We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2009

On the whole this is a nice enough hotel situated on the same site as Telford football club. The rooms are pretty big and were clean. The food was okay. Staff were friendly on check-in and in the restaurant. Good swimming pool although obviously filled with children due to the summer holidays. Good base for exploring the Ironbridge museums and other attractions in Shropshire/Staffordshire.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiregal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    205
    126
    40
    28
See reviews for
143
154
18
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This hotel has the most friendly staff, good facilites and wonderful rooms.
I would highly recommend this hotel and have no minus points would make this a regular hotel of choice. Its not situated in the best area of Telford and is a little out of town form the main tourist areas Ironbridge and town Cntr.
Some of the rooms do face the busy road, however when I have contacted the hotel prior they have been more than happy to try and accomodate.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelInspector075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Efficient check in, pleasant reception staff. Lots of car parking in Telford Football Club car park. A friendly match was being played, a bit of sound from the crowd and pitch but not too bad. (Telford won 3-0!)

Surrounding area wasn't pretty but was OK and as expected. A One Stop shop was about 5 minutes walk away and there was a Chinese take away across the road.

Very modern hotel. Reasonably sized room, not much of a view (room 111) but didn't expect one. Very clean room, very comfortable bed, small table and two chairs. Iron and ironing board and safe provided. Limited toiletries - 1 tube of shower/shampoo gel and 1 soap. Good quality towels. Very thin walls, could hear every move the people next door made!

Evening meal included in the laterooms rate of £80. 3 course, a variety of choices, if paid for separately would have been about £39 for 2. A large coach party was eating but we were attended to quickly and efficiently. Restaurant staff were pleasant. Restaurant overlooked the football pitch.

Breakfast was good, buffet help yourself service, chef cooking fresh fried eggs to order. The usual "English Breakfast " items available. Nice wholemeal toast. Big pot of tea. Continental items also available, didn't try them but they looked well presented and fresh.

Check out was efficient and friendly. Smiling staff, happy to chat.

Thought it was good value for the price of £80 for a double room with B&B and a 3 course evening meal. Easy to find and close to lots of the Ironbridge attractions. Sunnycroft, a NT property about 3 minutes car journey away. Very close to the M54.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The staff were professional, helpful and friendly. Smart in appearance and intelligent!
The room was spotless and extremely comfortable and spacious.
The pool,spa and gym was excellent and staff once again polite and helpful.
The food was well presented and very good.
I asked for a room on ground floor and rear of building and got it!!!
All in all, one of the most pleasant 3 days I have spent at a hotel and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emerald69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I found this hotel while searching for a place to break a long journey South with two adults and two children. It offered a great dinner, bed and breakfast rate and had a pool. It was a few miles off the M6 but the rate was good enough to tempt us. I'm glad we did!

Although the area around the hotel didn't look great, it is easy to get to and lots to do round about. All the staff from booking, reception, leisure, bar and restaurant were very pleasant and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they had time to chat with us.

The room was spacious, clean and well equipped, they even put in an extra bed plus sofa bed for my big boys!

The swimming pool was fantastic with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and an excellent gym too. My boys played pool in the bar and watched the tennis on the big screen and felt like grown ups.

Dinner was included in our family rate but as it was such a good deal we were not too hopeful. It was great, there was a good choice for kids and adults and a really good selection of wine. The added attraction of sitting looking out over Telford United football ground was appreciated by us too. Breakfasts were excellent with attentive staff and a chef around preparing eggs and topping up the hot buffet.

All in all it was such a good experience that we went back in on our return home and again it was fantastic. The area around Telford had loads to do and Whitehouse Hotel would be a great base for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laj356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Having read previous reviews, we were not put off by the 'noisy' comments as we have a young family ourselves and no that they can generate plenty in the noise department. However...it does seam to be a problem at this hotel. The walls are paper thin and you cant tell if the niose is above, below or from the sides. Its a shame as the hotel is very clean and helpful staff. The food was good and the lesure facilities were great.
If its a quiet night you want, don't come here. Lots of other families and a nice pool to keep the kids entertained.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinnyfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Not the best of stays - agree with the other reviews regarding the noise, and the bath had to be rinsed out - didn't look like it had been cleaned (hairs :o( ).
At dinner I asked for some vegetables without butter (due to an intolerance) and they came covered in butter. Mentioned this and they were sent back only for the same vegetables to return on new bowls - still shiny with a covering of butter! Gave up in the end.
The staff were pleasent but felt let down by the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nicknocknoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Telford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
1.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Whitehouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telford Whitehouse Hotel is located just off the M54 at junction 6, with direct access to the M5/M6 and M42; 15 minutes from the medieval town of Shrewsbury and the World Heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums. The Wrekin can be seen from the Hotel, with the local area offering extensive walks for Ramblers and with a network of dedicated cycle routes it affords those with children the opportunity to take active holidays.LEISURE.The Hotel boasts extensive leisure facilities with a 44 Station Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Jacuzzi and Steam Room.Alternatively take time out and indulge yourself with a relaxing treatment by making an appointment at Lilly’s Beauty Salon or have your hair done at Obsessions. It is advisable to pre-book your appointment.DINING AT WHITEHOUSE.The Telford Whitehouse Hotel offers both a Bar to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner or post work drink, in addition to the Sir Stephen’s Brassiere which offers a wide range of food to whet the appetite. 24 hour Room Service is also available to guests. Find out more...Children under 12, may choose a main course free of charge from the children’s menu , with each adult dining in the Hotel’s Sir Stephen’s Brassiere with them.BUSINESS TRAVELLERFor the Corporate Traveller, the Telford Whitehouse Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Telford Town Centre, International Centre and the area office for Capgemini and Fujitsu. In addition, the road network links into the Industrial Sites of Hortonwood, Halesfield and Stafford Park making it an ideal location for the business traveller. The hotel boasts extensive conference & event facilities for up to 400 delegates; the perfect venue for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telford Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford White Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing