We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, convenient location, horrible bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, convenient location, horrible bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend in London. We were scheduled for early morning flight out of Gatwick. We chose the courtyard. The hotel was great in terms of convenience. That said, one of the reasons you stay at a hotel is to get some sleep. The bed was one if the least comfortable and loudest beds I have ever slept in. Every time I moved, it squeaked and creaked. And the same for my husband. It could have well just been our room, but it was a disappointing stay for us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingAbroadFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    945
    514
    202
    157
See reviews for
495
1,113
169
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Although this was only a brief overnight stop in order to catch a very early morning flight the following day, the experience was only pretty average and disappointing for the price.

Chech-in was quick and uneventful. Room was large, spacious and clean enough. Bathroom OK. Bed comfortable.

Sadly for a hotel with many business clients and considering the price, disappointing that no complimentary wifi available - even a free 20 mins would help to pick up emails. Also, had a very early flight but no provision for on-the-go breakfast before 6am......

All in all, quite disappointed and underwhelmed. Wished I'd have stayed at Travelodge or Premier Inn at significantly lower price!

Be advised, this hotel is closer to the South Terminal (walkable for those good on their legs - ca 10 mins), but there is a monorail between the terminals.

Would I recommend to family or friend? Probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here prior to flying the next day we got a good room deal on the internet. The hotel is clean and tidy and just what you would expect from this chain. The rooms are comfortable and served their purpose. The bar prices are what you would expect and although the food is a bit on the pricey side it was very good and enjoyed it with a couple of bottles of wine. There is a shuttle service that stops at the hotel to go to both the North & South terminals. Car Parking at the hotel is again pricey but we had arranged alternative car parking options so its worth bearing this in mind. Wifi is chargeable but if you’ve got 3G it wont matter.

Room Tip: If your staying here your probably flying out the next day so I wouldn't worry too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We found the staff to be very welcoming on arrival. The room was spacious and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and had a good meal at a reasonable price. We used the shuttle to get to the terminal ....£3.00 per person each way. This arrived on time so no problems. We had booked a parking package and this was dealt with efficiently on arrival. This is separate company from the hotel. We went for the upgrade of having our car delivered to the terminal at the end of our holiday. (Meet and Greet) Do read the small print at the back of the form as you need to phone and let the company know that you have arrived something that we didn't realise so were standing around waiting for a while. This was not explained when we booked. Maybe they could keep an eye on arrivals like taxi firms do or at least print this essential information on the front of the form not hidden away in the terms and conditions on the back. Having said that as soon as we phoned the car was delivered and all was well. Now we know that next time will be easier. We will use this hotel again and probably the parking package now that we understand how it works.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Would really recommend this hotel for a stay. Very clean,free wifi, good breakfast,friendly staff. Will stay again if in the area. Bar prices not too bad for London area. Easily reached having landed at Gatwick. Regular bus from hotel to both terminals.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sikorskys92a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great location for Gatwick Airport, we stayed here before an early morning flight. There are luggage trolleys outside the front door which can be taken to your room which is handy. There is no need to book the transfer to the airport, you simply get on the bus and pay the driver - the buses run quite regularly. The rooms are clean and well thought out. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on that, although we did visit the bar and the staff were quick and knew their job. We will certainly stay here again as the set up works well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fifiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I reviewed the Marriott Jan 2013, have since revisited November 2013, overnight , parking a car for 2 weeks then another overnight stay with a fantastic breakfast before setting off for home. reception, excellent. room and bathroom very clean, comfortable, really good, BUT OH ! I am so sorry for being picky----Toilet Paper so thin you needed to use quite a lot --- to be safe.
Not enough to put us off using this really good hotel with a bus to take you to the airport.

Room Tip: All I can tell you there is a very quiet lift easy to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing