We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of The Mill House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill House B&B
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you want to stay in a quiet, country atmospheric, and lovely b&b, you have to stay here. I don't understand the negative reviews as our stay was absolutely brilliant. We loved the room, the views of the river from our room were so pretty, the owners were warm and friendly, and they really tried to make you feel welcome. It's a 16th century old mill, so it's not going to be a modern luxury. The price was very reasonable as well, and the bed was so comfy, we had a good nights sleep. Couldn't ask for anything better!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curvy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this room on the last minute after seeing a pic on their website of a pleasant room stated as luxury. On arrival we were shown to a completely different room that was far from luxury with a three feet square shower ensuite room and a wardrobe that had other ppls clothes and paraphenalia inside?? The bed was hard and the kettle was so full of limescale we had to go out and buy soft drinks as the one drink we tried tasted so vile it left a taste in our mouth for hours. The house was rather depressing smelling of damp in places and appeared tired not in an olde worlde way.. just in need of a lick of paint or two. The only saving grace was that the lady owner was very pleasant in the morning and although the main breakfast was small as others on here have testified, they ommitted to add that there was on offer lots of cereal and home grown fruit and yoghurt ( i tried the damsons they were lovely) plenty of fruit juice and toast along with tons of jams and honey etc so that overall it made an adequate breakfast.
Its a pity the room was such a let down for the price as the breakfast room was fantastic being converted from the former water mill and having exposed brick and beams. The lady as stated was pleasant but being honest we have to say we would never return to this particular establishment due to the depressing room. I think their website needs an update to include a photo of this custard yellow room we actually were given so ppl know what to expect if they do ever book!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here overnight, the room was very cold and the radiator didn't work however fan heaters were provided. The room was we're big, lots of storage beds, comfy beds, there was also a kettle in the room within a variety of tea, hot chocolate and biscuits. The full English breakfast was tiny, but a wide variety of other food like toast and cereal. If I were to stay here again I would look around in the area for something with higher quality and price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Could be great if they actually wanted to do B&B. We found the stop to be unwelcoming and the breakfast small. The owners gave the impression that this was not their priority and really wanted to do something else.

Room Tip: The family room is no good if you have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pembroke_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

recently stayed at the mill not sure how it achieved four stars obviously needs to be reviewed. Cooked breakfast nicely cooked but not much of it one egg one rasher of bacon one thin sausage and one spoon of beans all served on a small plate .bedrooms basic teabags coffee and sugar in little grubby plastic boxes inside of kettle disgusting all black and green .River has disappeared and its on a very busy main road.No nice walks unless you want to go in a field of cows.owner not very hospitable and quite blunt my tip go elsewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I went to stay here with my daughter and two grandchildren who are 13 and 8years. We had spoken to the owner and explained that I have to walk with a stick and that my daughter has a wheat allergy. We paid our deposit for 30th and 31st. July 2013. When we arrived the owner seemed not to remember our conversation and our room was on the second floor. The whole place seemed dark and dank. We were offered help with our luggage which was not forthcoming. The room was tiny and totally unsuitable but we thought we would make the most of it as we were visiting Ironbridge museums and had bought a passport to enable us to visit as many as we could on our visit. We could hear creatures in the roof ,the bathroom was so tiny and the 8year old had to be lifted onto the toilet as it was positioned so high up and the tea and coffee making table was under the eaves ,so in our opinion, very dangerous. we could not settle either of the children so we left and had to drive home to Kent. We have reported this to "Visit England" who gave the place 4stars last year.

Room Tip: take care and maybe choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vera c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Ourselves and a friend booked two rooms and stayed the nights of 8th & 9th June. We were attending a vintage/classic car rally in nearby Shrewsbury. We were made very welcome on our arrival, and our hosts did everything possible to make our stay comfortable, but in a genuine way, not just for the money! Superb breakfast. All the amenities you require such as petrol/pub/dining/shop can be found in nearby Shawbury. We chose to eat takeaway on the front lawn in the sunshine, our hosts providing menus and utensils.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, but if you are expecting a 'Premier inn', then this is not for you as it is a charm property.

Why only four out of five rating? I would have rathered give 4.5 if possible, and the only reason I honestly had to mark our stay down was the size of the en suite, but then I am 6' 5" tall, so possibly that is my fault!

Would I book again if in the area in the future? Definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owain p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
8.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
5.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,218 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
5.8 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#13 of 21 in Telford
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House B&B

Address: The Mill House Shrewsbury Rd | High Ercall, Telford TF6 6BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range: £63 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm wellcome is assured at the Mill House B&B,Grade 11 listed converted watermill. Half-way between Shrewsbury & Telford,Ideal for Ironbridge.Telford International centre, historic Shrewsbury and Mid-Wales.Peaceful rural setting beside R Roden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Mill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House B&B Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing