. It is advisable to pre-book your appointment.DINING AT WHITEHOUSE.The Telford Whitehouse Hotel offers both a Bar to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner or post work drink, in addition to the Sir Stephen’s Brassiere which offers a wide range of food to whet the appetite. 24 hour Room Service is also available to guests. Find out more...Children under 12, may choose a main course free of charge from the children’s menu , with each adult dining in the Hotel’s Sir Stephen’s Brassiere with them.BUSINESS TRAVELLERFor the Corporate Traveller, the Telford Whitehouse Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Telford Town Centre, International Centre and the area office for Capgemini and Fujitsu. In addition, the road network links into the Industrial Sites of Hortonwood, Halesfield and Stafford Park making it an ideal location for the business traveller. The hotel boasts extensive conference & event facilities for up to 400 delegates; the perfect venue for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Telford Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford White Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing