We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottesmore Golf and Country Club
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Just back from a weekend stay with a few golfing friends at this 2 course resort and I and the rest of us had a very nice time here.Some of the earlier reviews sound well over the top. Our rooms were clean and cosy with all the usual facilities. Food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. Despite the place being very busy laying on a wedding reception we were not pushed aside as we have been at some golf resorts we have visited.The two courses were challenging for all handicaps but of the two the Griffin outshines the Phoenix as it has bigger and better greens but we all enjoyed both courses. As for the staff, we found everyone there from the bar to the pro shop VERY obliging and pleasant. No problems with breakfast needs at all..Eggs well done? Yes if you want . Poached? ..Yes if you want. We ordered and ate in the Gatwick bar at lunchtime and all food was hot and nicely presented.Staff there were excellent and really nice to chat to. We all said we would go back again in an instant. I would recommend this place anytime

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johngolf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

Was very happy to stay here for two nights to attend a friend's wedding. We were obviously conveniently on-site, and I was pleasantly surprised by how reasonable the prices were compared to the local travel-lodge type places we have previously stayed in during visits to the area. The surroundings are very picturesque, the service was attentive but unobtrusive, and the room was well-appointed with a lovely view.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOFjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We decided on a break with my wife and friends for a golf and spa weekend. On arrival we had to find our way to the bar area to book in, as the reception area in a different building was closed. We were met by a friendly welcome from Dave who showed us to our rooms, which, after reading some of the previous reveiws we had some reservations about but were very pleasantly suprised with. They were in a courtyard setting over looking various parts of the golf courses. Both rooms were spacious and clean with all the mod cons you expect in 3 star hotel.
As we were fairly late arriving we were offered a wholesome and very pleasant, if simple, meal. Breakfasts were also very good wth decent choice and once again very friendly staff.
Golf courses (two 18 holes) were interesting, both offered demanding holes with some real gems thrown in.Pro shop was well stocked and practice areas were ok but no driving range to speak of. Spa area is fairly basic with gym and swimming pool. Treatments were good but all done by the same person.
One drawback was that there was nowhere to relax, like a lounge, although the bar area was pleasant with a balcony overlooking the 18th green.
All in all a very pleasant weekend break offering excellent value for money and would definitly book again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazzatheblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Whilst the room was OK if a little small and old fashioned, the shower in the bath left a lot to be desired, with a shower screen that kept little water in the bath.

Customer service was generally poor, with dinner time on the first night for our small group of 12 being dictated to us an hour earlier than arranged when the booking was made. When we did go to dinner the table was missing condiments and staff disappeared when we wanted to order more wine.

Dinner on the second night was better organised and served (although again the serving time was dictated to us half an hour before advertised last order time), although apple pie or treacle tart or cheescake puddings were served without any cream or other "wet" and when requested this did not materialise.

Staff attitude generally appeared to be that the hotel guests were seondary to golf club members and more importantly other outside functions in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I was one of a group of 20 guys on a golf weekend break and I have to agree with the previous reviewer that Cottesmore is somewhat disappointing. The whole place has a distinct feel of a 60's holiday camp and whilst the rooms are clean they could all do with a whole lot of TLC. The room I was in had two single beds which were only 2' 6" wide which was a bit like sleeping on a razor blade and had a distinct fear factor when turning over. We had no problems at all with check-in and the staff were helpful , the food was ok without being great and the golf courses were much like the hotel,ok but in need of a lot of repair and upgrading. Would not recommend

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTOWN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Too much to put in writing but here is a start:

Staff - incompetent, poorly trained, and in instances rude
Service - Your only option for breakfast was fried eggs - the chef was "too busy to cook scrambled, boiled or poached"
Dinner - we enquired if we were having vegetables to which the response was no. Then 15 minutes later after we had finished our main course they arrived
The desserts were nicely laid out and then shock horror another group that were staying in the hotel came tramping into our room as they had been told that their desserts were in our room
You cannot eat after 8pm in the evening - apparently all the staff have gone home after that. Not much use when you tee off at 2.30 and your round of golf takes over 5 hours.

Ask for a large G&T and you will get it served in a pint glass with 1 lump of ice and no lemon

If you run a Tab at the Bar they cannot print out a list of what has been placed on the Tab. They then expect you to pay it regardless.

The phoenix golf course is apalling 3 par 3's of between 84 and 100 yards and 3 par 3's of 185 yards (approx). Great variety.

JUST DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER VISITING THIS PLACE. I WOULD BE AMAZED IF THEY HAD EVER HAD A REPEAT GROUP BOOKING.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N2525RICKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We followed the sign at the car park that pointed the way to Reception, not sure whether we were at the front or the back of the building. Well, we passed the bins - they should be at the back, shouldn't they? Most confusing. The “Cottesmore Hotel Golf and Country Club” doesn’t really have any obvious ‘Hotel’ Entrance – you can see the Pro Shop, the Health Centre entrance, but where’s the darn Hotel! Stranger still, the Golf Course office doubles as the ‘Hotel’ reception – at least, it does when someone’s actually there. Reception’s in a separate building, you see, and although the sign said “Open”, the door was locked. Hmm – over to the Pro Shop…”Try the bar”, we were told, so we lugged our cases up the ‘fire escape’ stairs to the Spike Bar and announced our arrival to the staff. “Go round to the function room”, came the reply, so off we went. Feeling a little weary and ‘hurded’, we again made our presence known. At last, a friendly and empathetic greeting….just kidding, we were told that “someone had gone off with the book” and we’d have to go back to Reception. Blow that – we’d already been to four different locations so we asked the staff to please sort this out for us. They did – but in that kind of way that makes you feel that you are an ‘inconvenience’. Sorry about that; us guests must try harder.

Eventually, we were on our way to our room. We were escorted round the first floor quadrangle, past rows of windows with so much dust on the outside sills that you could write your name with 3D drop-shadows. Our communal door served two separate suites, each with their own lockable door, but the outside one was noteworthy because although it was clearly meant to be left open, the woodwork showed signs of major attack, with lots of wood missing from the frame edge round the lock area. My mind was beginning to invent its own murder mystery for the occasion – missing staff, dusty corridors and shouldered doors! Up the stairs we went, past utility cupboards with ill-fitting doors, sporting massively over-sized padlocks on them that shouted ‘ keep out – not for you’ (maybe even ‘corpse within’) in a very un-elegant way.

Hooray, we’d made it to our room! Hmmm, painted woodchip wallpaper and a suspended ceiling right out of a 1970s Office block – very ‘rural’. At least the room was clean. Our room overlooked part of the golf course – and very pretty it looked too. We unpacked, checked out the kettle and packaged biscuits (very ‘70s Blackpool – consistent with the room décor, I guess), had a rest and a swim in the pool (“No children under 12 after 6.30pm”, much to my son’s dismay as it was just after 6), and then back to our room to iron our crumpled clothes. Then it all went dark. I rang Reception. No answer - I was somehow not surprised. I walked to the bar to report our lack of power, went back to the room and very soon the Duty Manager turned up, confirmed we weren’t somehow confused about the whole ‘light and dark’ thing, checked a cupboard and went off to find out where the heck the circuit breakers really were – no doubt in one of the padlocked cupboards, next to the crumpled, decaying body of the Receptionist. Anyway, power was quickly restored and clothes were duly smart enough for the evening’s event, for which we’d booked an overnight stay so we could ‘indulge’. Event over (a 40th birthday bash) and so to bed – accompanied by an eerie, glowing white light from above one section of the suspended ceiling. We decided not to investigate lest it was some kind of Dr Who-like crack in time and we’d bring about the end of the hotel as we know it - tempting, though that was.

Morning came and the room was filled with bright sunshine – which would have been fine except that it was just after 6am and the paper-thin curtains were no match for what some might call ‘too damn early’. We buried our heads and managed to ‘lie in’ until just after 9.

Breakfast! Finding a table – no problem. Clean cups – hmm, time to beg from another part-occupied table. Mind you, since there was no coffee in the pot on the hotplate and no milk in the jug, maybe that was a pointless forage. Time passed. I spotted someone approaching with refills – and so did about 7 other people, who immediately formed a queue - it was like a scene from Oliver; please Sir, may I have some coffee! By the time my turn came, there was enough left for ¼ cup of black coffee! Happy to report though that I got a full coffee, eventually. Time went by…oh so slowly…and eventually we spotted a member of staff and implored them to take our order…so off they went to fetch someone; maybe *they* didn’t ‘do’ ordering, or perhaps they had lost their pencil – who knows? So it was at last time for the ‘Cottesmore cooked breakfast ordering ritual’, which goes like this: Using the handy, laminated card listing all the regular suspects (sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomato etc. – but no beans, I think), you tell your waiter what you want. The waiter diligently writes down your order and then responds by confirming all the item’s you have NOT chosen (“So that’s NO mushrooms, NO fried bread…”). Yeah, that makes it clear, and is very easy to handle after a fraction of a coffee and a 6am solar extravaganza in the bedroom. Anyway, breakfast duly turned up and, I have to say, was nicely cooked, although the bacon was a bit on the dry side. We chatted with some other guests and played a small round of “How long did it take you to get checked in yesterday”; we had quite a few participants with stories to tell, eventually reaching a tie-break situation between my party and one other, both with an estimated 20 minutes of roaming the facilities and being pushed from pillar to post. We went for the sudden death “well our loo was blocked this morning”, only to be told “ours too” by the other party, so we reluctantly had to settle for joint first place. Checkout, I have to say, was surprisingly easy and we were soon on our way home. Maybe the hotel likes it better that way.

Overall, I would say it’s clear that Cottesmore Hotel, Golf & Country Club is first and foremost a delightful Golf and Country Club (I am no golfer, but I recognise well-kept greens when I see them), and when they get the chance, the staff play at running a hotel too; at this, they do an ‘OK’ job, but it’s the lack of attention to detail, erratic service and small touches (like the hide and seek check-in service, room décor, dust and in-yer-face padlocks) that make the difference. At the end of the day, I suppose that it all depends on the target audience; If I was a keen golfer that had travelled from afar to play a round, I’d probably be grateful for a clean and tidy room to ‘crash out in’ before journeying home the next day, but if I was using the venue as a base for a ‘special event’, I’d be a bit disappointed. Special it was not.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linker3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
5.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,708 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#13 of 28 in Crawley
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
185 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.3 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottesmore Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottesmore Golf and Country Club

Address: Buchan Hill, Crawley RH11 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottesmore Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Gatwick Airport and business centres of Crawley and Horsham. 21 Room hotel and 7 log cabins, bar, restaurant, tennis courts, golf courses, swimming pool, gym and health and beauty spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Cottesmore Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottesmore Golf And Country Club Hotel Crawley
Cottesmore Golf And Country Club Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing