We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School party trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YHA Wilderhope Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a school residential to the manor house. Full of character and original features and catered perfectly for our school group. The staff were very friendly, food tasty and plentiful and the surrounding scenery was beautiful. The character of the property is good but needs more work to be done to really show it off. It would be great of the rooms were a little better looked after in order to celebrate the beauty of the building but overall it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank ross186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Came across this Beautiful Elizabethan manor house which was restored by John Cadbury in 1936.
Set in Beautiful countryside
It is run by The YHA and we had a quick look at some of the rooms and to be fair they seemed basic but very adequate
.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CUMBRIAVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This isn't quite what we were expecting but what a fun place. Don't expect too much other than clean, decent accommodation this is a basic youth hostel, but a Grade 1 listed Tudor Manor House it is. Hills and sheep on your doorstep, aerial displays by swallows. Stayed here with 2 kids, my wife had just got off a long haul flight so would have preferred a few more creature comforts but she got the idea of the fun of it.
If this sort of thing is your cup of tea then you will enjoy. If you want luxury accommodation you will be upset and disappointed, as others have been.

Room Tip: Family rooms are available but now en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This youth hostel is brilliant... it is the most incredible building with fascinating origional features, spectacular views and friendly staff. Because of the ancient oak doors there are no locks on the rooms however we felt very comfortable and secure in the room anyway and there are lockers for valuables. This would be a brilliant place for families to stay, it's very affordable, there's plenty of activities in the surrounding area and the building would be great for hide and seek! It is what it is, youth hostels are basic but I really liked this place and I would happily recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Further to the last review this is stunning accommodation for the price of a youth hostel. Great period features, spiral staircases, stone fireplaces etc. where else could you expect all this at a value price? Staff helpful. Food good. Kids loved it. Shropshire Way footpath &Wenlock Edge on your doorstep. Fab place to stay. Kids loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seangavin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Firstly, for those who have posted less than favourable reviews:
It. Is. A. Youth. Hostel. Repeat: A youth hostel. Simple, basic accommodation for walkers and such like.
We stayed for 2 nights with our son and some friends also with kids. The kids had a great time, as tends to be the case with youth hostels. The building is wonderful, as are the views. Where else could you stay in such a building for this price? The staff were helpful. Showers and WCs were all clean and worked perfectly. All in all I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brummie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We chose to stay in Wilderhope Manor due to its beautiful location; indeed, the scenery is stunning, but we were bitterly disappointed by the hostel and the poor service we received. So much so, that after one night we decided to cut our holiday short and go home.

I was travelling with my partner, and we specifically booked - and paid in advance for - a private double room, as opposed to a dorm (in which beds cost significantly less). However, upon arrival we were disappointed to be shown to a large dormitory with bunk beds (enough to sleep seven). Furthermore, the "double" bed that we had paid for was in fact a bunk. When we queried this, we were offered another, smaller dormitory, but still sleeping in bunk beds.

The next issue: although we booked a "private" room, ours had no lock on the door. When we queried this, we were told that none of the rooms had locks on the door. Apparently there were lockers, but none were available during our stay, and so we had to carry valuables around with us throughout the trip.

Our room was off a main corridor and had a large hole in the door, the size of a tennis ball - anyone walking past could clearly see in - definitely not the "private" room that we booked.

When we went to bed, we discovered that there was no electricity in the room - none of the lights or sockets were working, so we were unable to read or to charge our mobile phones. The next morning we asked about the electricity, and we were told that they were aware of the problem in that room, and that an electrician would be looking at it sometime in the future (obviously of no benefit to us!). We were offered no apology, however, and I was appalled that we were given this room, when they acknowledged that there was a problem.

After complaining to Youth Hostel Association, and requesting a refund, we were told that we could not be refunded since they had offered us a different room (but this was, as mentioned above, another dormitory bunk bed dormitory room). We paid significantly more to stay in a private double room, and so were incredibly disappointed by this. We were offered no apology.

I have stayed in hostels all across the world, and am used to staying in basic accommodation, but have never experienced such shoddy service. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FayeLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
14 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
13.6 mi away
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wellington
217 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hundred House Hotel
Hundred House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Norton
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
10.2 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
12 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wilderhope Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wilderhope Manor

Address: Wilderhope Manor Longville in the Dale, Telford TF13 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Telford
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Wilderhope Manor 3*
Also Known As:
YHA Wilderhope Manor Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing