We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a bad hotel for 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is quite close to the terminal and this is its biiggest advantage, but if your bags are quite heavy - then the distance seems to be not so short and what i was upset about - they did not have a free shuttle as some other hotels have - the cost is 3.5 pounds per person for a 1 min journey.

The room was big with a good kingsize bad, but as a "minus" i can mention that there was no minibar, so there is no chance to keep the food you might have fresh and if you want to have a can of beer you need to go downstairs.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Serjinho_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 2,627 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel after flying back and landing at gatwick south terminal its only a 10 minute walk from the airport, Theres plenty of signs up to let you know which direction to go and how many minutes left untill you reach the hotel,


Check in was very simple and was given a room on the 4th floor, the room itself was very nice I must say and there was no noise at all from the airport which was lovely, very clean, bed was comfy bathroom was nice .. loved the sink!! trust me you will too .


I wouldn't suggest eating here as the prices are very expensive if you're due to stay here id suggest looking online first to see what food options will be aviaible to you .


All in all very good hotel will definatly return whenever in the area or due to be flying at gatwick.

Room Tip: Shop around online you may find it cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevileshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is a 10-minute walk (short but awkward) from the terminal (or £3 one way with a shuttle bus). It's possible to get fairly cheap rates here compared to some other hotels in Gatwick, but they make this difference up the charges on things like wifi (£13), food (£15 for a small/average burger - more expensive than Iceland!), breakfast (£20), or parking (£25). There is no cafe in the hotel but there is a bar and a Costa distributor (a crime against coffee if there ever was one...). The gym is decent enough for a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KlimtEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and that you found our bedroom prices more reasonable. Our F & B prices compare well with the local competition and breakfast is £14.95 pp or £10.00 pp if bought in advance. The walk to and from the airport is approx. 10 minutes at a flat surface with frequent signs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in December, prior to a flight the following day. I was glad that I'd checked out the route from the terminal to the hotel as the signage wasn't particularly clear, especially in the dark.

Once we arrived at the hotel, our first impressions were very good. Everything was very clean and tidy, and the reception area and bar were very smart-looking. Our room was pleasant and again, very clean.

We ate in the bar area in the evening, as the restaurant had a fairly limited buffet on offer, due to it being Christmas. We each had a burger and fries and a drink, and our bill came to over £40 for just two of us, so expect to spend plenty of money if you are a family and are intending to eat at the hotel!

Our room was an internal one with no outside windows, and when we went to bed, it felt a tad stuffy and so we switched the air conditioning on to cool it off a little. The air conditioning unit was incredibly noisy, so much so that in the middle of the night it was keeping me awake and I decided to turn it off. Once all had fallen quiet, I realised I could still hear a cacophony and soon deduced that this was actually coming from an adjoining room's air conditioning! That was bad enough, but then our unit kicked in again, and spent the next hour or so coming on and off, disturbing us each time. In between times, I could hear the unit in the adjoining room doing the exact same thing. All in all, it did not make for a restful night! I mentioned this to the front desk staff when checking out, and all I received in response was a shrug and the words, "Oh dear". They didn't really seem to care much about our comfort or whether we'd had a good stay, to be honest.

In summary, this is not a bad hotel which is handy for the airport and is reasonably priced. However, I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ickle_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is important to us.
We are pleased that you found our hotel to be clean,tidy and pleasant, our food and beverage prices compare well with the local competition.
Our rooms are sealed units to keep out any noise therefore our aircondition will cut in if the air quality becomes poor, this can be switched off if reported to our Front Desk associates.
We are sorry that you were disturbed and surprised that you could hear the aircondition in the next room, but would have been happy to offer assistance, or to change your room had we known about it at the time.
Once again many thanks for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Arrived at 11pm, departed at 8,.30am. Charged £25 for parking!!!

Everyone who stays here has to pay £25 regardless!!!

Hotel was clean, room pleasant, staff helpful. But this charge upon exit left a very bitter taste in my mouth!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orionmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is very important to us.
We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and pleasant, and sorry that you found our car park charge to be unreasonable.Ground rent in the airport area is extremely expensive and as we do not own the land ,we have a high rent to pay which is not covered by our charges, which do compare well with the local competition. We do not have sufficient parking spaces for the volume of business, most of our guests stay overnight before flying on holiday and use the great deals provided by a 'Park and Fly ' package, your vecicle would be stored off site and returned to the hotel or airport on return.
Once again many thanks for your response and we hope to be able to welcome you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

After a long day of flight we arrived at this hotel to find that our reservation was confused somewhere between our travel agent and the hotel. Accolades to the front desk and especially the manager for her polite clear management of the situation. Darts to the system for taking an hour to get us into a room.
This is an older hotel with staff who have a stiff upper lip.
After that, shame on Marriott. No ice machines work on any floor, with no notification. Wifi costs 4.95 GBP per hour anywhere in the hotel!!! Even extra tv channel come at a premium. Overall the rooms are not up today's standard, although the shower appeared to have been redone but still leaked. The dining room has a good selection of interesting food and our waiter was energetic and very pleasant. Again it is a place in need and some part is just plain sterile. The place is within walking distance of the airport and would benefit from some clearer signage. The hotel is clean but needs a renovation to update it. It would be very interesting to know Marriott's rational for having a hotel like this. The profit motive seems to have overcome reason. Again, the staff put forward a stiff upper lip to defend their workplace.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Larryarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, this is very helpful to us.
The signage to our hotel is provided by the airport as it is their property, most of our guests find it clear, we are sorry that you did not.
We are a Courtyard not a Marriott hotel, our hotel is less than 5years old and is usually described by our guests as very modern, we have never before been described as an older hotel.
We are pleased that our Front Desk associates dealt with your booking issue professionaly, but find it confusing that you later describe them as having a 'Stiff upper lip', The general comments that we receive describe our associates as being friendly and helpful, we are sorry that it took time to sort out your reservation and that you had to wait.
We apologize for our ice machines not working on that day, had you contacted our duty manager or the front desk they would have been happy to have brought ice to your room.
We are pleased that you found that there was a good selection of food and that our service associates were pleasant, you do not say where you ate, our Casterbridge Restaurant has warm colours so perhaps you ate in the bar which is more modern.
As to the wifi cost which is £4.95 this is competitive with the local competition.
Our rooms are decorated with regularity, we are a very popular hotel , checking in and out 400-500 guests each day which can mean that in some cases we cannot get into a room when we would like too.
Once again many thanks for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed for a night prior to flying to Caribbean. Very happy with the parking deal and the way the people responsible for dropping off and collecting the car dealt with me. The hotel is OK but the staff are a bit offish, the drinks are ludicrously expensive and they cant serve a pint without it being flat. We bought some crisps from a vending machine in reception which were stale. When I raised this with the staff at reception you would have thought that I'd tried to rob the place. No apology just "how much did you spend? OK, here" I wanted something to eat, not a refund. anyway, it's near the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishnbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to mreview our hotel, your feedback is important to us.
We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our hotel and found the parking deal to be good value.
We are sorry that you felt that our beverage prices were expensive, they do compare favourably with the local competition.
As to the crisps from the vending machine being stale, the vending machine is stocked by the owining company, as the crisps were not out of date and you were given your money back, we are not sure what else we could have done. As you stated that you were hungry we would have been only to pleased to offer you a snack or meal in either our bar or Casterbridge Restaurant.
Once again many thanks for your response and we hope to welcome you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Address: | London Gatwick Airport, Buckingham Gate, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £63 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing