We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, good food”
Review of Shakespeare Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, good food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We didn't stop overnight but enjoyed a well cooked, well presented meal on a very busy evening. There was a large party already in place when we arrived, and another expected an hour later [apparently to do with the end of the school year] so we were a bit concerned that it may affect the service. Though the staff were all very busy, and somewhat stressed, the service was good, and most managed a smile.
The menu was varied, though only one vegetarian main, so probably not the place to take our veggie offspring.
Portions were very generous, well presented and very hot. My other half opted for the lamb shank, which was pronounced tender and tasty. I had the salmon, which was equally enjoyable.
The surroundings, on this occasion were quite noisy, but that was inevitable, given the number of teaching staff put together in one place. I'm guessing that it is normally a much quieter environment.
There's good parking [provided the place isn't heaving with people when you arrive] and another car park, just a little further on into the village, if the pub car park is full.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadenmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    53
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
92
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked this Inn for 3 couples as a good place to stay to tour Ironbridge in particular & surrounding countryside. Couldn't have been better placed in the tranquil Shropshire countryside. All the rooms were clean and well maintained. The food was very good with large portions and breakfast was excellent. To top it all, the staff were truly excellent, warm, friendly and went out of their way to be very helpful. A huge thanks to them all, in particular, the lovely Julie and Ruth and the two brothers - Adrian and Ivor but not forgetting the other staff. This little Inn represents amazing value for money, the best that we have encountered. Thanks

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet even though it is on the side of a road, as the road is not heavily used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick567234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A really beautiful location in the Iron Bridge Gorge area of Shropshire and a wonderful, small inn. The pub/restaurant is excellent ... very large portions of freshly cooked food with loads of choice on the menu. Breakfast is in the pub/restaurant and is also of exceptional quality (and quantity!). The hotel only has four rooms and it is extremely clean and comfortable. Be aware that as it is a pub, pub noise can be heard in the room until pub closing time but we expected that. One night we did have an issue with other hotel guests who were outrageously noisy but when we brought this to the attention of the owner, the issue was rectified by the owner to our complete satisfaction. All staff were charming, friendly and helpful. It is clear the owners have worked very hard to make this a successful business. Very close to all the Iron Bridge Gorge attractions. We hope we can return and will certainly recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The proximity to the Ironbridge museums & attractions and glowing TripAdvisor reviews persuaded us to choose the Shakespeare Inn for our overnight break in the area. Our double room was a good size, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The tea and coffee making facilities were very well stocked - including cookies and hot chocolate, which were a nice additional touch - as was the bathroom which had plentiful supplies of the usual toiletries. The Tar Tunnel and Coalport China Museum attractions are very close to the inn, with the other Ironbridge attractions a short drive (or slightly longer walk) away. The breakfast was lovely - a generous full English which tasted great, accompanied by toast, cereals, fruit juice and yoghurts - and the staff were really friendly. The rooms are located adjacent to the beer garden so there is naturally some noise during the day and evening while the pub is open, and there is also some traffic noise due to its location on the Coalport high street, but nothing too troublesome and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I use hotels a lot, and I generally avoid pubs-with-rooms because I can't afford to wind up in a noisy watering hole when I need a good meal and a solid night's sleep ready for business the next day.

The Shakespeare's altered this entrenched view. This pub, while being a successful watering hole in its own right (with some of the friendliest customers we've ever met) takes its rooms and its food seriously.

My hubby and I used the Shakespeare as an emergency landing pad to break up a long drive home after a weekend visiting the deep south. We didn't expect much - a pie and a pint plus a clean bed - and we were delighted to be put straight by the affable host and his friendly staff.

The room was spotless, the bed extremely comfortable - and the food was at once superb ....... and more than we could manage. In the morning, breakfast was made especially for us so we could get an early start and it was first class. The whole experience was surprisingly relaxing for a simple overnight stop. Whatever it is that the Shakespeare Inn has that's so special, I wish I could bottle some and take it home.

We managed a stroll after our evening meal (and hubby's pint) and, after seeing what the fascinating Ironbridge area had to offer, we resolved to return in the near future. When we do, it'll be at the Shakespeare, for more of their warm welcome and great food.

Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy_Craske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. Despite the rain ! the break was great! All the staff were really friendly. The pub got busy late afternoon and evening but the staff were very helpful in getting us a table for an evening meal, as we forgot to book .The room was lovely ,very clean and had everything we needed. We ate in the pub and the meals were excellent, large portions and a good varied menu. Breakfast was great and included in the price. No problems parking ,when we returned after a sightseeing day. Great location ,area very scenic . There were several steps to go up to get to our room. There was a lovely outside seating area if the weather had been dry. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but will return. Friendly staff, a comfortable room, and excellent food all contributed to a most enjoyable stay. On the accommodation front, the only things we would improve would be larger bath towels, and king-size duvets, but in all other respects the room was perfect. The bar/restaurant was warm, comfortable and fun on what turned out to be a shocking late Spring evening, weather-wise. Our meals; I had the 12oz sirloin steak, and my wife chose the salmon, were first class. We couldn't fail to notice that every time a sizzler was brought out, half the customers started coughing! Although everyone found this quite amusing, it might be a good idea to consider removing sizzlers from the menu in the longer term!!

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robric41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
2.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
5.2 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
1.0 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Property: Shakespeare Inn
Address: High Street | Coalport, Telford TF8 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Telford
Shakespeare Inn Telford, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing