We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy - we've given up on this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Over the years we've stayed at this hotel five or six times.

The hotel amenities are good and the price competitive, but be warned - the rooms are very noise transparent. You really are at the mercy of the people in adjoining rooms.

For example during our recent stay the family next door watched television until 11:30 pm and their young kids woke up at 5:45 am.

We were booked in for two nights but checked out after the first.

The most annoying things about this were (a) we'd asked for a quiet room when booking but (b) all the guests seemed to be placed in adjacent rooms even though the hotel appeared to be less than half full - maybe to make life easier for the cleaners?

So, this is a great hotel to stay - if you are deaf.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonTravellerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2008

Lovely looking newish hotel situated beside a main road which we could hear (traffic). We received a lovely welcome upon arrival (in Reception). Good sized rooms & a selection of toiletries provided, my recommendation would be for the hotel to also provide wash flannels in their bathroom as I travelled with young children. All items in room were in working order. I pre-booked the dinner within the room rate & the food was of a high standard with good presentation, even if a little over priced in comparison to other hotels. The hotel has a good sized swimming pool & other leisure activities which unfortunately we did not take advantage of during this stay.

We are due to return to this hotel within the next few weeks so are hoping to take advantage of their leisure facilities this time around!.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Excellent clean spacious double room.Facilities v good.Not impressed with dinner.Food was okay and included in our package ,however if we had payed the price on the menu I feel it would have been overpriced.Breakfast good.All staff excellent and an asset to the hotel.Will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilymerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We booked the hotel last minute to break up a journey down south. When we arrived we were a little surprised that the hotel was connected to Telford Football Club. Do not let this put you off! The staff are V Helpful, the food is fantastic - and the leisure facilities are great. We had a family room which was nice. A good stay all round. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LancashireThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Me and my wife have just retured after a two night stay on a bb&dinner basis ,we found the hotel great, spotlessly clean, staff polite and friendly and good value for money.
The leisure facilities are very good, the breakfast was good and the evening meal was fantastic when taken on the bb&dinner rate but I would have found it expensive had it not been included, but as commented in other reports the restaurant did turn very cold as the evening progressed so take a warm top to put on, this would be my only complaint of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank honorpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Stayed here while attending a conference and the room was booked through the conference hotel booking agent. It was nearly £100 per night for B&B and I'm not sure who was making the mark-up.
The room was very spacious and comfortable. Ok choice at breakfast but the plates were cold. The menu in the evening was very limited and of the steak/burger variety. Wonderful view of the football ground if you are in to that sort of thing.
The entrance to the car park is very strange, not obvious from the road and very down market. Reception is not much better.
On business it is ok for a couple of nights but I would not choose to stay here if I was paying.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CamberleyNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

I made my reservation in Travelodge since Tripadvisor rated Travelodge #2 in Telford. I was disappointed with Travelodge. After my experience with Travelodge, what a pleasant surprise it was when I checked into the Whitehouse hotel . We, two adults and two children, booked a family room and it was about twice the size compared to the room in Travelodge. The room in Whitehouse was very clean. It had a huge corner desk and plenty of space for all 7 pieces of our luggages. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. The cookies and hot chocolate in the room were delicious. The best part of the stay was the complementary breakfast. It was the first time I had lamb chops for breakfast. It was a wonderful treat. I felt like a queen. I'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUDYTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
3 mi away
International Hotel Telford
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range: £49 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Whitehouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telford Whitehouse Hotel is located just off the M54 at junction 6, with direct access to the M5/M6 and M42; 15 minutes from the medieval town of Shrewsbury and the World Heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums. The Wrekin can be seen from the Hotel, with the local area offering extensive walks for Ramblers and with a network of dedicated cycle routes it affords those with children the opportunity to take active holidays.LEISURE.The Hotel boasts extensive leisure facilities with a 44 Station Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Jacuzzi and Steam Room.Alternatively take time out and indulge yourself with a relaxing treatment by making an appointment at Lilly’s Beauty Salon or have your hair done at Obsessions. It is advisable to pre-book your appointment.DINING AT WHITEHOUSE.The Telford Whitehouse Hotel offers both a Bar to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner or post work drink, in addition to the Sir Stephen’s Brassiere which offers a wide range of food to whet the appetite. 24 hour Room Service is also available to guests. Find out more...Children under 12, may choose a main course free of charge from the children’s menu , with each adult dining in the Hotel’s Sir Stephen’s Brassiere with them.BUSINESS TRAVELLERFor the Corporate Traveller, the Telford Whitehouse Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Telford Town Centre, International Centre and the area office for Capgemini and Fujitsu. In addition, the road network links into the Industrial Sites of Hortonwood, Halesfield and Stafford Park making it an ideal location for the business traveller. The hotel boasts extensive conference & event facilities for up to 400 delegates; the perfect venue for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Telford Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford White Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing