We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location For Visiting Local Tourist Attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Reviewed 28 July 2014

With easy access from the M54, the Telford Whitehouse is ideal for visiting Telford, Shrewsbury and local tourist attractions including the West Midland Safari Park and Ironbridge Gorge.

Check-in was efficient, the staff very friendly and our room was spacious and clean.

We traveled to Wolverhampton on Saturday night to enjoy a meal at the Bilash but ate all our other meals in the hotel and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food.

We took advantage of one of the deals advertised on their website and enjoyed two nights bed & breakfast and Sunday Lunch for £140. This included a free Sunday paper and a 4pm check-out (normally 11am) which gave us plenty of time to use the leisure club and swimming pool.

Tip: Ask for a table by the window and enjoy your meal overlooking the football pitch.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank JCA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Good afternoon.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Telford Whitehouse Hotel. We are glad you used and enjoyed the facilities we have on offer. We like to offer great food and we agree that the windows overlooking the pitch really give it a wow factor

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon

Regards


Mark Beamson

HOD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

After an 8 hour drive to cover the 230 miles to Telford we were shattered. The entrance into the hotel is slightly odd as it is right off a junction by some traffic lights, which seemed to be blocked by traffic waiting at the lights. Upon arrival in reception it was lovely and cool, which was refreshing seeing it was 28 degrees outside. Unfortunately the air conditioning does not extend to the hotel bedrooms as it was red hot in ours. Enquired about a fan but there were none left. Sad as it may seem I decided to put one in the boot " just in case". so brought that in. Our room was facing the front, which was on the main road heading to Wellington and Telford. With both windows open, to get some air through, it was quite noisy with traffic. Used the on site leisure complex which was fine, even though half the pool was out of bounds for swimming lessons. On returning to our room found we only had had two towels and two cups for a family room containing three of us. This though was quickly sorted by reception. We used the restaurant on the first night. the air conditioning had broken down and there was a portable unit, which due to the restaurant being quiet, seemed to cope fairly well, although the bar area next door was really hot. Food was lovely with the portion size being very large but good quality. After the meal went to the Dugout bar. Nice place to chill and watch the TV and have a beer. The staff were good and dealt with our issues adequately but the heat of the rooms and the fact the hotel is too far away from any local eateries and decent pubs mean we would not go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor or above facing the back of the hotel away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

2 night stay whilst visiting family and was extremely disappointing. The rooms are extremely hot and the hotel is by a main road, so don't expect to get much sleep!
To make things worse there was no water pressure. Could hardly brush our teeth let alone run a bath. When we complained they were extremely reluctant to do anything at all.

Breakfast was nice yet there was nobody there! Had to find our own tables and then had to walk around the hotel to find someone to get us tea and coffee.

As for the spa, the pool is nice but the shower facilities were not clean.

I definitely will not be revisiting - avoid!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt98765432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Was only staying one night thank God. Room very basic. Got to hotel very late at night and had to be up and out of hotel by 8am, they don't start serving breakfast til 8am so opted for continental breakfast which should have been cereal, croissants and Danish with tea or coffee and juice, not what turned up, cheap cornflakes, cold toast and a cheap muffin cold tea and coffee, pity we didnt Have the time to complain. Bathroom not enough towels for 2 of us and not white and fluffy ( more flat and grey), but did find extra towels in wardrobe as we were leaving. Toilet so noisy when flushed. Grout in tiles very mouldy all over. Would definitely not stay here again. We paid just over £100 for one night. Good location for our needs

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zookoo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Apologies the room was to basic for your requirements. As for breakfast I can assure you that the cereal (corn flakes) we use is Kellogg's 100% and if you do require an early cooked breakfast then we are happy to accommodate these requests.
Thank you for making us aware of the unsatisfactory standard of the towels in your room, we are now contacting the linen company personally to inform them of your feedback.
We are aware that a minority of the bathrooms within the hotel are in need of attention, a schedule to address these has been sorted and we can confirm that works have already begun within the property to improve the overall condition of the bathrooms.

Thank you

Aimee (Sales Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Only stayed here for 1 night, but the room was very good. Much bigger than average size King size bed, tea x coffee facility's, very clean. Good breakfast with lots of choices and I think good value @ £60.00 for 2 people.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lewdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very friendly staff and spotlessly clean but lacks any personality and the room felt bleak. Rooms at the front of the hotel are not peaceful as the road (A5) is very noisy although was a little quieter between midnight and 5am!! Breakfast is served as a buffet and was hot and perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The White House Hotel and Spa have brilliant Swimming, Gym, and Spa facilities, and also offer beauty, massage treatments and hairdressing.
Life@theWhitehouse offers month by month membership, or a three month discounted price if you pay a year up front, example : 12 months Swim, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi package costs £225 ! Add another £63 and you can have Gym access too. These prices are for full access 06.30 - 22.00 Monday to Friday, and 08.00- 20.00 at weekends! Staff are really helpful, very motivated and friendly, and members are just the nicest people ever! Members receive 25% discount off food and drink purchases, and 10% off all beauty treatments (the massages here are AMAZING!) Joining this facility is one of the best decisions I have ever made, I'm looking good, feeling good and have a whole new circle of friends! BRILLIANT!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hotel as there is a main road to the front of the Hotel that has e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACQUIEATHERSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Manager at Telford Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi Jacquie

Thank you for your review, and thank you for your positive feedback. We try to make the environment as welcoming as possible to make it as easy as possible to attain those all important goals.
We are glad you find it enjoyable

Thanks again Mark (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,219 reviews
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range: £56 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Whitehouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telford Whitehouse Hotel is located just off the M54 at junction 6, with direct access to the M5/M6 and M42; 15 minutes from the medieval town of Shrewsbury and the World Heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums. The Wrekin can be seen from the Hotel, with the local area offering extensive walks for Ramblers and with a network of dedicated cycle routes it affords those with children the opportunity to take active holidays.LEISURE.The Hotel boasts extensive leisure facilities with a 44 Station Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Jacuzzi and Steam Room.Alternatively take time out and indulge yourself with a relaxing treatment by making an appointment at Lilly’s Beauty Salon or have your hair done at Obsessions. It is advisable to pre-book your appointment.DINING AT WHITEHOUSE.The Telford Whitehouse Hotel offers both a Bar to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner or post work drink, in addition to the Sir Stephen’s Brassiere which offers a wide range of food to whet the appetite. 24 hour Room Service is also available to guests. Find out more...Children under 12, may choose a main course free of charge from the children’s menu , with each adult dining in the Hotel’s Sir Stephen’s Brassiere with them.BUSINESS TRAVELLERFor the Corporate Traveller, the Telford Whitehouse Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Telford Town Centre, International Centre and the area office for Capgemini and Fujitsu. In addition, the road network links into the Industrial Sites of Hortonwood, Halesfield and Stafford Park making it an ideal location for the business traveller. The hotel boasts extensive conference & event facilities for up to 400 delegates; the perfect venue for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telford Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford White Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing