We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sizzler!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakespeare Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sizzler!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here several times, every time I am impressed with the personal service. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. We hadn't booked a table but as it was mid week we thought we might get in. We were quickly served at the bar and a table was laid quickly so that we could eat. We both had one of the famous sizzler's piled high with rice, chips and your choice of chicken, beef, prawns or vegetarian, in a sauce of your choice. Once again a filling and enjoyable experience, great value for money. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Goosey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    50
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
88
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped for one night with our two children (10 and 7 years) in family room number 4. It is a good sized family room with a comfortable double bed and bunk beds for the kids. The room was bright and clean with nice decor and good facilities for our needs. The refreshments tray was generous and included plenty of tea and coffee supplies, still and sparkling waters and biscuits. The kids beds included a clever addition of a shelf and little wall light for each bunk. The size of the room was spot on and our children loved the fact that the play area was right outside our door so they could come and go as they pleased. We had an evening meal when we arrived and, of course, breakfast the following morning, both were of a good standard if a little over generous with the portion size, not every evening meal needs to come with a portion of chips! Considering that our room was above the bar the children settled down to sleep very quickly and it was very peaceful from about 11:30pm at the latest. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were going to Blists Hill the following day and were recommended to leave the car at the Shakespeare and walk the Silkin Path instead, great idea and a very pleasant way to walk off a hearty breakfast. I would definitely return if we are in the area again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LadyAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Shakespeare Inn is ideally placed for visiting the local museums. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. It was restocked every day with tea, coffee, biscuits, water etc. It's best to book for dinner in the evening as this is a very busy pub and deservedly popular, the food is excellent and the portions huge! Breakfast was first class too. Just remember that it is a busy pub with a patio garden just under the bedroom windows - it is quite noisy until about midnight, then it quietens down. Traffic on the road outside starts about 5 am, so if the weather is warm and the windows are open you do get some disturbance if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennybEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

7 of us stopped at the Shakespeare for 2 nights. Food was really good on Friday night, but unfortunately they were fully booked on Saturday. Breakfasts were excellent. Good selection of real ales. Staff were friendly and helpful. The whoe weekend was a delight

Room Tip: There are only four rooms all at the back. We stayed in one with a double bed and bunk beds so it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Friends, Romans and countrymen, lend me your ears, for this is truly a fine place to eat and drink. Visited on Friday 28th June, booking is essential. Good choice of real ales, (As You Like It), I went for Ludlow Gold, and then seated at a round table in the spacious, light conservatory. Excellent customer service throughout. Extensive range of meals, including a specials board. Measure For Measure, the portions are very good indeed! I went for the Thai Green sauce chicken sizzler, which also comes in a smaller portion size, my friends chose sweet and sour prawn sizzler, rack of barbecued ribs (like something out of the Flintstones, truly enormous) and an excellent gammon (Hamlet?) steak, served with chips, rice or half and half. Mains come in at around £10-£11, starters around a fiver which may constitute meals in themselves! Too full for puddings. The management were relaxed and helpful, and indulged us as we opened birthday gifts and sported comedy (of errors?) moustaches. Would definitely recommend the Shakespeare. All's Well That Ends Well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed 9th to 12th June - As a couple, 50s
We had tickets for the Cosford Airshow Sunday 9th June, so booked 3 nights accomodation Sunday 9th to 11th June at the nearby Shakespeare Inn. When booking the room, we also booked a table for 7pm at the Shakespeare restaurante for the Sunday evening.
We travelled early Sunday to the airshow. Had a fantastic sunny day, but afterwards faced a 4 hour traffic jam,5pm to 9pm , to exit the airfield and travel to the Shakespeare 10 miles away.
Restaurante last orders were 9pm. Realising that we were going to arrive after 9:30pm, I rang the hotel and apologised for late show. Upon arrival, Bernard behind the bar showed us to our room. The Shakespeare is built into the side of a hill, the 4 guest rooms are accessed either by stairs from the restaurante or from an external stairway at the hotel rear. The rooms face out onto the hotels beer garden and childrens playground.
As restaurante orders had closed, I asked Bernard if there were any fish&chip shops in town. He offered to organise some sandwiches. Reluctantly, I accepted his kind offer. These duly arrived, and were substantial and absolutely delicious.
I cannot thank Bernard and the other staff for all the trouble they took. All staff were super friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
Room 4 was very spacious and comfy, plenty of tea, coffee and biccies available. At breakfast following day, we met the co-owners, twin brothers. uncannily alike, and both very friendly.
Breakfast presented a choice of cereals, juices, toast etc, followed by a huge full English with a megga pot of tea or coffee, fantastic.
We booked a table in the restaurant for Monday evening, be advised wise to book in advance as it is very popular and is always very busy.
Portions are tasty and large. Lots of main menu choices plus several specials. A selection of real ales are available, all at good prices. The Tar Tunnel and China Museum are yards away. You can buy a visitor passport for the 10 local attractions, this works out at less than half price if you visit all. Beware that some attractions also charge for car parking.
The Blists Victorian town was fantastic. Purpose built and opened 1973, it depicts a snapshot of a Victorian town from 1900, along with many characters in costumes from that time. All take their roles seriously, and are happy to chat away to visitors re the many exhibits.. Allow 2 to 3 hrs to see it all.
All in all, a fabulous experience overall, I can not fault the Shakespeare in any way, even my missus, notoriously difficult to please, sang its praises.
Definitely plan to revisit sometime.

Room Tip: Room 4 fine. Remember to take your room keys with you, the external door lock and room key use diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffeMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Shakespeare Inn two nights and fortunately also booked a table for dinner both evenings.

The hotel has only four rooms so it’s best to book well in advance, the rooms are cosy with views out towards the river, the beds are very comfortable with good reading lights. Coffee and tea with biscuits are provided in the rooms as is an ironing board and iron.

Breakfast is excellent, both full English and Continental, more toast, tea or coffee is immediately provided with a smile.

The dinner menu is extensive and very varied, our French friends were impressed by the quality of the food, portions are vast and the restaurant is very busy; locals come here for a good feed. It’s best to reserve a table with the room; I don’t think you will find a better restaurant by taking your car and looking in town.

The location is delightful, situated on a leafy road opposite the incredibly fast flowing river Severn, a little further along the road is a charming footbridge leading to the opposite bank and another lovely looking pub; we drove past this pub and suddenly realized our hotel was on the opposite bank, it took us a half an hour to drive back to the other side of the river to our hotel.

We loved Ironbridge and we loved the hotel, we must return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
2.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
5.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
4.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Property: Shakespeare Inn
Address: High Street | Coalport, Telford TF8 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Telford
Shakespeare Inn Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing