We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A good overnight stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here recently for 1 night before the start of our holiday and for 1 night upon arrival back in England. Both rooms were very good being comfortable, clean and a good size. A plus point for me is the ample sockets located by the mirror on the dressing table. Unfortunately I am not a lover of wet rooms, which we had for the 1st night, but was pleased with a proper bath room on the final night - just personal preference, but knowing they have both means you can ask for your preference upon booking. Check in was speedy and efficient. There is pleasant foyer/bar area. The breakfast was average, nothing very exciting and not a great choice but it filled a hole! We had room service on the 1st night which was very good but a £6 tray charge is added to the bill. The hotel is in a very good location being near the airport but be aware the shuttle is not free. A £3 charge is made per person. We were also happy with the car parking arrangements whilst we were away and collection from the airport was quick. We would use this hotel again for an overnight airport stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    980
    546
    219
    165
See reviews for
522
1,168
173
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

As you would expect, this is a good quality hotel, as is the norm for Marriott. You can't go very badly wrong in a hotel of this type. It was very clean and pleasant. The room was large and fairly comfortable; but, sorry management, those reviews that say the beds are hard and the air-con is noisy have more than a grain of truth. But you can turn the air-con off and the bed is not so very hard that it is impossible to sleep. I note that the management have replied to some negative reviews by saying that this hotel is comparable to the local industry standards. Having stayed in several hotels around Gatwick / Crawley, this is probably true, but the air-con is noisier that most, and having softer beds that exceed local industry norms would be no bad thing. Breakfast was expensive but very palatable. Contrary to some of the very negative reviews, I did not find the staff rude; they were polite. Not friendly, but polite and efficient, and it would be unfair to significantly mark the hotel down because the staff aren't effusive in their welcome. They are very serious that there is no early check in; you get charged a lot for that. I arrived about 8am and check in is at 3pm. It was unfortunate timing on my part, and I would advise you not to make the same mistake. To get a room made up there and then meant paying something like £45, and we opted to sit in the bar area for a while to see if a room materialised. A room became available at 11, which wasn't too bad a wait, and as I say, it was a good room.

The big advantage of the hotel's location is being able to walk to the Gatwick South Terminal in about 10-12 minutes. The path is uneven, and in rain features some vast puddles and muddy banks. At night it has some dark stretches that would benefit from a bit more illumination and some might find it a bit intimidating.

Anyway, a good choice to stay for a day or two, obviously very good for coming in and out of Gatwick, but good links to central London would make it suitable for a brief theatre break, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BwanaBunduki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is quite close to the terminal and this is its biiggest advantage, but if your bags are quite heavy - then the distance seems to be not so short and what i was upset about - they did not have a free shuttle as some other hotels have - the cost is 3.5 pounds per person for a 1 min journey.

The room was big with a good kingsize bad, but as a "minus" i can mention that there was no minibar, so there is no chance to keep the food you might have fresh and if you want to have a can of beer you need to go downstairs.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Serjinho_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel after flying back and landing at gatwick south terminal its only a 10 minute walk from the airport, Theres plenty of signs up to let you know which direction to go and how many minutes left untill you reach the hotel,


Check in was very simple and was given a room on the 4th floor, the room itself was very nice I must say and there was no noise at all from the airport which was lovely, very clean, bed was comfy bathroom was nice .. loved the sink!! trust me you will too .


I wouldn't suggest eating here as the prices are very expensive if you're due to stay here id suggest looking online first to see what food options will be aviaible to you .


All in all very good hotel will definatly return whenever in the area or due to be flying at gatwick.

Room Tip: Shop around online you may find it cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevileshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is a 10-minute walk (short but awkward) from the terminal (or £3 one way with a shuttle bus). It's possible to get fairly cheap rates here compared to some other hotels in Gatwick, but they make this difference up the charges on things like wifi (£13), food (£15 for a small/average burger - more expensive than Iceland!), breakfast (£20), or parking (£25). There is no cafe in the hotel but there is a bar and a Costa distributor (a crime against coffee if there ever was one...). The gym is decent enough for a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlimtEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and that you found our bedroom prices more reasonable. Our F & B prices compare well with the local competition and breakfast is £14.95 pp or £10.00 pp if bought in advance. The walk to and from the airport is approx. 10 minutes at a flat surface with frequent signs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in December, prior to a flight the following day. I was glad that I'd checked out the route from the terminal to the hotel as the signage wasn't particularly clear, especially in the dark.

Once we arrived at the hotel, our first impressions were very good. Everything was very clean and tidy, and the reception area and bar were very smart-looking. Our room was pleasant and again, very clean.

We ate in the bar area in the evening, as the restaurant had a fairly limited buffet on offer, due to it being Christmas. We each had a burger and fries and a drink, and our bill came to over £40 for just two of us, so expect to spend plenty of money if you are a family and are intending to eat at the hotel!

Our room was an internal one with no outside windows, and when we went to bed, it felt a tad stuffy and so we switched the air conditioning on to cool it off a little. The air conditioning unit was incredibly noisy, so much so that in the middle of the night it was keeping me awake and I decided to turn it off. Once all had fallen quiet, I realised I could still hear a cacophony and soon deduced that this was actually coming from an adjoining room's air conditioning! That was bad enough, but then our unit kicked in again, and spent the next hour or so coming on and off, disturbing us each time. In between times, I could hear the unit in the adjoining room doing the exact same thing. All in all, it did not make for a restful night! I mentioned this to the front desk staff when checking out, and all I received in response was a shrug and the words, "Oh dear". They didn't really seem to care much about our comfort or whether we'd had a good stay, to be honest.

In summary, this is not a bad hotel which is handy for the airport and is reasonably priced. However, I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ickle_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is important to us.
We are pleased that you found our hotel to be clean,tidy and pleasant, our food and beverage prices compare well with the local competition.
Our rooms are sealed units to keep out any noise therefore our aircondition will cut in if the air quality becomes poor, this can be switched off if reported to our Front Desk associates.
We are sorry that you were disturbed and surprised that you could hear the aircondition in the next room, but would have been happy to offer assistance, or to change your room had we known about it at the time.
Once again many thanks for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Arrived at 11pm, departed at 8,.30am. Charged £25 for parking!!!

Everyone who stays here has to pay £25 regardless!!!

Hotel was clean, room pleasant, staff helpful. But this charge upon exit left a very bitter taste in my mouth!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orionmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is very important to us.
We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and pleasant, and sorry that you found our car park charge to be unreasonable.Ground rent in the airport area is extremely expensive and as we do not own the land ,we have a high rent to pay which is not covered by our charges, which do compare well with the local competition. We do not have sufficient parking spaces for the volume of business, most of our guests stay overnight before flying on holiday and use the great deals provided by a 'Park and Fly ' package, your vecicle would be stored off site and returned to the hotel or airport on return.
Once again many thanks for your response and we hope to be able to welcome you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Address: London Gatwick Airport | Buckingham Gate, Gatwick, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard By Marriott London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing