We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult to fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Difficult to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

For a mid range hotel it would be hard to find a better example anywhere!
The location is handy for all motorways in the midlands, the staff are helpful and pleasant, the rooms quiet and beds comfy. The shower hot and though the bathroom is small it's more than adequate.
Breakfast was as good as we've experienced in many a higher rated hotel and with a deal of a buffet full English plus at £8.50, excellent value.
As the title explains this hotel is difficult to fault.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ossy-Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel s, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Ossy-Lizzy What a great review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ramada
very soon.

Kind Regards

Ramada Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    255
    81
    24
    22
See reviews for
73
268
28
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel (formerly Greys Hotel). The whole experience was very positive.
The staff are some of the most friendly you would meet anywhere and made our stay truly memorable in a positive way.
The hotel has only been part of Ramada for a short time but looks like it will become a valuable part of the chain.
Reception was quick and efficient and the room was perfectly adequate and well cleaned.
We used the restaurant on 2 nights. On the first night my wife asked for Lasagne but was informed there was non prepared, however the American lady chef was more than happy to prepare one specially. It was extremely good and filling.
I had steak and kidney pie and that was freshly prepared and plates were hot.
Deserts were also freshly prepared and wholesome.
We had eaten so well the night before that we skipped breakfast!

We spent the day at Ironbridge and the hotel is an ideal base to visit the area.
Again in the evening we had excellent food, not a massive menu but good wholesome freshly prepared food.

I must comment on the restaurant staff as a previous reviewer had said they were miserable.
Not in our opinion, they were all particularly pleasant, especially Karina and Sarah.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice.

All in all a great stay in a great hotel, ideally situated for both business and pleasure.
We did not have time to use the gym or swimming pool but they would have been an added bonus.
The hotel has pleasant grounds also and adequate parking

Room Tip: Rooms local to the gym and stairs may be a bit noisy and there is a little traffic noise but not obt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel s, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for staying at Ramada Telford and leaving such an excellent review. Our staff do pride themselves in making our guests feel welcome and work hard to deliver a high level of service.
All our Chefs again pride themselves in the food that they prepare / cook and present to our customers.
We have a wonderful balance of location / modern bedrooms / friendly staff and great food.

Thank you mtpots

Regards

Ramada Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel to visit Ironbridge and othe local attractions, location was only just ok because if like us you want to relax and have a drink after sightseeing all day, you do not have a great deal of choice. 2 pubs and the hotel bar are the only places within walking distance.
The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were exellent. Our only issues we had were, shower lacked water pressure, kettle had to be boiled on the floor due to lack of plug sockets and our room on the 3rd floor lacked head room round by the bed next to the window. Which for 2 nights you can live with. Beds are a good size but on the firm side. We had an evening meal in the bar, which was good value for money and very nice. Breakfast, which is buffet style was just as good.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel s, Front Office Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you very much for leaving feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed your meal in the bar and the buffet breakfast.

The shower pressure and the issue regarding the sockets in the rooms are being investigated. I hope this does not hinder you from staying with us again.

Telford Town Centre is currently building more bars and restaurants, so there will be more places to visit in the near future, which we are very excited about.

We hope to see you again soon at Ramada Telford Ironbridge

Lynette Butlin
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I could not give even the slightest positive recommendation for this hotel so felt impelled to write a review before others experienced a terrible stay here.
Not only did it take over 20 minutes to check in (we forget how many times we had to ask for our key card) but when we arrived at our room, the whole corridor stank of cigarettes and we found a used pair of pants in our bedroom wardrobe. Obviously not cleaned properly as these couldn't be missed!!!!! The shower was about as powerful as standing under some leaky guttering and the shower door did nothing but turn our bathroom floor into a paddling pool.
Although annoyed, we didn't complain as we had a spacious family room and didn't want to be downsized as we knew there were no other family rooms available.
Things took a turn for the worse when we were woken at midnight by some extremely inconsiderate neighbours who decided to try and wake the entire hotel with their noisy x-rated movie audition. When we rang reception we were told it would be dealt with promptly but they did nothing and we had to bang on the wall several times to prevent our toddler from waking up traumatised. What made it worse is that the hotel manager insisted the following morning that her staff had dealt with it which was a complete lie considering we heard a further 20 minute rendition before our constant door-banging finally ceased their behaviour.
This hotel is a complete joke. The staff are rude and I've never seen such grumpy waitresses in all my life. Their prices are obscene, especially for the service you receive and I would advise that no-one risk the experience that we've had here. Ramada you should be ashamed!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SophLovesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear SophLovesFood

Thank you for your feedback and I am grateful that you have told us about your unhappiness before you check out of the hotel, so that I have the opportunity to address the issues you have raised straight away. I am very disappointed that you have been so upset and I have sent you a personal message to ask you to contact me directly so that I can help you.

I would like to reassure you, and readers of your review, that this is not indicative of the normal standards our hotel achieves and we work hard to ensure all our guests leave us with happy memories of their stay.

I do hope to speak to you soon.

Kind regards,
Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near to the main shopping centre in Telford and also very close to the motorway, making it an ideal location as a base for a trip to the area. It appears to be part of a business park, so the area seems rather soulless and the hotel entrance itself once past the small water feature wasn't particularly inviting, looking equally bleak. Don't let this put you off, as although the lobby is fairly empty, the warm colours and welcoming staff made a good impression and the view from our room onto a well maintained grassy area was much nicer than views I've had from many hotel rooms in the past. I wasn't at all aware of how close we were to the motorway. The hotel appears fairly new, the décor is modern and streamlined. Our room was very small and the bed not particularly comfortable. The bathroom had a bath with overhead shower which had good pressure. The interesting photographic artwork on the bedroom walls made a welcome change. Wifi is chargeable in the rooms but free in public areas.

There is a gym on site - you might want to avoid rooms 201, 202 or 203 if you don't want to be bothered by the noise of people coming to and from this. We didn't eat in the hotel but prices were reasonable. Shop around before booking as there can be massive differences in rates available - so can be either an excellent bargain for the standard of accommodation or seriously overpriced depending on which end of the scale you purchased.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel s, Front Office Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Good Morning Lazyjanie,

I was very happy you left excellent feedback which we are grateful for and are delighted you had a great stay with us.

We are lucky to be close to the motorway and be central to the Telford Town Centre.

The hotel entrance is being painted and we are looking in to making this area more attractive , so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Regarding your comment about the pictures i am pleased you liked them.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. They are all happy they made you feel welcome as they thrive on delivering excellent customer service and to receive feedback like yours motivates the staff as they do work hard.

All the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Lynette Butlin
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights at a cost of £40 per night not including breakfast. Room was clean but beds could do with replacing. Breakfast was disappointing, selection of continental food was quite poor, fried eggs left a long time on the hot plate and therefore dried out. However, the bar meals were very good and well presented. Staff were very helpful. Location was excellent for touring round the area and parking was free. We would go to this hotel again but perhaps go somewhere else for breakfast.

Room Tip: We were quite a long way from the lift so if you have disability problems it may be better to advise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleycollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel s, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor, I was disappointed to read that you had two issues during your stay and to rectify this please could I ask you to contact me with the following information which bedroom did you stay in and what time did you both go for breakfast?

Its very important at Ramada Telford that we review our customer feed back and action issues that may cause disappointed during your stay. But on a positive note you enjoyed our bar food and Ramada has good access to the M54 and historical places in Shropshire.

I look forward to hearing from and do hope you come back and visit us.

Regards

Ramada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from two nights here, which we used as a base for the Ironbridge Museums (Blists Hill is highly recommended). The staff were excellent (they all seemed happy, which speaks volumes for how they are trained and managed), the restaurant food was amazing value for money (Mains starting at £7.50) and food was very good quality. Our room was a standard room and adequate with pleasant views over well manicured lawns. Telford shopping centre is a 5 minute walk without having to pay shopping centre car park charges.
Any negatives? Not many. Newspaper didn't arrive on first morning. A couple of items not available on menu on second night. Bed mattress not the comfiest but overall experience was very positive. We would definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the gardens, not the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony56Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel s, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
An excellent review and thank you for your comments, I am very lucky with my team at Ramada who do really care on your experience during your stay. Plus if they can help you in any way I know that they will and if they can't they will go and find the info you require.
I will pass on your comments to our team and thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramada Telford to visit some more of our beautiful countryside.

Kind Regards

Ramada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
3.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
4.0 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge

Property: Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Address: Forgegate, Telford TF3 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Telford Ironbridge offers our visitors a warm, friendly, and welcoming stay, ensuring comfort for all our guests. Situated adjacent to Telford Town Centre it is within easy walking distance of both The International Centre and the Town Park and easy access to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Ironbridge Gorge. So whether it's business or pleasure the Ramada Telford Ironbridge has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grays Hotel Telford
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing